Reviews - The Poplars

Carlton Miniott, ,, Thirsk, YO7 4LX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jon Pierce

  • May 2015

A lovely place to stay

Very friendly welcome from Amanda, lovely spacious, clean and comfortable room.

Lovely choice on the breakfast menu.

  • Samantha H

  • April 2015

Cheeky night off from the kids

Poplars is a beautiful B&B.

Amanda and her family were very welcoming. Not sure about the sharing a table at breakfast with strangers though. Other then that, would not hesitate to recommend or return.

  • Andrew F

  • February 2015

The Poplars

Super stay hope to visit again.

  • Ruth M

  • January 2015

fantastic B&B

Very relaxing - made so by Amanda, the owner, we both commented to each other on her very friendly and welcoming approach yet incredibly professional.

She was extremely efficient yet unruffled - made us calm before an early start for our work day. She was calm and friendly but not intrusive, we both felt very welcome. Very tasty breakfast - local produce. Would stay again and would highly recommend this B&B.

  • P evans

  • January 2015

Perfect accommodation

We went to this hotel because we were visiting James Herriott museum with a visitor from Australia.

We were made very welcome in a beautiful room for three people. The breakfast was marvellous and freshly cooked. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Susie M

  • January 2015

New Years Eve stopover

Beautiful house with many variations of accommodations to choose from.

Our king size bedroom was well places at the back if the house with separate access so we did not hopefully dusturb the owners on our late arrival back from the celebrations. Would definitely recommend this property. Good location for train station and for Thirsk it's self. Particular ally good if you are visiting the races. Room cold at first but warmed up with extra fan heater, didn't need it all the time we were in the room. Amanda served up a lovely breakfast the following day. We will definitely return would we need accomodation in the future.

  • Louise C

  • October 2014


My stay at the Poplars was superb and I will definately be booking again when I am back in the area.

Comfortable, clean and everything you need fro a B&B

  • W Musgrave

  • October 2014

Excellent Service and accomodation

As we pulled up to the main house in the pouring rain, Amanda, complete with umbrella, escorted us to our accomodation.

Although we had booked a room, we were given the choice of one of the cottages to stay in, which suited us better. The cottage was well presented and spotlessly clean, with all the appliances you would ever need(including a dishwasher). The full English breakfast was both delicious and hot,

I would have no hesitation in staying here again, or recommending the Poplars to friends.

  • D Kerr

  • October 2014

Wensleydale Room Lovely, breakfast lovely -great stay

Room & ensuite furnished to a very high standard, nice location, great breakfast with good selection and great quality OJ, bacon, sausages etc, welcoming owners.

This is a lovely bed and breakfast and the room we stayed in was very impressive and great value for money. We would definitely stay again either B & B or in the lovely s/c cottages. Free WIFI conservatory & lounge for guest use- nice extras.


  • October 2014

last minute booking

We booked at 10am and arrived at 6pm.

First impressions were good as the guesthouse in very tidy and well maintained. The staff were welcoming and the room very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and if we return to this part of the country we will stay here again.