No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Poplars

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Carlton Miniott, , , Thirsk, YO7 4LX
The Poplars, originally a farm house built in 1901, is an impressive detached property with far reaching grounds. Set within an acre of gardens, the Poplars Rooms are all accessed via their own private entrance, affording you the privacy usually asssociated with a larger hotel, whilst offering our guests the personal touches and attention to detail from a small family owned Bed & Breakfast. Ideally located for access to all major routes ( A1, A61 & A19) as well as being only 250m from the train station, The Poplars is an ideal base for business or pleasure. All rooms are exceptionally well equipped with all the comforts you would expect from a quality driven establishment; Freeview TV, Power Shower, Free WiFi, Bathrobes, Mineral Water and Tea & Coffee facilities make for those extra special touches. A great nights sleep, complimented by a fantastic breakfast....Bed & Breakfast as it should be.
Picture of The Poplars, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute booking
We booked at 10am and arrived at 6pm. First impressions were good as the guesthouse in very tidy and well maintained. The staff were welcoming and the room very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and if we return to this part of the country we will stay here again.

Reviewed by
WILLIAM W

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wensleydale Room Lovely, breakfast lovely -great stay
Room & ensuite furnished to a very high standard, nice location, great breakfast with good selection and great quality OJ, bacon, sausages etc, welcoming owners. This is a lovely bed and breakfast and the room we stayed in was very impressive and great value for money. We would definitely stay again either B & B or in the lovely s/c cottages. Free WIFI conservatory & lounge for guest use- nice extras.

Reviewed by
D Kerr

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation
I booked this hotel at 5.30 on the night of my stay just needing a room for the night. What a find it was the room was spacious, clean and quite luxurious. Great power shower in the ensuite, really comfortable bed and loads of coffee and tea making facilities. There is also lodge cabins and stable conventions to the rear of the hotel. A must stay for people looking for accommation in this area.

Reviewed by
Gary Smith

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Thoroughly enjoyed the overnight stay at the Poplars. Our host Amanda had texted to welcome us and check on arrival time which was a nice touch. The accomodation was contempory and"classy" . The breakfast we had was hugh and beautifully cooked and it was a relaxing experience. I would definately recommend the Poplars and hopefully will make a return visit!

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Worksop, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
This is without doubt one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in for a very long time.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The Poplars is an excellent B&B. The room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Excellent value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Reviewed by
Sharon Middleditch

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for me
Nothing but good news.
Cannot fault anything

Reviewed by
David H

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice relaxed stay, well run, clean and comfortable Accomodation Great reccomendations for dining and visits from friendly owners. Will stay again

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation lovely - and Amanda's breakfast lovely but unfortunately I was ill! Sorry but really nice and clean too. Definitely go back.

Reviewed by
J Mclaughlin

From Ayr, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Right
Very handy for a trip to the races, easy to find. 1 mile from the centre of Thirsk, very friendly welcome and lovely local food for breakfast, would certainly use again and recommend to friends

Reviewed by
alan whalley

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next