No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Poplars

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Carlton Miniott, , , Thirsk, YO7 4LX
The Poplars, originally a farm house built in 1901, is an impressive detached property with far reaching grounds. Set within an acre of gardens, the Poplars Rooms are all accessed via their own private entrance, affording you the privacy usually asssociated with a larger hotel, whilst offering our guests the personal touches and attention to detail from a small family owned Bed & Breakfast. Ideally located for access to all major routes ( A1, A61 & A19) as well as being only 250m from the train station, The Poplars is an ideal base for business or pleasure. All rooms are exceptionally well equipped with all the comforts you would expect from a quality driven establishment; Freeview TV, Power Shower, Free WiFi, Bathrobes, Mineral Water and Tea & Coffee facilities make for those extra special touches. A great nights sleep, complimented by a fantastic breakfast....Bed & Breakfast as it should be.
Picture of The Poplars, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Thoroughly enjoyed the overnight stay at the Poplars. Our host Amanda had texted to welcome us and check on arrival time which was a nice touch. The accomodation was contempory and"classy" . The breakfast we had was hugh and beautifully cooked and it was a relaxing experience. I would definately recommend the Poplars and hopefully will make a return visit!

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Worksop, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
This is without doubt one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in for a very long time.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The Poplars is an excellent B&B. The room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Excellent value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Reviewed by
Sharon Middleditch

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for me
Nothing but good news.
Cannot fault anything

Reviewed by
David H

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice relaxed stay, well run, clean and comfortable Accomodation Great reccomendations for dining and visits from friendly owners. Will stay again

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation lovely - and Amanda's breakfast lovely but unfortunately I was ill! Sorry but really nice and clean too. Definitely go back.

Reviewed by
J Mclaughlin

From Ayr, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Right
Very handy for a trip to the races, easy to find. 1 mile from the centre of Thirsk, very friendly welcome and lovely local food for breakfast, would certainly use again and recommend to friends

Reviewed by
alan whalley

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!
Delightful place! Comfortable, friendly, breakfast was wonderful.

Reviewed by
Timothy D

From Salem, USA
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable accomodation with very welcoming owners
I enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the Poplars for a single evening....very good price and service. Would recommend this for either business or leisure and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Helen A

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome lovely, remembered us from last time. Beautiful house, love the Fabian Perez in the lounge. Great location in walking distance from Thirsk where we were going. Definately stay here when we visit family again.

Reviewed by
clare horsley

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next