No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Poplars

4Diklasifikasi Sendiri Penginapan dan Sarapan Ratings explained
Carlton Miniott, , , Thirsk, YO7 4LX
The Poplars, originally a farm house built in 1901, is an impressive detached property with far reaching grounds. Set within an acre of gardens, the Poplars Rooms are all accessed via their own private entrance, affording you the privacy usually asssociated with a larger hotel, whilst offering our guests the personal touches and attention to detail from a small family owned Bed & Breakfast. Ideally located for access to all major routes ( A1, A61 & A19) as well as being only 250m from the train station, The Poplars is an ideal base for business or pleasure. All rooms are exceptionally well equipped with all the comforts you would expect from a quality driven establishment; Freeview TV, Power Shower, Free WiFi, Bathrobes, Mineral Water and Tea & Coffee facilities make for those extra special touches. A great nights sleep, complimented by a fantastic breakfast....Bed & Breakfast as it should be.
Picture of The Poplars, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy to find, welcoming and good breakfast!

Reviewed by
H Atkinson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, clean and friendly
An easy walk from the station. The owner is friendly and the breakfast was good.
I found the room comfortable. and I was overall pleased with the service.

Reviewed by
David C

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place!
Excellent place to stay, reasonable priced. Nothing was too much trouble. Julie who made my breakfast got up especially early at 6am to make me a full English breakfast before my business meeting at 7:30am.
Would highly recommend for business or pleasure. Good food, fantastic room, an excellent stay.

Reviewed by
john c

From royton. oldham. , UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I've already booked again!
From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and had all the facilities we could possible need. Have booked to go back again next month! Great location for travelling around Yorkshire.

Reviewed by
Janis C

From Wallasey, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, Lovely House, Lovely couple that own.

Reviewed by
clare horsley

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Poplars - Granary Cottage
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Cottage was warm comfortable and very clean.Breakfast was excellent with locally sourced and delicious foods.

Reviewed by
John Garner

From Thornhill, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional Service
When we arrived even though it was dark, we were greeted on the drive, helped us carry bags to our room and made really welcome, Breakfast was outstanding, all ingredients being sourced locally and again the level of service was exceptional.
Thank you Amanda

Reviewed by
Michael P

From Northamptonshire, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Poplars Excellent Accommodation
Stayed for two nights at The Poplars. Had booked B&B but on arrival were offered an upgrade to one of their two pine lodges at no extra cost. This was spacious ,well appointed and warm. It consisted of 2 bedrooms, lounge/kitchen/diner, bathroom with bath and shower, central heating and electric fire. Breakfast was taken in the house. The full English was delicious with local produce used. A good location for visiting Thirsk, Ripon, Masham and Leyburn.
Received a warm welcome on arrival, nothing was too much trouble

Reviewed by
K Addison

From North Shields, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2