No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cambridge Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
4 Clare Hill , Huddersfield, HD1 5BS

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Newly build finished in January 2012 with a 45 Bedroom extension. 34 existing bedrooms refurbished to the same standard as the new building.

The Hotel is situated 5 minutes’ walk from Huddersfield town centre. Cambridge Hotel offers free wireless internet access, free parking and en suite accommodation at great-value rates.

Cambridge Hotel has a convenient location, just 2.5 miles (4 km) from junction 24 of M62 motorway and only 0.5 miles (0.8 km) from Huddersfield’s bus and railway stations. Galpharm stadium is a short walk of 0.7miles (1.12 km).

Free private parking is available on site, with closed-circuit TV surveillance for additional security.

There are 79 spacious and comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite with showers. Each room has a Free view TV, Direct dial Telephone, Fridge, Tea/coffee making facilities, In room Ironing facilities, Laptop Safe, Hairdryer and Free WIFI.
Free Wi-Fi wireless internet access is available throughout the building.

A full English breakfast is available at the cost of £5.00 per head and is served in the spacious and light dining room. Vegetarian alternatives are also available. Guests can also dine in the on-site restaurant.

24 Hour reception

Restaurant and Bar available on site opening times 5pm to mid night.
Picture of Cambridge Hotel, Huddersfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new years eve stopover
The staff are very friendly and help full rooms are very clean,this is a great hotel for stopovers ,

Reviewed by
les knowles

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year Overnighter
My son & I had a lovely stay at the Cambridge Lodge and were very pleasantly surprised at the excellent accommodation and SO happy to see a fridge in the room - something we had always had on our tour round New Zealand but had so rarely come across in the UK. The facilities could not be improved upon, it was so close to the town centre without being in a noisy spot, outside seating would have been great at a warmer time of year. We would definitely use the hotel again should we need an overnight stop so near to home...

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value stay in 2013.
This hotel is a gem. Friendly staff, fresh decor, superior quality fixtures and fittings and everything worked. Normally for this kind of money you expect the odd leaking tap / blown light bulb or flat batteries in the tv remote but not here - everything worked and everything was spotlessly clean.
Got a good feeling from moment I arrived and the receptionist guided me to the stairs and gave clear directions to my room rather than the usual vague instructions. Barman chatty and friendly, choice of Asian or Traditional menus. Nice two course Asian meal and a pint of Cobra for under £20 hit the spot. Will definitely use again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cambridge Hotel Review
Enjoyed a weekend stay at the hotel, on arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent value for money and was well presented and clean with great facilities considering the cost of the room. The room had a new large flat screen TV and the hair dryer was new and complete with different attachments. The bathroom in particular was spacious with a good shower. The only thing that the room did not have was climate control which didn’t pose an issue during our stay. The only negative comment that I have is regarding the room service that we ordered for an evening meal, the prices were not cheap so we were expecting a nice meal however when it arrived the quality of the food was particularly poor. Other than that I would certainly return to the hotel myself and recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
Bethany B

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money

Reviewed by
Kristina K

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well recommended. Great Value.
Great value hotel for our group. Four of us (group of females) were visiting to Huddersfield - our old University Town for a Farewell party for a friend. We booked a room for 4, and were given the room for 5 (the extra bed came in handy for space for all our stuff). Great room price for 4 people - it was cheaper than getting the Travelodge, or Premier Inn - and really glad we booked. Plenty of space, and a great shower! Before booking I read through the reviews from TripAdvisor & LateRooms - there were a few negative reviews, but I can honestly say we had no negative comments to make, and as four women in their mid/late twenties, felt totally safe there.

Reviewed by
A Phillips

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, good position
Fencing on site boundary needs finishing and car park layout confusing but helpful staff and comfortable rooms - good value in a handy central position.

Reviewed by
Spencer D

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Huddersfield
friendly helpfull staff. Very good breakfast, plenty of choice.
Ecellent room facilities. Plenty of parking space some under cover. 5 mins walk from town centre.

Reviewed by
peter m

From Yateley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip October 2013

Reviewed by
K HANNING

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and service
I had a lovely room which was very clean and had a lovely bed and good shower. The staff I came across were all really helpful and welcoming. The hotel itself is very close to the train and bus station. Could not recommend more - I found it to be great value for money and would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Anna D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next