No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Castle Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
11 The Quay , Dartmouth, TQ6 9PS
Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and world famous restaurants and bars make for a magical stay any time of the year. The award winning 17th Century Royal Castle Hotel in Dartmouth is privately owned and perfectly located in the very heart of Dartmouth overlooking the harbour and romantic River Dart. We provide a fantastic base from which to experience this amazing part of South Devon.

Each of our twenty five unique bedrooms possesses those finishing touches that we hope will make your stay a very memorable one. All our bedrooms have en suite bathroom or shower, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities along with flat screen television and radio. Please note however that all bedrooms start on the second floor and unfortunately we do not have a lift. All the rooms are non-smoking.

The Royal Castle Hotel has a river view, stylish and relaxed "Grill Room" restaurant with delicious food made from the best and freshest local produce. We offer two bars: our contemporary Harbour bar and our more traditional Galleon bar. Both have real open log fires burning in the winter.
Picture of Royal Castle Hotel, Dartmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant!
Couldn't fault the hotel, from the valet parking to the quality of the food and the rooms (worth paying for a river view). Water with ice provided daily with the complimentary tea/coffee/chocolate and biscuits. A fantastic hotel.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning views.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were most courteous and helpful. The view over the river Dart was a stunning view to wake up to each morning. Fabulous room, gorgeous food and friendly bar to relax in.

Reviewed by
Carol Walker

From Pontesbury, Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, food and accommodation

Reviewed by
colin r

From High Wycombe, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"Faultless, Friendly & Fun"
Faultless as the owner Mr Way and his staff welcome you like a lost friend, but behind those smiles lies a hotel run with perfection. All operations from valet parking of your car on arrival, to being appointed to our room, 26 on the upper deck, with wonderful river view, or a drink at the bar, all are carried out timely and with the highest standards that I have witnessed in any hotel for a very long time. Nothing is too much trouble for the Royal Castle. Dinner offered wide choice and our lemon sole, the fresh catch of the day, was typical of the quality of local food. The breakfast was hearty, and of quality. The service excellent. My wife liked her salmon with scrambled egg and chives, but haddock and kippers were also on offer! I like my greek yogurt and this I had with fresh blueberries and raspberries, but strawberries were also on offer! Absolutely wonderful. You will find this hotel different from the rest with bags of interesting corners full of interesting memorbilia, but most of all you will not forget the efforts of all staff to make your stay perfect. Ours left faultless, friendly and fun memories and yes we will be back!

Reviewed by
David Walters

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Easter break
Great hotel in a great location,staff were friendly & attentive, providing an excellent service.Will be returning again !

Reviewed by
J PRICE

From TAUNTON, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter break
Booked the Royal Castle at the last minute - we had eaten here before but never stayed as we usually camp. We may be converted - our room had a river and town view which was beautiful with armchairs to relax and take in the surroundings. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, the bed was sooo comfortable, however the highlight of the stay was the staff who were soooo friendly and professional, yet unstuffy - it really made our break so thank you all. Will certainly return and recommend without hesitation. Not the cheapest, but absolutely worth every penny

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice

Reviewed by
A Sheppard

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Dartmouth
Every aspect of our stay at The Royal Castle was first class from the accommodation, friendliness of the staff through to the room. We were fortunate to have room 27 with a four poster bed and fantastic views of the River Dart. Thanks again to everyone at the Royal Castle for making our stay so special!

Reviewed by
Jerry Heyes

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hannafore Point review
Everything was good.

Reviewed by
Peter Cornish

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Castle Hotel Is Fabulous
The quality of the room was first class. (I would have liked a window with something of a view, it may just be that we did not book early enough to request it. We did have a nesting seagull with one baby outside on the roof which could be considered better than any view!)
The quality of the food was first class. I would request a few more vegetarian options.
Overall a completely fabulous hotel. The staff are genuine, effortlessly pleasant, helpful and friendly. If I was asked for even one criticism I could not find one.
Their hospitality to us and our dog (who did behave badly once!) was impeccable.
The Royal Castle Hotel really is to be congratulated for getting everything right.

Reviewed by
alan wingrove

From chichester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next