Reviews - Royal Castle Hotel


11 The Quay, Dartmouth, TQ6 9PS

Price From 218.32 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Ian P

  • November 2015

a very nice hotel,well run with excellent service and food.

  • Tina Hall

  • September 2015

Royal Castle Hotel

Lovely room.

Shame about the rest.

We were in room 9 which was obviously above the kitchen as there was a constant smell,of food so could not have our window open. Also a constant generator noise??. There was also confusion about parking. The same gentleman told us conflicting times as to when we could leave our car out the front of the hotel and we got a parking fine. The only nice thing about our visit was the nice gentleman who let us back into the hotel after midnight.

  • Steven B

  • April 2015

Quaint & as English as it gets.

Great location, great food, great staff & at times available at very competitive rates - whats not to like..

  • Stuart Spindler

  • March 2015

Dartmouth delight

Great stay in this olde world building that has been updated very sympathetically.

Room was excellent (as long as you can manage several flights of stairs) spacious, well-equipped and stylish. Breakfasts are superb, with everything from fresh fruit to kippers and hogs pudding.Two options on bars, contemporary or traditional; the latter had three excellent cask ales, including Dartmoor Jail Ale. This hotel has been run for thirty years by the family owners and it was very impressive to have the owner himself serving breakfast on a couple of mornings and engaging actively with us and other guests - a really nice touch. Valet parking worked well and there are some terrific coastal walks straight from the hotel, aided by the three ferry options across the Dart, so we hardly used the car.

  • B Frost

  • March 2015


From check in to check out this hotel ticked all the boxes and more.

  • David Hughes

  • September 2014

Great experience

Excellent hotel and service.

  • Christy S

  • August 2014

Lovely hotel

Had a lovely 2 night stay here at this wonderful hotel.

Staff were very friendly. Our room had lovely views across the river. Food was wonderful. Felt totally relaxed when we left and would love to go back.

  • M Andrews

  • August 2014

Disappointing bar service

  • Gillian H

  • July 2014


Couldn't fault the hotel, from the valet parking to the quality of the food and the rooms (worth paying for a river view).

Water with ice provided daily with the complimentary tea/coffee/chocolate and biscuits. A fantastic hotel.

  • Carol Walker

  • May 2014

Stunning views.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were most courteous and helpful.

The view over the river Dart was a stunning view to wake up to each morning. Fabulous room, gorgeous food and friendly bar to relax in.