No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oakeley Arms Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Inn Ratings explained
TAN Y BWLCH , BLAENAU FFESTINIOG, LL413YU
Located in the heart of Snowdonia National Park, it is difficult to imagine a more impressive and convenient location from which to enjoy North Wales than Tan Y Bwlch near Blaenau Ffestiniog – and,therein, specifically, the imposing Oakeley Arms Hotel. The perfect base for memorable holidays and short breaks, the traditionally furnished, decorated and sensitively re-furbished Oakeley Arms Hotel welcomes coaches, small groups, families, couples and sole travellers to enjoy :-

Splendid bar facilities. A varied and traditionally based menu. Spacious and attractively decorated en-suite guest rooms. Conference, Banqueting and Function facilities
Drying Room & secure storage available for pushbikes.

We are happy to allow pets into the Self Catering Cottages. Pets are not allowed in the hotel.
Picture of The Oakeley Arms Hotel, BLAENAU FFESTINIOG at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent to see lots in North Wales
This hotel is ideally suited to suit all tastes.We chose it because we wanted to travel on the Ffestiniog railway one day & The Welsh Highland Railway the next day.This place was vey comfortable & the room we had was very well appointed.

Reviewed by
Dorothy W

From Halesowen, USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking weekend
Although we arrived quite late due to walking/climbing Tryfan there was no obvious person to speak with about booking in. I stayed in the family room with my son and my daughter and granddaughter stayed in a double booked by my son. Both room s were spacious and beds were comfortable but thought the 'blob' of toothpaste on the floor in the bathroom suggested limited cleaning and it was still there on the day we left, told the lady who booked us out but really not interested. Breakfast was nice (full Welsh) but there were no tables available in the restaurant so we had to sit in the bar with a part laid table and find our own drinks etc. service does take a long time too. One evening meal which was nice. Very helpful man, friend of the manager, who directed us to a fantastic walk on our second day, Cnicht mountain.

Reviewed by
michael s

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleased All Round
Booked what Late Rooms called an apartment. Turned out to be a lovely, spacious out-building conversion. Kitchen was well equipped for self catering and the adjoining living room was very comfortable. Both bedrooms were smartly presented with very comfortable beds. Bathroom was spacious. All facilities were clean and in good working order. Spoke to Chris on arrival, who was very welcoming, giving some historical insight into the property. He was at great pains to stress that if anything was not right or was needed then to just say. Didn't avail myself of the food so can't comment on this, but the bar facilities seemed to be popular and well patronised. This was a lovely cottage to come back to after a day exploring the Welsh mountains. Will definitely return to this excellent accommodation and book a longer stay. Very pleased.

Reviewed by
Jared H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good to stay at
- staff friendly and helpful. Allowed a tab for all food and drink over the weekend which was really helpful
- good pub food, especially the beef pie! Choice of local ales too.
- room had everything needed and bed was comfortable. Shower was hand held and for a family room this made showering a bit slow and awkward for 4 men. Although this is a shower down the corridor to use
- nice location
- parking available

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food was amazing and I very much enjoyed the accommodations as well. The many trains around the inn were very exciting to trek during the long summers nights.

Reviewed by
Angie F

From USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Loved every minute wish we could of stayed longer
Great friendly staff very clean pub, we stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage
Decorated to a very high standard everything you need to cook anything you wanted but small enough to eat out to was great we were very happy
Cant wait to return hopefully autum time to see all the
Trees changing would be fantastic,

Reviewed by
james mallett

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What fun
Excellent room, very comfortable. We had a scenic view of the surrounding hills which was beautiful.
Despite there being a pub downstairs we didn't hear anything from our room.
The pub itself is very welcoming with a good selection of local ales and big comfortable couches. Exactly what we wanted after killing ourselves climbing a mountain.
Breakfast was good too.
We'd probably come back and stay here again one day.

Reviewed by
Melissa F

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Oakeley Arms Hotel
Excellent room clean, food good and very friendly people. Will visit again.

Reviewed by
P Percivall

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Initial impression
Initially concerned as no reception except a bell which didn't work and then lead up a narrow stair which needed a vacuum but room was delightful. Would be very happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
R Denley

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
excellent location, as was the room. Public rooms rather jaded.

Reviewed by
m blake

From Church Stretton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next