No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oakeley Arms Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Inn Ratings explained
TAN Y BWLCH , BLAENAU FFESTINIOG, LL413YU
Located in the heart of Snowdonia National Park, it is difficult to imagine a more impressive and convenient location from which to enjoy North Wales than Tan Y Bwlch near Blaenau Ffestiniog – and,therein, specifically, the imposing Oakeley Arms Hotel. The perfect base for memorable holidays and short breaks, the traditionally furnished, decorated and sensitively re-furbished Oakeley Arms Hotel welcomes coaches, small groups, families, couples and sole travellers to enjoy :-

Splendid bar facilities. A varied and traditionally based menu. Spacious and attractively decorated en-suite guest rooms. Conference, Banqueting and Function facilities
Drying Room & secure storage available for pushbikes.

We are happy to allow pets into the Self Catering Cottages. Pets are not allowed in the hotel.
Picture of The Oakeley Arms Hotel, BLAENAU FFESTINIOG at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Loved every minute wish we could of stayed longer
Great friendly staff very clean pub, we stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage
Decorated to a very high standard everything you need to cook anything you wanted but small enough to eat out to was great we were very happy
Cant wait to return hopefully autum time to see all the
Trees changing would be fantastic,

Reviewed by
james mallett

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What fun
Excellent room, very comfortable. We had a scenic view of the surrounding hills which was beautiful.
Despite there being a pub downstairs we didn't hear anything from our room.
The pub itself is very welcoming with a good selection of local ales and big comfortable couches. Exactly what we wanted after killing ourselves climbing a mountain.
Breakfast was good too.
We'd probably come back and stay here again one day.

Reviewed by
Melissa F

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Oakeley Arms Hotel
Excellent room clean, food good and very friendly people. Will visit again.

Reviewed by
P Percivall

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Initial impression
Initially concerned as no reception except a bell which didn't work and then lead up a narrow stair which needed a vacuum but room was delightful. Would be very happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
R Denley

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
excellent location, as was the room. Public rooms rather jaded.

Reviewed by
m blake

From Church Stretton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service at Oakeley Arms
We only stayed one night as we were visiting Plas tan y Bwlch on our way to Morfa Nefyn. We are glad we chose the Oakeley Arms as the whole experience was great. The room was big with comfortable bed and very clean. All the staff made us feel welcome and the owner took us to see their other accommodation cottages as we would be interested in staying there for longer next time. All in all a most enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
D Boxall

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks - very enjoyable stay
Beautiful pub building in a great location. The pub was very firendly and served good real ale and above average bar food. We booked a family room and stayed in a cottage at the rear of the hotel. The cottage has recently been renovated to a high standard and was great - kitchen/diner, lounge, one double, one twin room and bathroom. This would make a great base to visit the area. I liked the pub/restaurant area but the decor is a bit dated . This was especially noticable after seeing the new refurbished cottage accommodation. The pub had a nice beer garden with a slide/swing that was very popular with our children. Very good breakfast and friendly staff in the morning - very pleasant stay overall. thanks very much

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for the feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Oakeley. Hurry back !! Regards, Ann Marie

Reviewed by
R Roberts

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet and peaceful
Great service. Clean and stress free booking in and out. Slight wait for breakfast which was a bit of a hold up. Dinner was good. Nice location, just a bit pricey for a single person without dinner included.

Reviewed by
d smith

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
We stayed in a really nice refurbished cottage at the rear with three bedrooms, full sized kitchen dining and living room being a family of 6 we find it hard to stay together so this was perfect for us. Great views and location if you want to explore Snowdonia would definitely go back. Stephen

Reviewed by
s mac cabe

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious clean rooms, very friendly staff and good pub food

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next