No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oakeley Arms Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Inn Ratings explained
TAN Y BWLCH , BLAENAU FFESTINIOG, LL413YU
Located in the heart of Snowdonia National Park, it is difficult to imagine a more impressive and convenient location from which to enjoy North Wales than Tan Y Bwlch near Blaenau Ffestiniog – and,therein, specifically, the imposing Oakeley Arms Hotel. The perfect base for memorable holidays and short breaks, the traditionally furnished, decorated and sensitively re-furbished Oakeley Arms Hotel welcomes coaches, small groups, families, couples and sole travellers to enjoy :-

Splendid bar facilities. A varied and traditionally based menu. Spacious and attractively decorated en-suite guest rooms. Conference, Banqueting and Function facilities
Drying Room & secure storage available for pushbikes.

We are happy to allow pets into the Self Catering Cottages. Pets are not allowed in the hotel.
Picture of The Oakeley Arms Hotel, BLAENAU FFESTINIOG at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleased All Round
Booked what Late Rooms called an apartment. Turned out to be a lovely, spacious out-building conversion. Kitchen was well equipped for self catering and the adjoining living room was very comfortable. Both bedrooms were smartly presented with very comfortable beds. Bathroom was spacious. All facilities were clean and in good working order. Spoke to Chris on arrival, who was very welcoming, giving some historical insight into the property. He was at great pains to stress that if anything was not right or was needed then to just say. Didn't avail myself of the food so can't comment on this, but the bar facilities seemed to be popular and well patronised. This was a lovely cottage to come back to after a day exploring the Welsh mountains. Will definitely return to this excellent accommodation and book a longer stay. Very pleased.

Reviewed by
Jared H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good to stay at
- staff friendly and helpful. Allowed a tab for all food and drink over the weekend which was really helpful
- good pub food, especially the beef pie! Choice of local ales too.
- room had everything needed and bed was comfortable. Shower was hand held and for a family room this made showering a bit slow and awkward for 4 men. Although this is a shower down the corridor to use
- nice location
- parking available

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food was amazing and I very much enjoyed the accommodations as well. The many trains around the inn were very exciting to trek during the long summers nights.

Reviewed by
Angie F

From USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Loved every minute wish we could of stayed longer
Great friendly staff very clean pub, we stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage
Decorated to a very high standard everything you need to cook anything you wanted but small enough to eat out to was great we were very happy
Cant wait to return hopefully autum time to see all the
Trees changing would be fantastic,

Reviewed by
james mallett

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What fun
Excellent room, very comfortable. We had a scenic view of the surrounding hills which was beautiful.
Despite there being a pub downstairs we didn't hear anything from our room.
The pub itself is very welcoming with a good selection of local ales and big comfortable couches. Exactly what we wanted after killing ourselves climbing a mountain.
Breakfast was good too.
We'd probably come back and stay here again one day.

Reviewed by
Melissa F

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Oakeley Arms Hotel
Excellent room clean, food good and very friendly people. Will visit again.

Reviewed by
P Percivall

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Initial impression
Initially concerned as no reception except a bell which didn't work and then lead up a narrow stair which needed a vacuum but room was delightful. Would be very happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
R Denley

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
excellent location, as was the room. Public rooms rather jaded.

Reviewed by
m blake

From Church Stretton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service at Oakeley Arms
We only stayed one night as we were visiting Plas tan y Bwlch on our way to Morfa Nefyn. We are glad we chose the Oakeley Arms as the whole experience was great. The room was big with comfortable bed and very clean. All the staff made us feel welcome and the owner took us to see their other accommodation cottages as we would be interested in staying there for longer next time. All in all a most enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
D Boxall

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks - very enjoyable stay
Beautiful pub building in a great location. The pub was very firendly and served good real ale and above average bar food. We booked a family room and stayed in a cottage at the rear of the hotel. The cottage has recently been renovated to a high standard and was great - kitchen/diner, lounge, one double, one twin room and bathroom. This would make a great base to visit the area. I liked the pub/restaurant area but the decor is a bit dated . This was especially noticable after seeing the new refurbished cottage accommodation. The pub had a nice beer garden with a slide/swing that was very popular with our children. Very good breakfast and friendly staff in the morning - very pleasant stay overall. thanks very much

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for the feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Oakeley. Hurry back !! Regards, Ann Marie

Reviewed by
R Roberts

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next