No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Suites

5AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
New Rd , Windermere, LA23 2LA

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "This luxurious and romantic retreat with its avant garde décor."

The Windermere Suites were the winner of the AA's 'Funkiest B&B' award for 2010 and are also finalists in the Conde Nast Johansen's awards of excellence for 2012. These butler service style luxury boutique Suites offer designer luxury set in the natural beauty of the Lake District. With a 5- gold star Guest Accommodation rating from the AA. Each Suite come with luxury bathroom and modern furniture from designers such as Philippe Starck, and features a handmade silver-leaf Frank Hudson super-king bed. All suites have 42-inch LCD TVs, crystal lights and free Wi-Fi. A hearty Cumbria platter or continental breakfast, with freshly ground coffee, is delivered to your Suite every morning. And Breakfast is served at a time to suit you. A room service menu is also available. Windermere Suites are just a 2-minute walk from Windermere town centre. Windermere Train Station, Lake Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, home to the ‘World Of Beatrix Potter’ are also within easy walking distance.
Complimentary spa & health club membership is also provided at the Old England Hotel in Bowness, a 2 minute drive or a 15 minute walk away. The Suites are just a 2 minute walk from Windermere where there is a wide choice of shops, bars and restaurants. A room service menu is offered until 9pm each day which is enjoyed in your own dining area of your suite. Windermere Suites are the most luxurious Suites in the English Lake District confirmed by its many awards.
Picture of Windermere Suites, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent accommodation but definitely not for people with young children
Priced on the high side for the services rendered. Staff quite rude. Breakfast was very nice.
Will not recommend to people with families also there is nothing English about the decor. Would have preferred to stay at a kid friendly place with some English flavour with more friendly welcome staff

Reviewed by
S Grewal

From India
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
LUCY N

From Cheddar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just spot on!
A wonderful night spent in a truly high quality accommodation. Windermere Suites looked pretty special on the website and in reality was even better. We were met in the car park on arrival, helped with bags and then shown to our suite - Hawkshead - overlooking the front of the building. The room was fabulous, finished to an extremely high standard, the bathroom even more so.
Friendly staff and some good pointers for the scenic route for our trip home. Real pity we only had one night booked !

Reviewed by
R Silver

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want an amazing experience, with the friendliest most helpful staff. This is the place.

Reviewed by
J Jackson

From Y Felinheli, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay, great location.
This was a gorgeous room with an amazing bathroom, only a couple of little faults (cracked tile, flaking paint and plug too far from mirror made doing my hair awkward, but these are only minor things and we would probably stay again.

Reviewed by
Adam M

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More like 7* B&B
Stayed in the Grasmere Suite. It is one of the best B&B we have ever stayed in. It has a lovely air bath (jacuzzi) with a fantastic TV to watch while in the jacuzzi. The room is well decorated with a comfortable couch and a warm bed. The carpeted floor gives it a cozy homely feel. We had to force ourselves to leave the room to see the lakes. Room service is also served politely with individual needs and personal consideration.

Reviewed by
Amar B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grasmere Suite
It is quirky, it is modern, it is luxurious. Grasmere is the smallest room. The pictures make it look bigger than it is, that said it was still great. Next time we'd choose another suite. Excellent 2 nights stay, bed huge and comfy some noise from the main road, probably more of a problem if you're a light sleeper or when the village is busier.
Bathroom was good, great under floor heating, we had difficulty with the ambient lighting but not sure if from incompetance or just not working but all was forgotten when drinking champagne in the jacuzzi bath and we didnt bother getting the staff to sort it. The only issue we had with the room was finding petals from a romantic package (we believe) on the floor.
Breakfast was great, delivered to your suite. Menu was varied, the food arrived on time and was good standard. The mini bar was well stocked and very reasonably priced. We didn't use room service but the menu looked fine.
Situated a few minutes out of the town centre, shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Great walks near by, if you ever leave the room.
The use of the gym and pool down the road was also an added feature we utilised.
The staff make all the difference here, attentive, friendly, professional and very helpful.
We would recommend it for a romantic weekend away.

Reviewed by
Ursula R

From , England
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay wonderful room even better bath!
lovely and clean. friendly and helpful staff. great breakfast choices from the menu and hand delivered to the room (nice touch). robes, soft towels and soaps all available in the room. we got early check-in ( 3 hours early) as the room was efficiently prepared. staff had good knowledge of local areas and provided tourist information. overall brilliant break would recommend to anyone looking for the perfect romantic break!

Reviewed by
Rachael P

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.