No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Purdy Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Adderstone Services , Belford, NE70 7JU
With such a wealth of natural beauty in the area, the Purdy Lodge merely adds the finishing touches of good food and accommodation to your visit to Northumberland.

Fine food, great beers and wines, stunning views and friendly, efficient service. Welcome to the finest lodge style accommodation in the land!

Purdy Lodge was built in 1994 and offers twenty en-suite bedrooms with the convenience of an in-house Bar & Restaurant.

We serve a range of food to suit all tastes & all pockets and our easy to find location is ideal for enjoying the unrivalled coastlines and attractions in the area.

We are certain there is something here for everybody and we look forward to seeing you.
Picture of Purdy Lodge, Belford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were all very happy with the rooms and found the service excellent in that all were helpful, happy and appreciative of any situation. Also the food in the restaurant was excellent. Also with six grandchildren myself I would certainly recommend either the Lodge or preferably the houses available for rent to both my daughters/sons -in-law.

Reviewed by
Audrey Davenport

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food
Food was great, good welcome and ensured we knew what times everything was stopping/starting which helped.

Reviewed by
M Poiney

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located hotel
The hotel was located on A1 road next to a filling station, and did not look like a great place from the outside, but once we walked in the staff were great and accommodating and our room on the first floor faced the fields in the back of the hotel. I did notice that the vent in the bathroom was very dirty and told the staff who apologized and did have it cleaned the next day. We had breakfest and that was very good although the staff seemed very over worked, but very nice. Overall I would recommend this hotel as good value for money, clean, with an energenic staff.

Reviewed by
Joseph D

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely book here again
Booked a night here last minute to extend our holiday in the North East. Very friendly staff and good quality food. Comfy room and very quiet considering how close it is to the A1

Reviewed by
Stella P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and efficient staff. Good evening meal with nice choice. Breakfast limited if you did not want a cooked one, but cheap. Overall would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
C Amis

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and accommodation adequate and clean, good central location for touring Northumberland

Reviewed by
sylvia j

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accommodations
We weren't expecting too much, booking from the US & knowing it was a 'services' accommodation, so we're pleasantly surprised how nice it was. It's set back a little off the A1, N of where it becomes only two lanes, and the rooms look away from the road, across the winter wheat fields to a distant view of Bamburgh Castle, & the room was very nice, & quiet. Staff was pleasant and accommodating, and a dinner and two breakfasts we had there were all good, and it's convenient to other dinner choices, we had a nice dinner at the Castle Hotel in Bamburgh. Also, it's convenient to the four castles we explored in the two days we were there, Warksworth, Alnwick, Dunstanburgh, & Bamburgh.

Reviewed by
S Specht

From Brownsville, USA
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly Adequate
Purdy Lodge did the job and was reasonable value for money. The walls are quite thin and so it was a bit noisy, the bed was a little uncomfortable and the shower a mere trickle but it was clean, reasonably appointed, the service was good and breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year's Eve
We don't often get to go away on New Year's Eve and this was a spur of the moment booking. The Purdy Lodge was clean, warm and comfortable. The staff were very professional and welcoming . We got back from Seahouses just before midnight and were a little disappointed that the bar had closed but to be fair we had been told that it depended on whether guests were still having drinks. We had a fantastic view of fireworks at the castle and various other places and woke up to a beautiful sunrise and a fabulous breakfast. A great way to start the new year.

Reviewed by
D Johnstone

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for Doxford Hall
Stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Doxford Hall. Obviously a much cheaper option than Doxford. Purdy do offer a package that includes transport to and from Doxford if required. If you decide to get a taxi instead we paid £15 one way, but that was after midnight. Doxford is approx 5 miles away. Purdy is perfectly acceptable accom at a reasonable price. Loads of free parking at the hotel. The views from the rooms over the fields and down to the coast are lovely. On a clear day you can see Bambugh Castle. There is a 24hr Cafe attached to the hotel in addition to the Hotel Restaurant. Hotel ideally placed for a touring holiday of the Northumberland Coast.

Reviewed by
Edward R

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next