No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Purdy Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Adderstone Services , Belford, NE70 7JU
With such a wealth of natural beauty in the area, the Purdy Lodge merely adds the finishing touches of good food and accommodation to your visit to Northumberland.

Fine food, great beers and wines, stunning views and friendly, efficient service. Welcome to the finest lodge style accommodation in the land!

Purdy Lodge was built in 1994 and offers twenty en-suite bedrooms with the convenience of an in-house Bar & Restaurant.

We serve a range of food to suit all tastes & all pockets and our easy to find location is ideal for enjoying the unrivalled coastlines and attractions in the area.

We are certain there is something here for everybody and we look forward to seeing you.
Picture of Purdy Lodge, Belford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money.
The interior of the hotel could do with a lick of paint, but the hotel room was clean and adequate for our needs. From our room we had a view of Bamburgh Castle and the sea in the distance which was a nice surprise. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and not expensive. The staff were polite and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Buckingham

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Purdy Lodge Review
Convenient accommodation when visiting the Northumbrian area. Easy to travel inland or up and down the coast as situated on the A1. The rooms are well kept,staff are all very helpful and pleasant. The choice of food is good either in the restaurant, bar meals or the 24/7 café the standard is excellent.

Reviewed by
N Wasden

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied overall
Room was very adequate for a overnight stop over. Very clean and tidy. Water very hot and shower over bath okay. Dinner was fine but breakfast although choice was good, was disappointing as food was not very hot, a fad of mine and plates on which it was served were cold which did not help. No evident noise from A1 as our room no 6 was at the rear as I believe all rooms are. Could not open windows without assistance from staff and as we were on ground floor "her that must be obeyed" thought this risky. Maybe windows with partial opening locking devices would be an advantage especially in warm weather.

Reviewed by
N Driver

From Milnthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as clean as last time
I stayed here several years ago and it was very clean and well presented, it now needs a good clean. The toilet was splashed with urine under the seat and round the rim,it looked like it had not been cleaned for some time. The view of Bamburgh castle is lovely but would be much easier to see if the inside of the windows were clean.the food in the restaurant was ok, they had run out of my first two choices, the food in the 24hour cafe is not good.

Reviewed by
June T

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good-value, clean and quiet accommodation on A1 near Bambergh, Northumberland
We were impressed with the Purdy Lodge. Our room was a good size, smart and was quiet as it faced away from the busy A1 (as all did, on the ground floor at least). It also felt as if care had gone into the preparation of our room. Whilst some of the public areas perhaps looked a little tired, although not the restaurant, the food was excellent. We dined in one night and the choice on the menu was good and we felt the food quality was a high standard and good value. Food quantities at breakfast and at dinner were substantial.

Reviewed by
John A

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in a good location but with tired rooms. Ours, No 7, on ground floor had a window that would not open for ventilation in a stuffy stale room. All rooms have nice country field view. We had to ask for hand towels on arrival as there were none. They arrived like the others of poor quality but were brought immediately thankfully.
Bedroom and bathroom had very suspect looking electrics and the bathroom was extremely shabby and small.
Parking good.
If your not expecting much for your money you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Norm K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not just convenient
A tidy hotel just off the A1 (the single lane part) with good food and a comfortable bar. We were visiting the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle on our way to Edinburgh and this hotel was ideally situated for an overnight stay. Although it is on the A1 it wasn't excessively noisy at all as most, if not all, the rooms are on the opposite side of the building facing towards the coast. We could see the sea and Bamburgh Castle from our room. The room was comfortable enough and the service was friendly. A night cap or two in the bar was also a pleasant experience. I would stop here again if I was in the area.

Reviewed by
ALEC H

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were all very happy with the rooms and found the service excellent in that all were helpful, happy and appreciative of any situation. Also the food in the restaurant was excellent. Also with six grandchildren myself I would certainly recommend either the Lodge or preferably the houses available for rent to both my daughters/sons -in-law.

Reviewed by
Audrey Davenport

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food
Food was great, good welcome and ensured we knew what times everything was stopping/starting which helped.

Reviewed by
M Poiney

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located hotel
The hotel was located on A1 road next to a filling station, and did not look like a great place from the outside, but once we walked in the staff were great and accommodating and our room on the first floor faced the fields in the back of the hotel. I did notice that the vent in the bathroom was very dirty and told the staff who apologized and did have it cleaned the next day. We had breakfest and that was very good although the staff seemed very over worked, but very nice. Overall I would recommend this hotel as good value for money, clean, with an energenic staff.

Reviewed by
Joseph D

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next