Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
42% would recommend it to a friend
I'd rather not stay here again ...
The greeting at reception (which reminded me of a cab office reception) was welcoming ..
once someone appeared. We were behind a lady who had difficulty checking in due to her booking being 'lost' which delayed our check in and we were on a time schedule so this was a little frustrating.
We managed check in efficiently but were a little shocked to be given a post it note with a numerical and alphabetical code to gain access to our bedroom. A little tricky when you return to the hotel late and the hallway is rather gloomy.
The room was tired and the bathroom dirty and poorly equipped. The toilet roll holder was broken. The soap dispenser was too large for the tiny sink. But at this stage we were grateful for a room.
Our room was on the ground floor. The net curtains were about a foot too short for the window meaning that visitors to reception or standing outside could see into the bedroom. One of the staff waved at us through the window. A little disconcerting, and it meant we had to have the full curtains closed when changing. The 'wardrobe' was some hangers on the back of the door to an adjoining bedroom. It was poorly painted and the furniture looked like it had come from a second hand shop. We declined breakfast which was an additional 5 pounds charge as the breakfast table would only seat 2 and it didn't look particularly inviting when we saw it laid out for others.
We arrived back late to the hotel as we were at a festival, and were told that although the front door locked at 2 am, the back door was permanently open. Wonderful for our late access but hardly secure. The garden was looking sorry for itself with a couple of caravans at the end of the garden, and old guttering and old pots strewn across the forgotten lawn.
Parking charges are additional dependent on the size of your engine. I'm not aware that a 2 or 3 litre car would take up any more space than a 1 litre. The parking was laid out in such a way that engine size was completely irrelevant. Overall the room gave us quite a few laughs due to the poor condition of everything, but I wouldn't return unless I was completely desperate. Which is unlikely ...!!
Avoid like the plague
Response from hotel
Dear Mr Dave Franks
Thank you very much for your comments. It would be nice to know which area
was like a plague to you as we could have improved our services for future
guests if may applied.
the place is old
bedding is old
mattress is uncomfortable (spring sticking through)
not at all clean
don't waste your money
Response from hotel
We are sorry that you did not like our hotel. We have checked all the points you have raised in your review and found out that the mattress had a little split in it, as it was reported that the guest who used that room before you, had a very heavy tool box with him that was placed on the bed. Staff noticed that when he requested for room service. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. A new mattress has been ordered.
Never again would not recommend, very cold room dirty used bed sheets no heating and on top of this they have the cheek to charge £10 for parking in there car park.
Response from hotel
We have conducted an investigation and we are very sorry that the guest did not like this room. This room has two modes of heating. Standard radiator which is centrally controlled and also an electric heater which can be fully controlled by the guest as per their comfort. We are assessing our double glaze window in that room to identify whether we need to do any repair. This room was checked by our QA department on 20/3/2016 and we agreed that the walls had coffee stained by the previous guest who used that room. But this situation was fully resolved on the 20/3/2016 as per our photograhic evidences. As per our record, Mr Paul Wright's car park space was charged at £5 cash. We will investigate with staff how much exactly was received in our till, for that charge.
Should Mr Wright had reported this matter there and then, I am sure receptionist would have arranged to have this room checked and any concerns would have been looked into.
We thank Mr Paul Wright for his comments as this enable us to put things right, as now we have a new manager in place who is very proactive and take reviews very seriously to give the best services to our guests.
We regret Mr Paul's experience on that particular occasion and we can affirm that his next visit to that same room will be an enjoyable one, if he ever wants to visit us and we will provide a special voucher discount for him.
absolutely the worst accommodation i've ever stayed in.
I am shocked that laterooms who I've trusted in the past would sell this place on here.
It is at best a hostel which insults hostels everywhere. Filthy. Booked and paid for 2 nights could not stay the second night couldn't wait to leave. Avoid at all costs n read trip advisor reviews.
Wuold not stay again or recomend to anyone
asked to leave card info incase we broke or stole anything, charged extra £10 per night for parking, when it rained at night the roof leaked in our room,(room5).
the shower head holder was broken on arrival, which was repaired the the following day. Not happy at all.
Very cheap so can't complain too much.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. However shower was cold and walls were quite thin so I could hear the people in the room next to me. I was surprised when I checked in that there was an additional charge for leaving my car in the car park.
wont stay again
the hotel we realize is having money spent on it and you only get what you pay for, now we know why it was so reasonable in cost and also no breakfast, perhaps they will sort this in the future.
The room needed lots of TLC.
Fine not great but comfortable
Fine not great but comfortable, it was clear renovation works was going on but very friendly and very liveable, clean and somewhere to sleep, it was okay.
Basic but great value for the money
I checked in very late and the owner/hostess was very friendly and helpful.
The room was basic but absolutely fine for £25. Was literally a sleep-over and I didn't have breakfast (which would have been extra). All seemed clean and no complaints at all here.