No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Anand Lodge

0Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
37 Hastings Road, Pembury, , Royal Tunbridge Wells, TN2 4PB
Within walking distance to the shops, 24hr supermarket, bank, post office, off-license and take-away restaurants.Access to Westfield’s Tunbridge Wells Shopping Centre is by bus routes. Anand Lodge also provides self-catering facilities on request. Royal Tunbridge Wells, located just 30 miles south of London, is surrounded by glorious Kent countryside. In Georgian times, this historic spa town gained a reputation as the place to see and be seen. Today visitors to Tunbridge Wells in Kent can enjoy a relaxing short break or day out, taking part in outdoor activities, exploring the many gardens, castles and historic houses, shopping in Royal Tunbridge Wells Surrounded by beautiful Wealden countryside and just a short train journey from London's Charing Cross and easily accessible by car from the coast and the main road routes in the South East, Royal Tunbridge Wells makes an ideal base for a short break or a pleasant day out - either just exploring the town and the historic Pantiles walkway, discovering the seven wonders of the Weald and some of the dozens of gardens, stately homes, churches, great outdoors and other places to visit in the area, relaxing in a quaint village pub, enjoying some retail therapy or unwinding in the surrounding countryside.
Picture of Anand Lodge, Royal Tunbridge Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
I wasn't expecting much but at £30 for a night I can't have any complaint. There was a hair in the bed that got there before me; and it wasn't mine!; and the mattress was knackered and lumpy in room 3. But, aside from that, the room had full en suite facilities, plenty of tea and coffee in the room, nice big telly on the wall; and for £30, can't complain.

Reviewed by
Robert F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tour around Kent.
Overall it was a nice place to stay. I did find some of the workers staying were very noisy slamming doors in the morning.

Reviewed by
B Field

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for £25
Price is actually cheap. Facilities are clean. TV in room nothing to complain. Only thing to complain is the location is too far from the train station.

Reviewed by
M Tse

From Tunbridge wells, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and not really cheerful but does the job if you want a bed for the night
I was rather nervous of booking this given a number of the earlier reviews. They were not necessarily incorrect, the bit that I stayed in is clearly undergoing refurbishment and is well and truly at the end of its commercial life - in terms of repair and standards. Nevertheless, what does anyone expect for £25/£35 and given its location. Its cheap, not necessarily cheerful but it does the job - in that you get a reasonably comfortable bed, tea and coffee, a tv and heating. The bathroom was is disrepair and the bath tap fell off in my hand though - but functional. The staff were very nice and helpful though. So all in all - don't expect much - you won't get it, but if you just want a bed for the night - as I did, then this place was fine - no more no less.

Reviewed by
alex D

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too shabby
After seeing the reviews I began to consider cancelling my booking but went through with it, leaving me very nervous about the place. Parking is on dirt but I'm personally used to it being from the countryside.
On arrival I was greeted by friendly staff who fetched me an extra toilet roll as I had two thirds of a previous one left. I paid a total of £25 for my room and was pleasantly surprised, double bed, mirror, tea and coffee, working tv with free view and an en suite which seemed fairly modern.
Bit scruffy here and there but what do you expect for the price! I wasn't attacked by bed bugs or fleas like other guests have claimed. Room 1 is either the best room in the B&B or they have recently modernised.

Reviewed by
Bianca R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night to remember.
The lodge (Hotel) is undergoing extensive restoration.
Our room was on the first floor and in the front of the house. The room needed redecorating, replacement carpets/bed and furnishing............... The bed/mattress had seen better days as had all the furnishings. The receptionist apologised for the decor and the carpets adding they were due to be done. The receptionist was very helpful and welcoming even carrying my bag to thee room: Thank you) Would give a second go when redecorated.

Reviewed by
mick b

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

£30 a night, a bargain in my opinion. Two great pubs nearby for food. If you want the Ritz you're going to need a bigger wallet than mine. No complaints at all.

Reviewed by
Les K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad sleep.

ManagementResponse

We do everything possible to give our guests a comfortable night. Thus a good review from 27737251R. We have had a lot of private guests who are regular customers to our hotel and they have recommend our hotel to a lot of more other guests as they have had very comfortable nights. They thanked us by giving tips to the staff

Reviewed by
A harris

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay we have ever had!
We stayed there for a wedding as all the other hotels were fully booked so was going to make a weekend of it, I wish we hadn't, what a waste of money! There was no one to greet us when we arrived. This is not a hotel! this is a room in a house. The walls are so thin that we couldn't sleep as all we could hear was people talking, slamming doors and tv's. The "en-suite" was a tiny room of our bedroom with a sliding door that wouldn't close all the way so the motion light stayed on and kept us up. The walls were dirty and there was a "kitchen" downstairs that was awfully grimy! This place is the worst place we have ever stay and would never stay again! I would not recommend anyone to stay here, rather the opposite, I would recommend people NOT to stay! The room was so small that the bed only just fit in so wasn't much room between the bed and wall to walk. Overall, I hope this place gets closed down!! Oh plus make sure you bring soap and shampoo ect because this hotel does not provide any!

ManagementResponse

We are very sorry if the guests did not like our premises on that particular night, as we have lots of very good satisfied clienteles who have recommend our Hotel to so many other guests, hence always working at 98% occupancy throughout the year. We had a waiting list on that day with regular guests but those guests with the above reference number pick this booking first. We are a budget Hotel in the area where no one can match our price.

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid this accommodation like the plague Doss House
Reception :- No body available or interested.
Room:- Untidy ,very dirty carpets hidden by rugs. Shower in room. Sink undrainable due to wrong fittings. Toilet down corridor accessed by door code.
Breakfast Table covered with old takeaways empty and half empty vodka bottles.
Outside of building appears ok. until you see the rubbish everywhere.
Would not have stayed but you had the access to our Mastercard.

Reviewed by
d Valler

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next