Reviews - The Clive Restaurant with Rooms


Bromfield, Ludlow, SY8 2JR

Price From 156.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Jo M

  • August 2015

August Four Night Stay

All staff were very welcoming and pleasant with good service throughout.

We stayed for 4 nights but chose to dine in Ludlow for two, simply to add variety. Both evening meals at The Clive were good; the second evening was particularly lovely given we were in the smarter of the 2 restaurants. Breakfasts were really tasty every morning, delivered with great service. Our only issue was with the location. Although great access into Ludlow and the surrounding area, which we would highly recommend, with rooms at The Clive adjacent to the A49 we found it to be pretty noisy. Also woken c5ish most mornings with deliveries for the adjacent businesses. Great access to these local gems but less so if you're looking for a good nights sleep. We'd return to dine, without any question, but perhaps look for alternative accommodation - somewhere quieter.

  • Michael P

  • March 2015

A lovely place to stay

Very comfortable room and exquisite food, both the evening meal and breakfast.

And first class, helpful and attentive staff

  • Paul S

  • February 2015

A wonderful base for exploring an area unknown to us.

A first class restaurant with excellent rooms.I am sure the two new rooms will be to the same high standard.

The standard of food is excellent as were the staff who looked after us throughout our stay. Good to enjoy a find like The Clive. Will certainly return.

  • Allan E

  • February 2015

Great Stay

The Accommodation is in a cottage-type room (one of many) away from the Main Building, with under floor heating - great for January.

Very cosy, comfortable and well furnished, with a huge bed. The Restaurant food (in the Main Building) was very tasty, with a great choice. The Main Building has a Bar, with a comfortable Lounge area, containing easy chairs, tables & chairs, and a log fire. A great, relaxing, enjoyable few days.

  • Linda G

  • December 2014

A stay most thoroughly enjoyed

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The accommodation was very clean and well presented and the food was excellent . We will definitely return. Many thanks to all the very efficient and helpful staff.

  • Henry Cunningham

  • October 2014

really 5 star for us and we have staed in many places

The room was large clean and good quality.

breakfast lovely most of the food is their own and fresh. All meats are from their farm, so on the way back home we stopped at the shop and purchased a whole range for meats .Trying the sausages tonight. The only thing I would say is the in the "dining room", not always , but sometimes the mains can be a little fussy, and it is worth trying the bar menu (table opposite had a HUGE fish and chips, looked really good) We would stay again. We initially only booked for one night but ended up staying 2. We had a good time and within short drive there are plenty of things to do and see.

  • Michael Cross

  • August 2014

1st visit to Ludlow

My wife and myself were very impressed with the town of Ludlow which was made even more enjoyable by our stay at the Clive restaurant with rooms which was in a very convenient location just outside the town.

We are unsure if the hotel do accept dogs, and as we are the owners of one we feel it would be a big bonus

  • John Garnett

  • June 2014

Ideal jumping off point for Ludlow

Easy to find, generous parking and great facilities and service.

  • clive d

  • April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Clive, all very clean and friendly.

Good food too. Lovely base for walking the hills. Would certainly go again.

  • Malcolm B

  • April 2014

Easter Week end

The accomodation at the Clive was very good although having to cross the courtyard to breakfast and dinner in the rain has its drawbacks.

The coffee making facilities in the room could be a little more expansive ..only enough beverages for two cups per day..and a small thing , a flannel in the bathroom would be a good touch.Other than that the room was delightful. The quality of food and choice was excellent for dinner and the breakfast even though no fruit was on offer was extremely good. Certainly stay again if in thr area.