No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clive Restaurant with Rooms

5AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Bromfield , Ludlow, SY8 2JR
Situated in picturesque Ludlow, This restaurant with rooms offers superb 2 AA rosette dining, free Wi-Fi and immaculate rooms, presented in a unique blend of the traditional and contemporary.

Bedrooms are situated in tastefully converted period outbuildings and feature a range of modern amenities including free Wi-Fi, TV, radio, minibar
and tea/coffee making facilities.

The Clive Restaurant is renowned for superb modern British cuisine and has been awarded two AA rosettes as well as an entry in the Michelin Guide.
Emphasis is on the use of fresh local and almost everything served is made fresh in the restaurant kitchen. The bar and adjoining courtyard provides a comfortable area in which to enjoy local traditional ales, a wide range of wines by the glass and light snacks from the bar menu.

Dating back to medieval times, Ludlow still features ancient walled sections, timber lined Tudor style buildings and the imposing Ludlow Castle.
Ludlow also boasts a range of popular shops, bars and restaurants to enjoy after exploring the area
Picture of The Clive Restaurant with Rooms, Ludlow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal jumping off point for Ludlow
Easy to find, generous parking and great facilities and service.

Reviewed by
John Garnett

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter Week end
The accomodation at the Clive was very good although having to cross the courtyard to breakfast and dinner in the rain has its drawbacks.
The coffee making facilities in the room could be a little more expansive ..only enough beverages for two cups per day..and a small thing , a flannel in the bathroom would be a good touch.Other than that the room was delightful.
The quality of food and choice was excellent for dinner and the breakfast even though no fruit was on offer was extremely good.
Certainly stay again if in thr area.

Reviewed by
Malcolm B

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food glorious food
Room great , Staff friendly and attentive,
The food is out of this world best ever risotto for my vegaterian partner . My fillet steak was to die for.
Hope you put raspberry coulis with the almond bake. Good without it but could make it great .

Reviewed by
jeffrey oconnor

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay at the Clive, all very clean and friendly. Good food too. Lovely base for walking the hills. Would certainly go again.

Reviewed by
clive d

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We needed an overnight stay for a funeral of a good friend the following morning.
The staff were very polite and friendly and we received good service whilst respecting our desire to be left alone to enjoy relaxing quietly prior to a stressful following morning!
The food was excellent. Our room was clean, quiet, but like a lot of hotel rooms rather too warm despite turning the heating off. The shower in the bath was far too cramped. In this day and age showers should be separate. Despite these small points the Clive is a delightful place to stay and very convenient.

Reviewed by
Michael Holland

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, comfortable convenient accomodation

Reviewed by
patricia e

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room in fabulous location

Reviewed by
stella james

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Clean Rooms!
I am extremely fussy when it comes to cleanliness and I could not find any faults in this room.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant and my meal was excellent, however my partners fish was underdone.
Breakfast was nice, my only criticism would be there was only melon in the fruit bowl which we dislike, but the cooked breakfast was tasty with plenty of toast.

Reviewed by
S Holland

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel is on the outskirts of Ludlow very close to the racecourse. It is a small, pleasant hotel on the A49. The light sleeper may be affected by the proximity of the hotel to the main road but otherwise it is very good. We had breakfast and some bar snacks and they were excellent.

Reviewed by
j charles

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Geat Stay - All Round
Delightful location, plenty of parking quality room and amenities, good food would go back

Reviewed by
A Finch

From Eastbourne, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next