No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clive Restaurant with Rooms

5AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Bromfield , Ludlow, SY8 2JR
Situated in picturesque Ludlow, This restaurant with rooms offers superb 2 AA rosette dining, free Wi-Fi and immaculate rooms, presented in a unique blend of the traditional and contemporary.

Bedrooms are situated in tastefully converted period outbuildings and feature a range of modern amenities including free Wi-Fi, TV, radio, minibar
and tea/coffee making facilities.

The Clive Restaurant is renowned for superb modern British cuisine and has been awarded two AA rosettes as well as an entry in the Michelin Guide.
Emphasis is on the use of fresh local and almost everything served is made fresh in the restaurant kitchen. The bar and adjoining courtyard provides a comfortable area in which to enjoy local traditional ales, a wide range of wines by the glass and light snacks from the bar menu.

Dating back to medieval times, Ludlow still features ancient walled sections, timber lined Tudor style buildings and the imposing Ludlow Castle.
Ludlow also boasts a range of popular shops, bars and restaurants to enjoy after exploring the area
Picture of The Clive Restaurant with Rooms, Ludlow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel is on the outskirts of Ludlow very close to the racecourse. It is a small, pleasant hotel on the A49. The light sleeper may be affected by the proximity of the hotel to the main road but otherwise it is very good. We had breakfast and some bar snacks and they were excellent.

Reviewed by
j charles

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Geat Stay - All Round
Delightful location, plenty of parking quality room and amenities, good food would go back

Reviewed by
A Finch

From Eastbourne, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Above average.
The Clive offered an above average dining experience, good food, good service and reasonable priced. The restaurant itself was quite busy which reflects the quality and value of the food on offer.
The room was OK, small (as advertised) but exactly what you need for a few days away, unfortunately the bed was terrible, it was like sleeping in a bowl and I'd suggest (R109) that the struts were broken.
In my opinion the best thing about the Clive was its proximity to Ludlow town, a 25-35 minute walk.

Reviewed by
SCOTT M

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at The Clive
Had a great stay at The Clive, stayed in the family room which was very spacious and made the kids feel very important having their own little room just off the main bedroom. Food was excellent and staff were very accomodating. Will definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
Kevin Scott

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay.
The accommodation was very spacious and clean. The beds were quite comfortable but we found the pillows a little too hard. The staff were always friendly and courteous. The food in the restaurant was of a very good standard except for the sugar snap peas one day which were too stringy to chew.we were also served from an already opened bottle of wine one night when we had ordered a whole bottle although I think this was a genuine mistake which was quickly rectified.overall we had a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
R Whitley

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a family room (2 adults & 2 childen)
The room was a good size, clean & had high ceilings with beams which was a nice feature. I would say it was 3 star standard with regards to decor & comfort. The room was really hot with no openable window & no airconditioning, although there was a fan you could plug in. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was pleasant but nothing to write home about. The restaurant reminded me of our doctors waiting room which also has art for sale. Our biggest gripe was being woken at 5.30am by a dustbin van emptying bins right by our window!! This lasted for about 10 minutes. We enjoyed our breakfast & there was a good choice.

Reviewed by
A O'Leary

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for Ludlow
This is the second time we have stayed here and it's a good place to stay for visiting the area. The rooms are spacious and well proportioned and the staff are very helpful. There is a problem if you are staying in rooms backing on to the delivery area behind. There is a constant stream of delivery vehicles throughout the day delivering to the Hotel from as early as 7am onwards. The vehicles look directly into the room and leave radios on with doors open. Have to keep window closed and blinds down and the room is very warm,(no air con!). We had dinner in the restaurant which was far better than La Becasse, which was very disappointing!
All in all happy to stay again but in a different room. Breakfast could do with cold meats and cheeses.

Reviewed by
Lance S

From Conwy, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation
Enjoyed our stay there very much.
Food superb / Rooms spacious & clean
Staff very friendly & helpfull

Reviewed by
i stock

From merseyside, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rooms, great food
Stayed here just for one night (Sunday) so got a good rate through Late Rooms. Rooms are one of thw largest and most comfortable I have stayed in for a long time. Everything is new, well maintained and functional. Bath and shower ensuite superb. Ate in the main restaurant in the evening some of the most tenderest lamb I have ever had. Service great as well. Breakfast had fresh squeezed orange juice and was very well presented and cooked. The morning waiting staff (lovely lady with blonde hair) were just charming and helpful. A fine place we will be back.

Reviewed by
Nigel C

From Bradville, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent nights accomodation
We stayed here for one night, easily accessible and within a couple of miles of the beautiful Ludlow town centre. There is also a nice food centre 100m or so away. A gorgeous bar & restaurant area with some lovely rooms at the back of the main building. Very comfortable & spacious bed, beautifully decorated room, very clean and a fridge full of goodies if you fancy them (extra cost). Breakfast in the morning was delicious too. I would recommend the Clive to anyone who is looking at staying in the area - you won't be disappointed!

Reviewed by
Luke B

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next