No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Swan

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place , Middleham, DL8 4PE
The White Swan Hotel, one of Middleham's most popular and attractive inns, has recently been extended and refurbished. The purchase of the town's old Post Office has enabled owners Paul and Helen Klein to create a 60-cover brasserie and five new bedrooms.

The hotel has 17 individually decorated and cosy bedrooms, which are a sensitive and imaginative blend of the old and the new, retaining the traditional charm of this historic inn while incorporating the most up-to-date facilities. Overlooking the town's picturesque market square and boasting lovely rural views, the White Swan is now a premier town house hotel with superb facilities including free wireless internet for all residents.

The area is steeped in history. The castles of Middleham, Richmond and Castle Bolton, all eloquent reminders of Yorkshire’s proud past, are within easy reach, as are Jervaulx and Fountains abbeys. Meanwhile the elegant spa towns of Ripon and Harrogate are only 30 and 45 minutes away respectively by car. Both towns have a splendid array of quality shops.

Middleham is home to some of the country’s leading trainers and the racecourses of Catterick, Ripon, Wetherby, Thirsk and York are all within one hour’s drive.

Other local activities include fishing on the River Ure, shooting, tennis, golf at Masham, pony-trekking and clay-pigeon shooting. And, for something completely different, the Forbidden Corner at Coverham provides a tantalising journey into the unexpected and unknown. All in all, the White Swan is the perfect base to explore some of Yorkshire’s most breath-taking scenery or simply to relax.

Picture of The White Swan, Middleham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay in Middleham White Swan
Our first stay at The White Swan and we booked again on check out. We are quite well traveled and we rarely leave a review. The White Swan exceeded our expectations and therefore warrants a few words. If staying in this area this establishment is well worth a try and I would go so far as to say don't miss it out.

Reviewed by
stephen vickers

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable swan's nest
The accommodation met expectations and more. The view from room16 was fabulous in the morning and evening sunshine. Couldn't fault it. Very comfortable.
Then there was the food. Exceptional!

Reviewed by
Jan Leivers

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
We had a lovely couple of nights at the White Swan. The room had a good view over the village square and was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast had a good choice of items, including fresh fruit and lovely yoghurts (as well as the full english of course). It was in the perfect location for visiting the Forbidden corner, Middleham castle and Bolton castle, and we got to see the villages all around preparing excitedly for the Grand Depart. We would stay again if visiting the area.

Reviewed by
Emma B

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to stay.
Our stay was good, we thought the hotel was very reasonably priced because it was in a lovely spot in the picturesque market square with plenty of places to see, the castle, walks, charming shops and the people were very helpful. An ideal place to stay.We have no complains at all re the hotel staff, room or food. All excellent.

Reviewed by
Alan A

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Swan
Staff were excellent and friendly but the room was very basic and the bed really uncomfortable. No bedside table on one side. Where do you put you tea cup? Breakfast fine.

Reviewed by
Colin B

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dales ramble
Excellent welcome on the morning of our booking and a simple check in later, welcome after a long walk. Good food and beers, excellent breakfast, a big effort made there to make it so appealing. A new 'young' couple managing the place and doing a great job.

Reviewed by
John E

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderfully friendly hotel
Great hotel with friendly staff and lovely food

Reviewed by
J Lindsay

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed feelings
Stayed a month earlier and thought great, this time food was very poor which was a shame. Thought the meal might have been discounted because of this but alas no

Reviewed by
DAVID D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The White Swan, Middleham
With a little bit more done to it this could be a great little place to stay. Paint was coming off in the shower and bathroom and bedroom felt very dated, although a very comfortable bed and pillows made for a good nights sleep. The pub and adjoining brassiere are excellent and a very pleasant atmosphere and service was good although did have to wait an hour for food even though not overly busy. Was disappointed that failed to get a bath which had been requested when made the booking. Overall a very nice weekend, shame about the bath but would come again!

Reviewed by
M Cox

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character hotel/pub
A lovely hotel/pub set in a delightful village market place. A great Yorkshire welcome and lovely food. Food service was quite slow but we weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter, they went out of their way to get us vegetarian sausages for our breakfast which was very much appreciated.
The room was a little dusty but was well furnished with quality bed linen.
We had a room at the front so heard all the horses going out first thing in the morning, if we stay again we'll ask for a room at the back. The bonus was lovely views of Middleham Castle.

Reviewed by
M Ravenstone

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next