Reviews - Kirkwood House


172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge, CB4 1DA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (14)

57% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Room quality


  • ian paskin

  • September 2014

the kirkwood experience

well located,reasonable,pleasant walk to cambridge city centre,helpful staff,limited parking spaces but was able to do so.Room was good but very compact-only space for one to walk around double bed also en-suite very small, could be an issue for the larger customer.Clean ,tv and tea/coffee with kettle.As i got the room on a late deal,it was well priced in comparison to similar bed & breakfasts,would happliy recomend a stay here,but the size of the compact room may be an issue.

  • Hester L

  • July 2014


Very good value, friendly & helpful staff, will be staying again soon!

  • A Chilcott

  • June 2014

A Comfortable Evening

My room at Kirkwood House was impeccably clean and tidy, with an ensuite and a TV.

The upholstery in the room might be considered a bit OTT (shiny gold curtains) but the bed was very comfortable and I had the best night's sleep in a long time. Regarding service, the manager was very attentive and helpful when I asked him for a recommendation for somewhere to eat. They obviously have a working relationship with several taxi companies and will try to book you a taxi for everywhere you want to go. This can be useful as it's further away from the town centre than you would expect; however, the walk to and fro is lovely, passing through Jesus Green, so I recommend taking it by foot unless you're exhausted. In terms of value for money, I had a twin room for £61, but they offer singles from £40 upwards which seems reasonable. The only slight hiccup is that breakfast is an extra £5 on top of your bill. With some eateries in Cambridge so much cheaper, perhaps it's worth foregoing this for a fresh pastry from the market, or a fry-up in the Wetherspoons which is no more than 5 minutes' walk from the Guesthouse.

Overall, though, a lovely and useful service. Thank you Kirkwood!

  • Paul C

  • June 2014

Dirty and cramped

Staying here for a wedding I rather hoped that the relatively high price per night (75) that there would be a little space and some comforts.

My girlfriend and I couldn't walk around the bed at the same time as the room was so small, there was no hot water in the morning to have a shower, the toilet seat was broken, there were cobwebs in the corners of the bathroom with no windows and the cold water from the shower leaked onto the floor. Trying to enter and exit the room was just as painful as the door was basically broken. Not Impressed.

  • Nick J

  • May 2014

Small and functional

The twin room in the annex was long and thin, like a corridor.

The ceiling was low enough to touch with the palm of my hand and my arm still bent; I nearly accidentally broke the ceiling light fitting while getting dressed. The en-suite was incredibly tiny and smelt damp. It was hard to control the temperature of the shower - just when you've got it right it then suddenly goes cold, and then a minute later will turn scalding hot. I couldn't stand up straight to wash my hair. Having said that, the bed was comfortably enough and it was nice and quiet, and that's what really counts.

  • Anthony Shires

  • April 2014

Kirkwood house

Location was ideal as we could make our way on foot to town centre.

Rooms were quite small and shower was rather feeble . Had a good nights sleep though

  • June B

  • March 2014

On the whole the accommodation was fine, close enough to walk to town centre and bus near by if you needed one.

A couple of things wrong: shower was hung so high on the wall that there was little pressure by the time it got down to my "short" height - I couldn't reach fitting to take shower hose down, Toilet seat was loose and that was difficult, cold tap wouldn't turn off easily.

  • C Bridge

  • March 2014

One night stay

The room and location were ok.

The room was very small and old fahioned but comfortable enough. It was about a 20min walk into the heart of town, 10 of which was along a busy main road. Whilst the man running the place was very helpful the lady was quite rude and really lacked people skills.

  • Julian M

  • February 2014


the bed very uncomfortable

  • David W

  • January 2014

Quick thinking by owner saved my cellphone

I inadvertently left my cellphone on the bed when leaving the room.

Five minutes later the quick thinking owner raced after me to hand it back, saving me endless hassle. So, not only good last minute service in finding a room but a vital last minute helping hand. Room was very small but price was reasonable for Cambridge standards, where last minute bookings are difficult.