No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kirkwood House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
172 Chesterton Road , Cambridge, CB4 1DA
Kirkwood House is a delightful Victorian house. The house is both comfortable and inviting. We are a family run Guest House and offer friendly family run sevice. We have 10 beautifully decorated, all en -suite and well equipped rooms, all complete with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, luggage holders, radio alarm clock, soaps and showergels and complimentary wireless internet access. All rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. A payphone is available in reception alongside a wide selection of maps, pamphlets and general information on Cambridge. We are situated just a 10-15 minute walk from the historic City Centre, University Colleges, museums and a wide selection of shops and restaurants. We are also just a five minute walk from the beautiful River Cam.

We regret to inform our guests, that as from April 8th 2013, due to Cambridge City Councils Residents Parking Scheme, we will be unable to provide any guest parking.
Picture of Kirkwood House, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed
Very good value, friendly & helpful staff, will be staying again soon!

Reviewed by
Hester L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Comfortable Evening
My room at Kirkwood House was impeccably clean and tidy, with an ensuite and a TV. The upholstery in the room might be considered a bit OTT (shiny gold curtains) but the bed was very comfortable and I had the best night's sleep in a long time. Regarding service, the manager was very attentive and helpful when I asked him for a recommendation for somewhere to eat. They obviously have a working relationship with several taxi companies and will try to book you a taxi for everywhere you want to go. This can be useful as it's further away from the town centre than you would expect; however, the walk to and fro is lovely, passing through Jesus Green, so I recommend taking it by foot unless you're exhausted!
In terms of value for money, I had a twin room for £61, but they offer singles from £40 upwards which seems reasonable. The only slight hiccup is that breakfast is an extra £5 on top of your bill. With some eateries in Cambridge so much cheaper, perhaps it's worth foregoing this for a fresh pastry from the market, or a fry-up in the Wetherspoons which is no more than 5 minutes' walk from the Guesthouse.
Overall, though, a lovely and useful service. Thank you Kirkwood!

Reviewed by
A Chilcott

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty and cramped
Staying here for a wedding I rather hoped that the relatively high price per night (75) that there would be a little space and some comforts.
My girlfriend and I couldn't walk around the bed at the same time as the room was so small, there was no hot water in the morning to have a shower, the toilet seat was broken, there were cobwebs in the corners of the bathroom with no windows and the cold water from the shower leaked onto the floor.
Trying to enter and exit the room was just as painful as the door was basically broken.
Not Impressed.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small and functional
The twin room in the annex was long and thin, like a corridor. The ceiling was low enough to touch with the palm of my hand and my arm still bent; I nearly accidentally broke the ceiling light fitting while getting dressed. The en-suite was incredibly tiny and smelt damp. It was hard to control the temperature of the shower - just when you've got it right it then suddenly goes cold, and then a minute later will turn scalding hot. I couldn't stand up straight to wash my hair.
Having said that, the bed was comfortably enough and it was nice and quiet, and that's what really counts.

Reviewed by
Nick J

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kirkwood house
Location was ideal as we could make our way on foot to town centre. Rooms were quite small and shower was rather feeble . Had a good nights sleep though

Reviewed by
Anthony Shires

From Waterlooville, England
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole the accommodation was fine, close enough to walk to town centre and bus near by if you needed one. A couple of things wrong: shower was hung so high on the wall that there was little pressure by the time it got down to my "short" height - I couldn't reach fitting to take shower hose down, Toilet seat was loose and that was difficult, cold tap wouldn't turn off easily.

Reviewed by
June B

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The room and location were ok. The room was very small and old fahioned but comfortable enough. It was about a 20min walk into the heart of town, 10 of which was along a busy main road. Whilst the man running the place was very helpful the lady was quite rude and really lacked people skills!

Reviewed by
C Bridge

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed
the bed very uncomfortable

Reviewed by
Julian M

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick thinking by owner saved my cellphone
I inadvertently left my cellphone on the bed when leaving the room. Five minutes later the quick thinking owner raced after me to hand it back, saving me endless hassle. So, not only good last minute service in finding a room but a vital last minute helping hand! Room was very small but price was reasonable for Cambridge standards, where last minute bookings are difficult.

Reviewed by
David W

From Italy
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kirkwood House
Extremely small room with private bathroom.shops and restaurants are just walking distance.

Reviewed by
T WONG

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next