No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kirkwood House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
172 Chesterton Road , Cambridge, CB4 1DA
Kirkwood House is a delightful Victorian house. The house is both comfortable and inviting. We are a family run Guest House and offer friendly family run sevice. We have 10 beautifully decorated, all en -suite and well equipped rooms, all complete with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, luggage holders, radio alarm clock, soaps and showergels and complimentary wireless internet access. All rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. A payphone is available in reception alongside a wide selection of maps, pamphlets and general information on Cambridge. We are situated just a 10-15 minute walk from the historic City Centre, University Colleges, museums and a wide selection of shops and restaurants. We are also just a five minute walk from the beautiful River Cam.

We regret to inform our guests, that as from April 8th 2013, due to Cambridge City Councils Residents Parking Scheme, we will be unable to provide any guest parking.
Picture of Kirkwood House, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kirkwood House
Extremely small room with private bathroom.shops and restaurants are just walking distance.

Reviewed by
T WONG

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfectly adequate though basic
For what it is (a very basic guesthouse) it was a very nice place to stay. It seems a little problematic that they only have "office hours" between 9am-9pm - late travellers beware! Would be nice if there was breakfast but they're up front about the fact that none is served, so there's no terrible surprises. I had a room facing away from the main road so it was nice and quiet.

Reviewed by
Margaret Z

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean and tidy place 100% recommendable !!
Good value for the money!! Very friendly and helpful staff definitely will go back to this place next time if I'm in the area !;) thanks

Reviewed by
T Cap

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Dimcho Dimitrov

From Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good as a budget place to stay a few nights
Greeting was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and well painted (some equivalent places have very tired decor). Bathroom looked fairly new and was very clean. Sink was very small, which made shaving tough. Plenty of tea/coffee as well. On the down side, there was no remote control for the TV and coupled with the room layout (in the eaves), it was difficult to move around the room and reach the TV (easily fixed with a remote, though there was no-one at reception the couple of times I tried). And no breakfast, so you have to go to somewhere else for that. There are other hotels nearby that offer breakfast (quite good ones) for the same price.

Reviewed by
Russell P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, functional and easy to get into town centre

Reviewed by
C Corfield

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

acceptable considering the daily rate of 60 pounds
It is advertised as a double or twin room but it is too small for two persons. It seems to have two cupboards, but one of them contains a tiny shower cubicle and a toilet bowl and the other - the only place one might use to hang up one's clothes - is not usable because for some reason it is crammed almost to the top with spare duvets. We had to use the ONLY chair in the room
to put ALL our stuff on, including our outer wear. There is not even a hook on the wall or the door to hang up one's coat. And one does not know where to put one's wet towels, unless you decide to sleep on them... VERY, VERY BASIC.

Reviewed by
Nadejda B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
Very friendly and helpful. Room was a bit cramped and I banged my head on the sloping ceiling. It wasn't the lap of luxury but it served a purpose and was clean and only a five minute walk from the river.

Reviewed by
susan c

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but dated
This B&B was clean on the whole but dated and the lobby had a feel of an old people's home, drab and dark. The room itself was clean looking but the decor very old fashioned. There was a strong smell of mildew which came from the bathroom, as it had no fan. The shower wasn't powerful but there was enough hot water. Breakfast wasn't provided so on a room only basis it was quite pricey. The owner made us welcome but there was a list of rules in the bedroom which wasn't particularly friendly or nicely put. It was adequate for our needs but if you want a more modern feel don't go to Kirkwood house!

Reviewed by
j tammo

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

- very friendly owner
- tiny room
- fungus in the shower
- broken toiletseat
- you hear everything from the room next door and on the other floor

Reviewed by
Ines T

From Belgium
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next