No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Athena Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
255 Cowley Road , Oxford, OX4 1 XQ
Athena Guest House is a friendly guest house in Oxford offering accommodation in double, triple, family bedrooms all en-suite (with washbasin, toilet, bath facilities), water filter, tea & coffee welcome trays and colour TV/DVD Player.
Each room has wire (RJ45 Cable) and wireless Internet access through cable broadband (so what ever your own laptop has or not have wireless network card, it always work on internet stably).

We also provide a public PC for clients to check email and surf free fast speed internet.
Our house is one of the original red brick Victorian detached houses in the area and has a lot of charm and atmosphere.

Picture of Athena Guest House, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation but not enough room for breakfast
Twin room had a double and a single bed. Clean and basic. A bonus having hot chocolate available on the tea and coffee tray!
Generally quiet apart from a screaming baby in the early hours.
Went to breakfast to find the small room full of 14 Chinese adults and children, so unable to have breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Butterworth

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Personably decorated room, well appointed with Sky box and dvd player. The small fridge unfortunately didn't seem to be working and the tv was rather incongruously tied onto its shelf.
Good quality shower in terms of heat and pressure. Good quality toiletries and biscuits, along with plentiful tea & coffee. Comfy bed but could do with extra pillows as standard.
Breakfast filling, if not maybe as large as some people would expect from a cooked option. Nutella available for toast (and also maple syrup) which was a welcome addition.

Reviewed by
K McMurtrie

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The building is badly needing redecorating, first impressions were very poor, we almost turned tail and tried searching for an alternative guest house. the gent who booked us in was very friendly and helpful. The family bedroom and en-suite were again needing redecorating but were very clean with lots of towels, tea/coffee provisions, shampoos etc. The beds were firm, no saggy mattress here with immaculate linen. Only one thin foam pillow per person provided.
Fridge was smelly, that's the problem when it's not switched on and the door is left shut.
We had ordered and paid for full English brekky, and pointed out we had to leave shortly after 8 am. However next morning when the tiny breakfast area opened, the two young ladies told us it would take too long to cook us the breakfast we had paid for so we had to have Continental instead. Lots of food provided, but not what we paid for and no refund for the four of us offered or given. It took the girls nearly 30 minutes to cook and serve a boiled egg !!
There is a small off road parking area, but very easy to find yourself blocked in by another vehicle.
Would we stay here again ? Not for us, recommend to a friend? No. However if you are looking for a clean room with fresh clean linen and have lots of time to waste in the morning waiting for a cooked breakfast, it may be just what your looking for.

Reviewed by
John C

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than first impressions
The hotel loked awful from outside. We almost went away. Inside the hall was a bit dingy. However our room was spotless as was the bedding and towels. Extras in the room and bathroom such as a sewing kit and fridge were what you might expect in the best hotels. The breakfast room was a bit small so that people had to wait until others had finished even though they had booked a meal time. Breakfast itself was great, freshly cooked and well presented.

Reviewed by
D Seaborn

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
Affordable guest house about 10 mins taxi from Oxford train station. The owner opened early to allow us to check in at a time that suited us. Very friendly and helpful staff. Not the most pleasing on the eye from the outside, but the room was well presented and clean. I would recommend this guesthouse for anyone looking for a short stay in Oxford

Reviewed by
Alex H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked 2 rooms - one each for myself and a colleague. The only availability was 1 single and 1 twin room. When we arrived the owner appeared surprised that there were only 2 people and challenged me as to why I had booked a twin room for 1 person!
The owner grumbled a lot and handed me a set of keys and a scrap of paper with another address on it, telling me that I had to stay in another building 300m down the road. When I challenged this, saying I had booked at the Athena he told me that there were rooms available, but not ensuite. Reluctantly I agreed to stay at the second building, which appeared to consist of student accommodation.
The room was basic but passable, though poor value at £89.
The TV was of very poor picture quality -distorted and kept "freezing".
Both my colleague and I had rooms facing onto Cowley Road, which was very noisy with traffic and a degree of rowdiness from passers-by through the night.
Breakfast was quite good and served by 2 very pleasant waitresses (who brought the customer service score up to 3).

Reviewed by
David A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could Be Worse
The hotel is relatively inexpensive for Oxford and is conveniently located (though you still need to take the bus to the centre). It looks rough from the street and is a bit bedraggled inside (needs paint, new carpets and new bathrooms), but the rooms are furnished adequately and are clean enough if you don't look too closely. The staff members are friendly, but not well trained or accomplished in english; they mainly suffer from having no guidance from the absentee owners who clearly do not live onsite. The showers are falling down and stop working if the toilet in room 1 won't shut off (which is often) and the power can go out and set off the alarms (and as the owners/managers don't stay here it means you need to ring them from your mobile). If you're in a front room, the rooms are very noisy, but they are quiet in the back. All in all if everything went in your favour it wouldn't be so bad (not great but not good), however, if it doesn't go well...

Reviewed by
A Fortune

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Confortable Stay
The Athena was conveniently situated on a frequent bus route. The staff were very friendly and obliging.

Reviewed by
L Purcell

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for short stay near city centre
I stayed in room 1 downstairs at the front for a Friday night. First impression of room was the room was clean,the bed linen look new and fresh. However the net curtains looked and smelt dusty ,and the window glass was dirty.The fridge did not smell at all fresh inside.The room was showing signs of wear,chipped paint work, the toilet dual flush button was broken and it only had a short flush working.The shower tiles were missing in places where the shower had been changed.The shower was electric,it worked well ,but the hose did not fit properly.
The noise from the traffic is what you would expect from a main road city location.Treble glazing would have helped.I was woken at 5.45 am by the council road sweeper.
The breakfast was generous and good.I had continental.

Reviewed by
Pauline S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

personal review
Generally speaking the hotel was OK. The floor of my room was not very clean. Water was left in the kettle and the kettle was cleaned. Long hair was found on the chair and the bed. Other than these, it was fine. The breakfast service was good. The location is very close to many shops, restaurants and supermarkets.

Reviewed by
J Li

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next