No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Groves

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
15 St Peter's Grove , York, YO30 6AQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Bed & Breakfast & City Centre 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.


"The Groves York.......tranquillity in the city". FREE Parking included!



We are an independently owned and self-managed 4 star large guest house.

We are located in a city centre quiet leafy cul-de-sac just a 10 minute flat stroll to York's historic city centre. All rooms have been recently tastefully refurbished with new ensuite bathrooms, stylish decor, deep Airsprung beds, quality textiles, large multi-channel flat-screen TVs,refreshment tray, all and more come as standard.

The Groves is made up of three buildings that surround our courtyard carpark - most of the bedrooms as well as the lounge bar and the breakfast room are located in the main building. York House and The Cottage are located to the back of the main building.

The main building still retains some original charming late Victorian features, and as such, rooms throughout come in various shapes, sizes and tariffs to suit most pockets.

Why not try the luxurious Bootham Suite or our Four Post King Size bedroom for that special treat or business trip.

We have a very pleasant lounge bar to relax in after you have steeped yourself in the culture and history of York.

We are not suitable for large groups wanting to party late and to excess e.g.: Stag/Hen/Birthday gatherings.

The Groves is not suitable for children under 5 years.

Expect a warm Yorkshire welcome from our local staff - we have lots of information available and know the nicest places to eat in, and out of, the beautiful city of York.
Picture of The Groves, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break perfection
Friendly welcoming staff - nothing too much trouble for them. Accommodation and food was of a very high standard. Ideally located in a quiet cul de sac- walking distance to city centre.
Perfect spot for a short break.

Reviewed by
C Paterson

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation, great breakfasts, lovely staff!
We were three female friends (all Yorkshire born now living in the south), making a short stay in York to revisit our roots. We required 3 single rooms, which many places couldn't offer, so we were delighted to find availability at The Groves at a reasonable price. The rooms and ensuites were clean, comfortable and well equipped, with all facilities in working order. All staff were friendly and extremely helpful, whatever the request, nothing was too much trouble. A fantastic breakfast menu, plenty of choice - a three day stay wasn't long enough to sample everything that appealed! We all really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
G Morgan

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet Location
Family of four stayed 1 night.
Nice location & easy on site parking, only 10 mins walk from York Minster.
Rooms 26 & 30 very spacious.
Friendly staff on front desk and at breakfast, which had a good choice.
Would recommend to family & friends.

Reviewed by
john c

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic staff and accommodation, would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
k russell

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in York
We arrived on Friday July 4th and were greeted by a friendly young man who had everything ready for us. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was nice and the staff are so friendly. It reminded me of my previous home in Tennessee. The location is quite and about a 10 minute walk from the York City center. we would definately stay at The Groves again.

Reviewed by
Steve N

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfotable
we stayed here for just one night and it was well worth the stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly and my daughter in law is in a wheelchair and they went out of thier way to find her a ground floor room with easy accsess.
Breakfast was lovely all food cooked to order so served nice and hot.
Just a short walk into the centre of york

Reviewed by
d ruane

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three Bed Room
my friends and I were delighted to find a room for three adults at the Grove Hotel. They are few and far between. We were well looked after and staff very friendly. Food was good too. A genuine 10 minutes walk from the Minster and centre of York,

Reviewed by
L Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional Hotel
Stayed four nights at the Groves and we loved it. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were excellent very clean. Breakfast was really good.

Reviewed by
E Dow

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My recent stay
The hotel has a homely and relaxed feel to it.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and accomodating.
The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the Minster so is ideal for myself and my partner.
It is now my second stay at this hotel and I'm looking forward to my third!!!

Reviewed by
MARK R

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Guest House
Nice room (stayed in the Cottage)
Excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
Clive Stevenson

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next