No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Groves

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
15 St Peter's Grove , York, YO30 6AQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Bed & Breakfast & City Centre 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

We are proudly an independently owned and managed small hotel offering a superior bed and breakfast service.

Located in a quiet leafy cul-de-sac yet just an 11 minute flat stroll to York's historic city centre. All rooms have been tastefully decorated with ensuite bathrooms, stylish decor, deep Airsprung beds, quality textiles, large multi-channel flat-screen TVs, refreshment tray, all and more come as standard.

The Groves is made up of three buildings that surround our courtyard car park - most of the bedrooms as well as the lounge bar and the breakfast room are located in the main building. York House and The Cottage are located a
few metres from the main building.

The main building still retains some original charming late Victorian features, and as such, rooms throughout come in various shapes, sizes and
tariffs to suit most pockets.

Why not try the luxurious Bootham Suite or our Four Post King Size bedroom for that special treat or business trip.

We have a very pleasant lounge bar to relax in after you have steeped yourself in the culture and history of York.

We are not suitable for large groups (eg stag/hen parties) wanting to party late excessively and have special conditions for other group bookings -
please enquire.

The Groves does not accept children under 5 years.

Wi-Fi is free of charge. Full English Breakfast service, commission & 20% VAT is also included in our rates.

Parking is available on site and costs £7 per car per overnight stay.

Expect a warm Yorkshire welcome from our friendly staff - we have lots of information available and know the nicest places to eat in, and out of, the
beautiful city of York.
Picture of The Groves, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for a short break
Very cheerful and helpful staff. Receptionist gave us excellent advice re where to eat in York; breakfast staff remembered my friend's request for soya milk without being reminded on the second day.
Fabulous position in York-quiet at night but near to the centre and the station
The room was very pleasant but the shower didn't work well when others around were showering and wasn't a power shower-rather a miserable shower experience.
Our rooms weren't very sound proof both of us heard someone snoring!
But excellent value.

Reviewed by
Carla B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very polite and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean and comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Wendy H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OKish
The heating system is not great as we felt a bit cold mid-night. Obviously we're lazy enough not noticing the spare blanket/duvet in the wardrobe.
Location wise is not bad, and they're kind enough to have umbrella ready for customers which is a plus.
Extra parking is provided at 6 pounds till mid night after checkout.
Amex users, although the booking page says ok, they ask for 2% extra for using your beloved card.

Reviewed by
Z Shao

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Overnight October Stay
Stayed here not long ago. Situated in a lovely area just 5 minutes walk from the centre of York and 15 minutes from train station. Quaint and welcoming reception area. Room was pleasant, cosy and very clean, don't think photos do the place justice! Staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. Our stay included breakfast which had plenty choices and was really nice. We were able to leave our bags etc both before check in and after check out which was extremely handy as didn't want to be lugging them about while looking around. Would definitely recommend staying here, great price for a lovely stay and will be visiting again!

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Groves Weekend Break
Lovely helpful staff from the moment we got there until we left. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Our only disappointment was the size of the room which considering the price was quite small. Groves is conveniently situated within a short walk of the city centre and we wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

Reviewed by
Jimmy Green

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Groves, York
Short walk to York, good breakfast, nice staff, would have liked the option of a king size, haven't slept in a double for years, maybe just me.

Reviewed by
S George

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The groves
Convenient location for driving into York and good private parking . Staff at reception very welcoming !
Helpful in suggesting places to eat . Breakfast was very tasty and plenty of choice . Room was comfortable and en suite was clean with shower with plenty of towels and toiletries provided . We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Foster

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service for everything
From booking to settling the bill, everything was perfect ! Staff helpful and friendly, the room was brillant, thank you for the upgrade and the breakfast was very filling ! Hope to be back again, thank you for such superb service and making our stay so enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Philip G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid-week Break
The stay at The Groves was what we had hoped for, from the very warm welcome we received on arrival through to our departure. It is ideally situated on the city outskirts but close enough to stroll into and discover what the city has to offer. The breakfast was excellent, you must try the Continental it was superb. All in all it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
John D

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient & quiet location.
We stayed here for 1 night - (paid for a ' large ' double room but not really worth extra money) However it was adequate for the night, bed was very comfy & shower nice & hot. Breakfast extremely good. It was very handy for walking into York ( about a 10 min stroll ) and we were able to leave our car parked at the hotel . Would consider staying here again in the future.

Reviewed by
D Murphy

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next