No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Groves

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
15 St Peter's Grove , York, YO30 6AQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Bed & Breakfast & City Centre 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.


"The Groves York.......tranquillity in the city". FREE Parking included!



We are an independently owned and self-managed 4 star large guest house.

We are located in a city centre quiet leafy cul-de-sac just a 10 minute flat stroll to York's historic city centre. All rooms have been recently tastefully refurbished with new ensuite bathrooms, stylish decor, deep Airsprung beds, quality textiles, large multi-channel flat-screen TVs,refreshment tray, all and more come as standard.

The Groves is made up of three buildings that surround our courtyard carpark - most of the bedrooms as well as the lounge bar and the breakfast room are located in the main building. York House and The Cottage are located to the back of the main building.

The main building still retains some original charming late Victorian features, and as such, rooms throughout come in various shapes, sizes and tariffs to suit most pockets.

Why not try the luxurious Bootham Suite or our Four Post King Size bedroom for that special treat or business trip.

We have a very pleasant lounge bar to relax in after you have steeped yourself in the culture and history of York.

We are not suitable for large groups wanting to party late and to excess e.g.: Stag/Hen/Birthday gatherings.

The Groves is not suitable for children under 5 years.

Expect a warm Yorkshire welcome from our local staff - we have lots of information available and know the nicest places to eat in, and out of, the beautiful city of York.
Picture of The Groves, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 138 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Groves, York
Short walk to York, good breakfast, nice staff, would have liked the option of a king size, haven't slept in a double for years, maybe just me.

Reviewed by
S George

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The groves
Convenient location for driving into York and good private parking . Staff at reception very welcoming !
Helpful in suggesting places to eat . Breakfast was very tasty and plenty of choice . Room was comfortable and en suite was clean with shower with plenty of towels and toiletries provided . We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Foster

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service for everything
From booking to settling the bill, everything was perfect ! Staff helpful and friendly, the room was brillant, thank you for the upgrade and the breakfast was very filling ! Hope to be back again, thank you for such superb service and making our stay so enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Philip G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid-week Break
The stay at The Groves was what we had hoped for, from the very warm welcome we received on arrival through to our departure. It is ideally situated on the city outskirts but close enough to stroll into and discover what the city has to offer. The breakfast was excellent, you must try the Continental it was superb. All in all it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
John D

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient & quiet location.
We stayed here for 1 night - (paid for a ' large ' double room but not really worth extra money) However it was adequate for the night, bed was very comfy & shower nice & hot. Breakfast extremely good. It was very handy for walking into York ( about a 10 min stroll ) and we were able to leave our car parked at the hotel . Would consider staying here again in the future.

Reviewed by
D Murphy

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as last time!
Stayed here 2 years ago and was very impressed with everything - room, customer care and breakfast, so decided to come back. Second time around it was OK, but the bed wasn't very comfy, with a well-used (?memory foam) mattress. Breakfast was OK, but acceptable rather than inspiring. The hotel was busy, but nobody asked us during our entire stay if everything was OK, not even at check-out.

Reviewed by
Jane Wrigley

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short walk into town centre, Bootham rd end. Parking space, clean tidy room. We stayed in the cottage an annexe in court yard. This proved ok as weather was fine but may not be in baf weather. A varied breakfast choice snd good service. Overall a value for money night away.

Reviewed by
Gillian G

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break perfection
Friendly welcoming staff - nothing too much trouble for them. Accommodation and food was of a very high standard. Ideally located in a quiet cul de sac- walking distance to city centre.
Perfect spot for a short break.

Reviewed by
C Paterson

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation, great breakfasts, lovely staff!
We were three female friends (all Yorkshire born now living in the south), making a short stay in York to revisit our roots. We required 3 single rooms, which many places couldn't offer, so we were delighted to find availability at The Groves at a reasonable price. The rooms and ensuites were clean, comfortable and well equipped, with all facilities in working order. All staff were friendly and extremely helpful, whatever the request, nothing was too much trouble. A fantastic breakfast menu, plenty of choice - a three day stay wasn't long enough to sample everything that appealed! We all really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
G Morgan

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet Location
Family of four stayed 1 night.
Nice location & easy on site parking, only 10 mins walk from York Minster.
Rooms 26 & 30 very spacious.
Friendly staff on front desk and at breakfast, which had a good choice.
Would recommend to family & friends.

Reviewed by
john c

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next