No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Groves

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
15 St Peter's Grove , York, YO30 6AQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Bed & Breakfast & City Centre 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.


"The Groves York.......tranquillity in the city". FREE Parking included!



We are an independently owned and self-managed 4 star large guest house.

We are located in a city centre quiet leafy cul-de-sac just a 10 minute flat stroll to York's historic city centre. All rooms have been recently tastefully refurbished with new ensuite bathrooms, stylish decor, deep Airsprung beds, quality textiles, large multi-channel flat-screen TVs,refreshment tray, all and more come as standard.

The Groves is made up of three buildings that surround our courtyard carpark - most of the bedrooms as well as the lounge bar and the breakfast room are located in the main building. York House and The Cottage are located to the back of the main building.

The main building still retains some original charming late Victorian features, and as such, rooms throughout come in various shapes, sizes and tariffs to suit most pockets.

Why not try the luxurious Bootham Suite or our Four Post King Size bedroom for that special treat or business trip.

We have a very pleasant lounge bar to relax in after you have steeped yourself in the culture and history of York.

We are not suitable for large groups wanting to party late and to excess e.g.: Stag/Hen/Birthday gatherings.

The Groves is not suitable for children under 5 years.

Expect a warm Yorkshire welcome from our local staff - we have lots of information available and know the nicest places to eat in, and out of, the beautiful city of York.
Picture of The Groves, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic staff and accommodation, would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
k russell

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in York
We arrived on Friday July 4th and were greeted by a friendly young man who had everything ready for us. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was nice and the staff are so friendly. It reminded me of my previous home in Tennessee. The location is quite and about a 10 minute walk from the York City center. we would definately stay at The Groves again.

Reviewed by
Steve N

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfotable
we stayed here for just one night and it was well worth the stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly and my daughter in law is in a wheelchair and they went out of thier way to find her a ground floor room with easy accsess.
Breakfast was lovely all food cooked to order so served nice and hot.
Just a short walk into the centre of york

Reviewed by
d ruane

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three Bed Room
my friends and I were delighted to find a room for three adults at the Grove Hotel. They are few and far between. We were well looked after and staff very friendly. Food was good too. A genuine 10 minutes walk from the Minster and centre of York,

Reviewed by
L Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional Hotel
Stayed four nights at the Groves and we loved it. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were excellent very clean. Breakfast was really good.

Reviewed by
E Dow

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My recent stay
The hotel has a homely and relaxed feel to it.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and accomodating.
The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the Minster so is ideal for myself and my partner.
It is now my second stay at this hotel and I'm looking forward to my third!!!

Reviewed by
MARK R

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Guest House
Nice room (stayed in the Cottage)
Excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
Clive Stevenson

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome from hotel staff with attention given to detail. Room well designed & equipped.
Ideal small single room for my short stay with everything in the right place. Lovely quiet road within easy walking distance of the city centre. Wonderful breakfasts!

Reviewed by
Caroline G

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location and Friendly Staff
We stayed here for one night and had a lovely time. When we arrived the car parking was excellent. Interestingly we had been splatted by a local bird in the morning so the staff kindly used a hose to get rid of the muck on the windscreen (unprompted ! ). We had been upgraded to the 4 poster room which was spacious and comfortable. We strolled to the Railway Museum - just 10mins away - and the list of restaurant recommendations was extremely helpful. Breakfast was speedy and wholesome and we have no hesitation in recommending this small hotel to future travellers.

Reviewed by
Ann A

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Groves York
Having stayed in seven different hotels in York my wife, who had previously stayed at The Groves, recommended we take her parents for a two day break. Just a five minute walk into York it was ideal. Situated on a lovely road with parking gave us no problems as we arrived early and left our cases. Nice spacious rooms although we would have preferred a bath. The staff are the friendliest I have encountered in york and nothing is too much bother. Breakfast was prompt and tasty. Will definately return.

Reviewed by
gary t

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next