No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kingfisher Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
A449, Kidderminster Road Wall Heath, Kingswinford, DY6 OEN
The Kingfisher hotel is country hotel situated on the edge of the Black Country with easy access to the Midlands Motorway network and one of the largest shopping centers, The Merry Hill Centre. The hotel boasts of luxuriously appointed standard rooms, 2 coronet suites and a four poster Suite. Each of our spacious room has been carefully designed with tasteful modern furnishings and fittings, direct dial telephone, TV, radio and en-suite facilities, and are particulary suitable for the professional traveller.

We also offer at an extra cost an adult only health Club consisting of 2 gym suites, swimming pool, spa, steam room, solarium and a fully equipped beauty and treatment room to offer that extra pampering. Special fitness classes are run each week to burn off those calories and achieve the body you've always wanted. We have a traditional bar and restaurant which offers full a la carte menu, bar snacks and a house dinner menu by request. However, the restaurant is CLOSED on Friday and Sunday Evenings. Most saturday nights we offer a full cabaret show featuring top tribute artists or bands, you can tailor make your evening with either a three course choice meal or a plated supper or just enjoy the experiance and just view the show.
The Kingfisher offers a whole variety of facilities to make it "big enough to matter", but its warm friendly staff will show you that it is "small enough to care"
Picture of The Kingfisher Hotel, Kingswinford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
35% recommended this accommodation to a friend 42% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic ok if your just want somewhere cheap to stay for a night or two. The food in pub is good

Reviewed by
G Jones

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We couldn't believe this hotel has a 3* rating... We wouldn't give it a 1* it needs bull dozing, we have never stayed in such a slum, thank god we only booked for one night. It's smells of damp and mold is evident everywhere, carpets, walls, bathroom tiles, net curtains, the lampshade were filthy and the wardrobe was falling to pieces. The only positive thing we can say the man at the reception was polite. All we can say never again and be prepared for a unique experience !!!

Reviewed by
M Payne

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate - Four poster bed but no side lights
My main disappointment was the breakfast packs. Each carton contained the same contents.
As I ordered for each morning, the sponge bun with blueberries lost appeal.

Reviewed by
John Pedlingham

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget hotel, budget price.
If you only pay £27 for the night, then you get what you pay for, very basic, but acceptable. Rooms not the cleanest, TV channels not all working, but if you just need to get a nights sleep at a very reasonable price, you have found the right hotel.

Reviewed by
MICHAEL G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a wonderful time. Always do. Staff are always polite, helpful. Room was lovely could have done with a telly with more channels.

Reviewed by
E Yardley

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
Took a twin room as needed a room in the vicinity at short notice. Excellent value for money and room clean, bed comfortable and sheets and towels fresh. Telly a little tired and poor picture and no cups in the room despite being told they were being sent to the room.
Was almost a good experience except for the fact that the man on reception in the morning completely blanked us and ignored repeated attempts to engage in convivial conversation. Very rude behaviour and will not get a repeat booking from me as a consequence. Such a shame.

Reviewed by
Ian Roberts

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not Cheerful
We read the comments about this hotel before we booked but decided to take a chance.
The room was a fair size but in desperate need of decoration, holes in the wall and flaking paint. Every piece of the cheap (MDF) furniture was damaged and held together with odd screws.
The TV must have come out of the ark and had 2 channels of which only one was just watchable.
There was no Wifi and mobile signal was very weak.
The pillows where about the size and thickness of a postage stamp and when we requested additional ones they could only find one!
The bathroom had holes in the walls and the ceiling and the floor was in need of a good clean, only plus was the shower worked.
There was a general "Musty" smell every where.
The bar at the front of the building (nothing to do with the hotel) was very expensive.

Reviewed by
steve knight

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 41 the room that dare not speak its name
I arrived and the receptionist could not find my reservation, I should've taken that as a sign of things to come.
I'm not too steady on my feet at times, so I wasn't too pleased with the reception upstairs.
My Girlfriend said the corridors and the room smelt, I have no sense of smell ( what a blessing ).
The room had broken or missing handles on the drawers, 1 drawer was completely missing. The curtains were dirty, the wall above the bin was dirty, as was the carpet next to the bin. The bed headboards were not fixed to anything not the bed or the wall. There wasn't a phone ( there was a 2007 yellow pages and that was torn ) or radio in the room either. The toilet bowl was cracked, the shaving light was not working either even the toilet brush was rusty.
The sing outside stated AA 3 stars, who did the review Stevie Wonder?

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful
Shower and side light didn't work. Bed blanket had burn holes in it. Carpets and walls were dirty and marked. Someone had been smoking in the corridor. Staff didn't even have a first aid plaster for a cut on my finger. One room had door open all night with sheets stuffed aginst the door - very unattractive. Limescale on tiles appalling and black mould around basin. WC was so loud it was embarrasing to flush. Door in corridor kept slamming in use by others so couldn't sleep.

Reviewed by
Colin D

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Very aged and run down.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From worcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next