No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kingfisher Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
A449, Kidderminster Road Wall Heath, Kingswinford, DY6 OEN
The Kingfisher hotel is country hotel situated on the edge of the Black Country with easy access to the Midlands Motorway network and one of the largest shopping centers, The Merry Hill Centre. The hotel boasts of luxuriously appointed standard rooms, 2 coronet suites and a four poster Suite. Each of our spacious room has been carefully designed with tasteful modern furnishings and fittings, direct dial telephone, TV, radio and en-suite facilities, and are particulary suitable for the professional traveller.

We also offer at an extra cost an adult only health Club consisting of 2 gym suites, swimming pool, spa, steam room, solarium and a fully equipped beauty and treatment room to offer that extra pampering. Special fitness classes are run each week to burn off those calories and achieve the body you've always wanted. We have a traditional bar and restaurant which offers full a la carte menu, bar snacks and a house dinner menu by request. However, the restaurant is CLOSED on Friday and Sunday Evenings. Most saturday nights we offer a full cabaret show featuring top tribute artists or bands, you can tailor make your evening with either a three course choice meal or a plated supper or just enjoy the experiance and just view the show.
The Kingfisher offers a whole variety of facilities to make it "big enough to matter", but its warm friendly staff will show you that it is "small enough to care"
Picture of The Kingfisher Hotel, Kingswinford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 160 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
35% recommended this accommodation to a friend 42% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget in every sense.
If you just need a place to stay for a couple of nights then the Kingfisher is adequate and good value for money. A few negative points are that the beds are awful, luckily I was on my own and they put me in a room with two beds and the single one was Ok. The double was terribly uncomfortable and had a ridge in the middle between the sections of the base. The TV didn't work but they advised me of this on arriving and offered to change rooms, but I didn't need it so was happy.
All in all the rooms are bright, well decorated and the one I had even had patio doors out to a communal garden which was a nice touch. The furniture was somewhat damaged and looked like somebody had had a bit of domestic at dome point but was ok.
I was a bit worried on arriving to find the hotel was attached to a nightclub, but this did not affect the hotel at all and there was absolutely no noise in the room I was in which was surprising.
If you want a cheap budget place to stay then this is what you would be looking for - only for a couple of night though as the beds would give you a bad back.
Nice chap on the front desk (24hrs too, the desk not the chap) :-)

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate for only £20

Reviewed by
N Jones

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
K Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the pictures shown on the website are nothing like what you actually see. the restaurant was not available and the bar was only open in the evenings. was only able to watch one channel on the tv, there was no shower curtain so could not have a shower without flooding the bathroom.

Reviewed by
john hodgkinson

From wooburn green, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very simple. Very happy

Reviewed by
ray b

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice price.
the whole hotel could do with an over hall. The carpet in our room needed hoovering. The side of the bath needed repairing. the bath drain smelt to the point of making me sick. It was very quiet.

Reviewed by
terry r

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
the room was dirty and the house keeping was very poor i.e. they did not empty the bin no mike or
tea bigs never made the bed i

Reviewed by
d bonney

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Frills but fit for purpose
This is a budget hotel so don't be expecting 5 star it is a place with a clean bed and towels and a shower in the en suite, The duty manager was very helpful as I have mobility difficulties he changed room to ground floor and was helpful and pleasant at all times The room was not perfect but clean and serviceable

Reviewed by
I Kirnon

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kingfisher Kingswinford
I was recieved with a professional check-in, and was then treated like a returning friend, the staff were all very friendly. The room I had was comfortable, but could do with re-decorating and new nets on the curtains as some guests had obviously ignored the no smoking rule. Take your own hangers as there were non in the wardrobe. The shower thermostat was broken, it was either on ( scalding), or off ( freezing). Apart from those complaints, I would use them again, the wifi was reliable, the local area is pleasant with good ameneties, and the people who work there treated me well.

Reviewed by
John T

From liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dirty room . com
the staff were great .the room was disgusting the bedding was ripped .the head board was dirty .the bathroom was disgusting .I was about to leave when the receptionist offered me another room .which was really good of him but it wasn't much better .but felt I should take it as it was very late and I had a busy day in the morning traveling I would not stay there again it was appauling .

Reviewed by
stephen lord

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next