No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 128 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A walk on the dark side
Welcome was very good, friendly but when telling our check in provider that we were going into the town she recommended that we walk thru the wall garden for a easier and quicker way in. What she did not tell us that while the walled garden had lights they were not being used. It was pitch black. You couldn't see your hand in front of your face. Somewhat dangerous. While I am sure it is a lovely walk in the summer recommending using that walkway in the winter should not be done. If it is a flashlight should have been offered or at least letting guest know that it was unlit.

Reviewed by
Deborah D

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
Just WOW !!

Reviewed by
Tomasz D

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
On arrival the guy on the desk was extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast was not the best, coffee was poor.

Reviewed by
tom m

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel, all hotel staff were polite and friendly, would definitely recommend.
We would definitely stay again when travelling down that way, perfect place to relax.

Reviewed by
kelly Bent

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very satisfied with our recent stay at Tregenna. The value for money was excellent as the reservation was made through Late rooms at a discounted price. The hotel was very busy over the weekend with numerous functions but this did not detract from the personal service we experienced. Having stayed at the hotel before on 4 previous occasions but previously paying for a superior room with sea view, I would have been a little disappointed with our accommodation, this time, if I had paid the full price. The staff were all pleasant and attentive. The food choice was more restricted than before but this could have been due to the multiple functions running that weekend.

Reviewed by
S Hartley

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable family holiday away. A friendly hotel and staff couldn't do enough, great with kids. Bathroom a little tired and seemed to lack water pressure. Nice spacious room with lovely sea view. Short walk to all St Ives has to offer, but a very steep walk back with children.

Reviewed by
Kelly O

From Dinas Powys, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel in great location. Superb views of St Ives. Great food. Excellent leisure facilities.
Short stay of 3 days, 2 nights booked through late rooms. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. All staff polite and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Period features throughout all add to the ambiance. Assume negative reviews are either from competitors or people who dont know what to expect from staying in a castle! If you want modern, dont complain, go to a characterless Travelodge !!!

Reviewed by
charles latter

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty Bedding (Stained Mattress protecter ) Poor Quality Evening Meal Breakfast Good
Upon arrival, we were very impressed with the building and gardens. After going to our room and checking the bed, as I always do, to my disappointment a dirty stained mattress protecter Uh !!!
We told reception and to their credit it was changed in no time. The hotel is a bit tired and we felt things are being done on 'the cheap'... low quality tea bags in the room, not PG etc.
The breakfast was fine, very nice mushrooms, good quality eggs and bacon. However the evening meal poor. It was Sunday, so a carvery, which was charged at £16.00 per person (we booked Dinner in package) and we thought A la Carte was available but informed 'not on Sundays' It was not good!
Meat... beef. ok (only choice though). the vegetables poor... frozen cauliflower, peas mixed with pickled onions uh!. But delicious fresh baby parsnips.. The dessert poor quality, no cream or ice-cream offered, just a fancy small drizzle of sauce (playing at quality food).
On the whole cost cutting was obvious. However we were paying a premium price. The hotel is lacking class, needs updating & more attention to detail. Staff were helpful, polite & friendly,and were a good asset to this hotel.

Reviewed by
simon c

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good value for money, needs updating. Sash windows peeling and rattled, squeeky bed, rusty taps and sink plug hole

Reviewed by
T Wake

From Shepperton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big hotel - small on delivery!
Amazing position overlooking St Ives Bay - Very boring and tired hotel! Simple things like the phone wouldn't stay on the base - kept falling off! Bathroom very tired and suffered from bad makeovers! Bed not good - sleeping on saggy mattress! Book through Laterooms to get a deal, otherwise, don't bother!

Reviewed by
graham w

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next