No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE
Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as previous stays!
We love this hotel but there were a few tiny annoyances which could have been avoided. Firstly, we asked for more milk, the receptionist looked and couldn't find any so she said she would contact housekeeping which would bring it up to our room 'if' there was any. We didn't get any milk. We also waited for our toast in the morning, asked twice for it and eventually got it when we'd finished our cooked breakfast. Too late, I like mine with the hot breakfast. The croissants were not as nice as previous stays. One tiny thing- maybe charge a little less for drinks and perhaps more guests will use the bar in the evening.

Reviewed by
Louise A

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect peace and quiet break.
Genuinely friendly, helpful staff.
Lovely facilities.
Marvellous breakfast.

Reviewed by
maria h

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous, considering....
This was our second visit to Tregenna. Chris at the barrier was helpful. The desk staff were welcoming and helpful. The rom we were allocated to was much bigger than on our earlier visit. Delighted. The waiting staff were wonderful. They all seemed to work Long hours but were very friendly.
However, they neglected to tell us that the domed area with light from the desk area was outside the bedroom window and at night it was like DAYTIME. So if you need a dark room to sleep....
The whole place had an air or repairs going on. The bar was shut. The kitchen is being refurbished, which meant that a set menu of four choices was limited, especially if you were staying longer than we were.
Considering this, the food was lovely, there was sufficient of everything except fresh vegetables. I'm afraid it let the hotel down but am looking forward to my next visit. When I hope the work will be finished

Reviewed by
Esther A

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
Very comfortable room. Swimming pool area and changing rooms could do with TLC, peeling paint and grout needs replacing.

Reviewed by
ruth husbands

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mediocre
Disappointing considering the status of the venue

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A walk on the dark side
Welcome was very good, friendly but when telling our check in provider that we were going into the town she recommended that we walk thru the wall garden for a easier and quicker way in. What she did not tell us that while the walled garden had lights they were not being used. It was pitch black. You couldn't see your hand in front of your face. Somewhat dangerous. While I am sure it is a lovely walk in the summer recommending using that walkway in the winter should not be done. If it is a flashlight should have been offered or at least letting guest know that it was unlit.

Reviewed by
Deborah D

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
Just WOW !!

Reviewed by
Tomasz D

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
On arrival the guy on the desk was extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast was not the best, coffee was poor.

Reviewed by
tom m

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel, all hotel staff were polite and friendly, would definitely recommend.
We would definitely stay again when travelling down that way, perfect place to relax.

Reviewed by
kelly Bent

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very satisfied with our recent stay at Tregenna. The value for money was excellent as the reservation was made through Late rooms at a discounted price. The hotel was very busy over the weekend with numerous functions but this did not detract from the personal service we experienced. Having stayed at the hotel before on 4 previous occasions but previously paying for a superior room with sea view, I would have been a little disappointed with our accommodation, this time, if I had paid the full price. The staff were all pleasant and attentive. The food choice was more restricted than before but this could have been due to the multiple functions running that weekend.

Reviewed by
S Hartley

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next