No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE
Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit dated !
Hotel a little dated now, room small , breakfast room felt a bit like Butlins !

Reviewed by
Anita C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing food
Wonderful friendly hotel. Food is amazing.

Reviewed by
Claire T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good room and clean. Good breakfast

Reviewed by
L Gomes

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the badminton court and the walk through the gardens. It was a very pleasant few days.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
What a fabulous place this is. We had beautiful views across to St Ives and a massive room; we were really impressed with this hotel; looking forward to going back again

Reviewed by
Dawn A

From Tring, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
had a lovely stay for one night, will be returning.

Reviewed by
carol okeife

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as previous stays!
We love this hotel but there were a few tiny annoyances which could have been avoided. Firstly, we asked for more milk, the receptionist looked and couldn't find any so she said she would contact housekeeping which would bring it up to our room 'if' there was any. We didn't get any milk. We also waited for our toast in the morning, asked twice for it and eventually got it when we'd finished our cooked breakfast. Too late, I like mine with the hot breakfast. The croissants were not as nice as previous stays. One tiny thing- maybe charge a little less for drinks and perhaps more guests will use the bar in the evening.

Reviewed by
Louise A

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect peace and quiet break.
Genuinely friendly, helpful staff.
Lovely facilities.
Marvellous breakfast.

Reviewed by
maria h

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous, considering....
This was our second visit to Tregenna. Chris at the barrier was helpful. The desk staff were welcoming and helpful. The rom we were allocated to was much bigger than on our earlier visit. Delighted. The waiting staff were wonderful. They all seemed to work Long hours but were very friendly.
However, they neglected to tell us that the domed area with light from the desk area was outside the bedroom window and at night it was like DAYTIME. So if you need a dark room to sleep....
The whole place had an air or repairs going on. The bar was shut. The kitchen is being refurbished, which meant that a set menu of four choices was limited, especially if you were staying longer than we were.
Considering this, the food was lovely, there was sufficient of everything except fresh vegetables. I'm afraid it let the hotel down but am looking forward to my next visit. When I hope the work will be finished

Reviewed by
Esther A

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
Very comfortable room. Swimming pool area and changing rooms could do with TLC, peeling paint and grout needs replacing.

Reviewed by
ruth husbands

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next