No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location, Excellent facilities
Good Hotel with plenty of child friendly facilities. On arrival my children were invited to a childrens party which they enjoyed thoroughly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The surrounding areas were well kept. Plenty of entertainment facilities. My children and I enjoyed our stay so much so that the children were asking me to come back in the next holiday period.

Reviewed by
S Ali

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best UK Holiday
The accommodation and facilities are fantastic, set in beautifully kept grounds. There is plenty to do within the estate which is a godsend with unpredictable British weather. The views down to st Ives are stunning. The hotel staff are welcoming, helpful and attentive; with lots of local knowledge to help you plan your stay. Other reviews were negative about breakfast and decor. The breakfast buffet is wide ranging, good quality and constantly topped up through the morning, we couldn't fault it. The evening meals are outstanding, with a wide ranging menu, the food was excellent in portion size, presentation and taste; my compliments to the chefs. Although some areas of the castle are worn, they are clean and maintained, and a program of renovation is under way, although I hope the rooms don't loose their character as part of this. I would definitely stay here again, and we are considering spending Christmas at Tregenna.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and tired it needs to be updated.
The deal we booked was not actually the one available when we arrived but the staff were professional and helpful.

Reviewed by
Cherry H

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Location
A great stay and a well appointed hotel-certainly worth another 1/2 a star at least (its a 3 star)! Really clean and very pleasant staff. However, the clincher is the location-the views of St ives bay and harbour are stunning and the grounds as well; including a walled sub tropical garden and a full 18 hole golf course! There aren't many hotels in the UK that will have a better location, garden and views as this hotel.

Reviewed by
Robert Billington

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a fabulous 2 days away from home and thoroughly enjoyed it. So impressed we booked to come back next week with out son

Reviewed by
D Clarke

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't be misled by the high price and the frontage - this not a high-end or luxury hotel...
Tregenna Castle is an impressive building, with impressive grounds and facilities, but the guest accommodation that we stayed in was not up to the standard of either the building and facilities, or the price we paid. The room itself is not bad, per se, but is bad for the price - I would expect it to be the room of a hotel at half of the cost we paid (in fact it was of a very similar standard to the hotel we stayed at the previous night, which was actually half of the cost). The hotel bar felt more like a holiday camp bar, with a poor selection of drinks and poor atmosphere. The breakfast was poor quality - help yourself buffet-style with average ingredients (I would say a Premier Inn breakfast, which is of a similar style, is better quality). Certainly not up to the standard I would expect of a 150--200 pounds a night hotel. If you take away the facilities and the grounds - all of which are available to non-residents anyway - the things that are important to you as a guest (your room, the bar, and the breakfast) are of poor quality for the price. I think it's easy to be misled by the prices and the photographs of the impressive building, and think that this is a high-end or luxury hotel, it isn't.

Reviewed by
Thomas P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, quiet and comfy and great view
Great room and view only let down by a leaky shower. Nice and quiet. Surprising not to have wifi for a hotel of this star rating in this day in age

Reviewed by
Nicholas M

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
Lovely surroundings inside & out.
Pleasant walk to the town & beach.
Staff friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
D Winton

From Alresford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic outside appearance but very disappointing interior not shabby chic just shabby
I booked this hotel even after reading comments on Trip Advisor stating it wasn't too good but I liked the exterior so I thought I would give it a go...I now wish I hadn't.
When we arrived we were initially impressed with the exterior and the lobby, we checked in and we were directed where to find our room on the ground floor number 61. The room was small and the double bed dominated the entire room there were cracks and stains on the ceiling along with cobwebs in the corners of the room huge paint chips in the door frame and surround, the room and bathroom were very dated and basic, the window in the room looked onto the side of the building next door and nothing else ..it felt very confined.
My husband (who hates complaining)called reception to advise them we were unhappy with the room to which the receptionist said she would send someone to move us to another room to which the maintenance lad "Olly" came and apologised that there was no one else to show us to a different room as it was a Sunday he showed us to room 139.
Room 139 was over double the size of the previous room the bed was a king size there were 2 double framed windows that could be slightly opened but again the bathroom was dated and the bath had large patches of enamel removed so making it look dirty. Olly asked us to speak to Reception to confirm the room move which we did, we weren't given any apology from the receptionist about room 61 all she said was "the bath is lovely in room 61"..to which we smiled and begged to differ.
I had paid for 3 nights bed breakfast and evening meal to which the evening meals were very disappointing. The first night was a carvery which was okay but when we came to pay our drinks bill the had charged us again for the meal adding another £40 to our bill which they removed once we told them. The second night we waited for over an hour for our mains which were fish and chips and penne bolognaise which I couldn't eat as it was horrible we were offered a round of drinks as an apology for the wait, we decided that we wouldn't eat in the restaurant on our 3rd night and we went into St Ives and had an awesome meal at the Fire House which one of the young receptionist recommended us to go.
The scenery and the grounds of the hotel are lovely but it needs better organisation, modernisation and a lot of money spending on it to bring their standards up.
The other area we couldn't get over was that the hotel is situated with lots of high trees surrounding it, as such the local seagulls nest there and at this time of year (July) are raising their young and ever night / morning from 3am onwards all you can hear is their squawk which lots of guests complained about I know this isn't the hotel's fault but it guests need to be advised of this as we didn't get a full nights sleep whilst staying here.

Reviewed by
H Knott

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, stunning grounds, comfortable stay, needs refurbishment.
Great location, impressive building and well kept grounds. Interior is need of updating throughout the hotel whilst keeping the original charm (i.e. New carpets, brighter paint, new sofas) however there were signs of refurbishment during our stay which did not interfere with guests. Room was clean & comfortable with all the facilities you would expect and was surprisingly quiet. Unsure if would recommend as whilst we appreciate that a building that old requires a certain theme inside & is likely to have some updating required, not sure reading some of the other reviews that this outlook is appreciated by all so if you are expecting decor to be perfect, this is not for you. We feel the rooms are over priced currently but once whole hotel has been refurbished, the price we paid would be about right. There was plenty of parking which was excellent; however do not expect WIFI here as there wasn't any.

Reviewed by
Cheryl W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next