No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
We have stayed here before. Things have improved. The room was large and airy. The bed comfortable. The shower eventually worked rather weakly after an initial problem fixed by maintainance. Everything is a little old fashioned and tired. Car parking at the rear of the hotel is inconvenient. Breakfast was an improvement over what it once was. Basically the whole place needs modernising. However the staff are fine. We would stay there again if the need arose.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely for this time of year
Great place to stay

Reviewed by
Derek W

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall this is a great place to stay, our room was good and bathroom was spotless and we were impressed, only thing was build up of dust along the bed ontop of the headboard which wasn't too pleasant.
Lovely breakfast really good quality food, staff friendly and helpful.
The only thing I would say is i think it should be made clear on the website that there is a huge hill that you have to climb to and from the beach/ town. It's a nice walk going down through the woods but when you are coming up it is extremely hard work, we just about managed it and we are in our twenties so just something to be warned about for more elderly or disabled guests or if you have young children with pushchairs as we didn't see there was any way around this steep hill !

Reviewed by
Lucy R

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great
friendy staff. good location

Reviewed by
janet jones

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine old former British Transport Hotel in spectacular situation, splendid grounds. Up-market in an already expensive resort, but a reasonable bargain at the Late Rooms price.

Reviewed by
Richard S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
very nice place ,very pleasant staff. would use again

Reviewed by
oliver s

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised, perfectly placed, gorgeous views with a sprinkle of spectacular
Very inviting as you drive up towards the castle. Comfortable room. Staff very friendly and knowledgable.

Reviewed by
D Hanley

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Anniversary stay
Classic Cornish hotel in a great location!

Reviewed by
a good

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Soon arrival very impress with the building and surrounding gardens. Unfortunatelythe standard room we were given looked out to a blank wall making the room dark and clustraphbic . Unfortunately reception were unable to offer an alternative room. Also when in the room you could hear bodily functions coming from the surrounding rooms. Breakfast food was fabulous unfortunately the staff were not very attentive making protocol for breakfast a case of figure it out for yourself. Holiday over all was fabulous not sure if I would recommend Tregenna a place to stay, maybe we were just unfortunate with the room we were given.

Reviewed by
I Palmer

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Lots of facilities - pool, sauna, tennis courts, play area etc. Lovely gardens, views and setting, easy to walk to the town centre via a wander through the gardens. Maybe a little tired in places but considering the value nothing to complain about. Great breakfast! Please don't put up the price so we can visit again.

Reviewed by
Zoe B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next