No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 122 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, stunning grounds, comfortable stay, needs refurbishment.
Great location, impressive building and well kept grounds. Interior is need of updating throughout the hotel whilst keeping the original charm (i.e. New carpets, brighter paint, new sofas) however there were signs of refurbishment during our stay which did not interfere with guests. Room was clean & comfortable with all the facilities you would expect and was surprisingly quiet. Unsure if would recommend as whilst we appreciate that a building that old requires a certain theme inside & is likely to have some updating required, not sure reading some of the other reviews that this outlook is appreciated by all so if you are expecting decor to be perfect, this is not for you. We feel the rooms are over priced currently but once whole hotel has been refurbished, the price we paid would be about right. There was plenty of parking which was excellent; however do not expect WIFI here as there wasn't any.

Reviewed by
Cheryl W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dinner
The dining experience was spoiled by the completely disastrous presentation of the food to the extent that I did not eat in the restaurant.They load the food on large soup bowls and pretend that they are plates.this means the food looks a total mess and puts one off.
To the restaurant manager's credit he was concerned and when I went into the bar and ordered a steak sandwich, he personally took control .The result was that the presentation was totally different and the sandwich was excellent

Reviewed by
douglas m

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful accommodation
Very friendly staff, lovely room with sea view and great food

Reviewed by
K Read

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay at Tregenna Castle Hotel
My wife and I booked through Late Rooms.com and were amazed to find a room in hotel like Tregenna available. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful particularly when we switched room from Room 101 due to the noise from the external air conditioning unit. The food in the restaurant was also very good.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location

Reviewed by
paul t

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best stay holiday for ages
my holiday was great best ive had in ages cant wait to go again next year.

Reviewed by
k richardson

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
The staff were all friendly and efficient, the room spacious and comfortable and the breakfast very tasty. Would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Pat T

From Fowey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic setting
We booked this hotel late & got a good deal. It looked very impressive as we came up the drive, great for photos. I'd asked for a sea view if possible when I booked & wasn't disappointed, the view was fabulous! Room was clean, but plumbing very noisy whenever someone flushed the toilet! Indoor pool was small and shallow, sauna & steam room good. Outdoor pool looked inviting, but we didn't have time to use it. Staff were friendly & accommodating, a few dirty cups were left lying around upstairs in public areas for some time & should have been cleared away. Lovely walk through the grounds down to the town of St Ives in the evening & we were treated to a firework display at the hotel on our return, as there was a wedding there that day! We didn't eat dinner at the hotel; breakfast was fine, although the bowls of fruit were disappointing, tinned rather than fresh. Overall a lovely hotel & we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sue H

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was good and had a great view of St Ives harbour. The grounds are amazing the only let down was the breakfast which was very average when compared to other similar large hotels.

Reviewed by
c platt

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not What Was Expected
The room was not as expected; shoddy Bathroom ie broken tiles ; aged decor throughout the room.
Very noisy; doors in adjacent rooms slamming shut, floorboards creaking all night from landing and rooms adjacent and above; very uncomfortable bed. All in all not condusive to a restful break.

Reviewed by
michael Harvey

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next