Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate


Treloyan Avenue, St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Price From 253.14 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (96)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Susan N

  • January 2014

Tregenna Castle Estate

Good value for time of year a little dated.

  • Steven S

  • January 2014

Very Disapointed

After booking this hotel for my wife and whilst away on business it appeared to be a fantastic deal, I read through the reviews, but I always try to remain neutral and unless it is listed as very bad I would give the benefit I the doubt.

I wish I had taken the reviews seriously for a change. The hotel reception was lovely I thought brilliant we've cracked it, then we spoke to the receptionist who continues her conversation with her colleague for at least 5 mins knowing we were stood there. Ok great start we received the room key and on the way to the room we walked down the corridor and the smell of old dirty carpets hit us. It got progressively worse them we reached our room, I can only describe it as smelling like an old people home. When we arrived at the room itself it appeared clean until you tried to get a shower then the smell from the drains hit not to mention the translucent blinds, which we all know offer a great silhouette when back lit, my wife opted for the bath with the light off, did I mention when you looked out the window you looked directly into the room across the courtyard. Needless to say we cancelled the second night.

  • J Bailey

  • December 2013

Great value at Lateroom rate, beautiful hotel and grounds

Stunning location and beautiful building.

Could walk into town if weather OK. Rooms as seen in photo's, very clean, beds comfy. Only downside for the 4 of us was poor service in restaurant. No one was clearing dirty plates off table and, although there were some staff fussing around other tables, we weren't approached by staff at all, so had no toast for breakfast, waited ages for tea/coffee after getting up to ask for it etc. It's unacceptable to sit with dirty plates on table for entire meal. Staff only clearing tables after diners left restaurant. Also, were offered dinner at £17 each on check in but we weren't that hungry. Weren't told that bar snacks and light meals available in bar lounge area, until we'd mentioned to 3 staff that we were hungry but didn't want full dinner. No entertainment in hotel, which may suit some, but it was extremely quiet in the evening. Went to bed at 9pm!

  • H Holman

  • November 2013

Short break.

Has always the grounds stunning, the water falls in full flow, road surface to car park might be a bit better.Reception exellent, room not the best, have previously been spoiled by stays in the enormously big sea viewing rooms, tight on storedge space [wardrobe small corner] very little draw space, 5 foot bed not Queen or King.,the bathroom first class The room was o.k.

Had a loverley cream tea, and a great evening meal, All the serving girls are a delight, as are the breakfast staff. The public rooms are really the best, i used the really well equipt gym, which is a bonus.All in all a good break Intend to be back next year.


  • November 2013

Great views of St Ives, very good location and set in huge grounds.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was good but bathroom very cold as at front of the hotel and very windy/stormy weather.

  • Phil Y

  • November 2013

A bit tired

I’ve stayed in this superbly set hotel a number of times and whilst the public rooms are generally good, I have found that the standard of the bedrooms is beginning to suffer from lack of care and the need to upgrade.

In particular, the light to the bathroom did not work properly and the bathroom is now old fashioned and with a bath that has chips out of the enamel.

  • A Barnsley

  • November 2013

Good base to visit St Ives

Tregenna is a no nonsense, no frills hotel with a stunning location and good fun leisure facilities.

Great spot for visiting St Ives but also a large hotel to hang out in, perfect for families.

  • Jill walshe

  • November 2013

The bar staff were rude,it was my birthday and they were so rude we had to go out to dinner.

also i think we have been well over charged for drinks as we told the staff how badly behaved they were. I need a copy of all my signed recipts sent to me so that i can check them

  • paula martin

  • November 2013

Lovely hotel

I like this hotel and the staff are generally very friendly.

However, last time I stayed I had a fabulous room with a lovely view. I was working in the area so booked to stay here again for this reason. Sadly this time I had a room with a view of a brick wall, I was disappointed and found the room very claustrophobic, it would make me think twice about staying here again, I did ask for a room without a view of a brick wall but was told it would cost £20 for just the one night, I was working locally until 8pm so it wasn't really worth it. On a positive note the food and service in the restaurant is excellent, and the staff are really good, and attentive without being over the top, the breakfast is also very nice. The views from this hotel are magnificent and it is a very lovely building. The gym is great, but they are lacking a Power Plate. Finally the staff on the gate are also very good.

  • brian d

  • November 2013

A room that should not have been sold

The room was very small, and the window faced another wall.

The radiator was boiling in the bathroom. It couldn't be turned off and as the room was so small it made the room unbearably uncomfortable. The window could not be opened, so no air could be allowed in. The window was wedged tight by a couple of tissues, presumably because it had also previously rattled. The shower shield did not work and the bathroom floor was soaked after a shower. The door lock was broken. The room was basically spartan, in the style of a seaside B&B 30 years ago. A well managed hotel would never have made this room available - a top class hotel would only allow guests to stay in rooms which show the hotel at its best. The hall way outside was also very faded, as well as being noisy when people walked/ran up and down the wooden ramp outside my door. Having not slept, I eventually left the hotel at 5:30am to walk 4 miles to the railway station (no taxis or hotel car) and got the first train home. PS The bar staff early evening were very pleasant, as were the two night porters.