Tregenna Castle Estate

3

Treloyan Avenue, St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (115)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • BEVERLEY C

  • November 2013

Great views of St Ives, very good location and set in huge grounds.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was good but bathroom very cold as at front of the hotel and very windy/stormy weather.

  • Phil Y

  • November 2013

A bit tired

I’ve stayed in this superbly set hotel a number of times and whilst the public rooms are generally good, I have found that the standard of the bedrooms is beginning to suffer from lack of care and the need to upgrade.

In particular, the light to the bathroom did not work properly and the bathroom is now old fashioned and with a bath that has chips out of the enamel.

  • A Barnsley

  • November 2013

Good base to visit St Ives

Tregenna is a no nonsense, no frills hotel with a stunning location and good fun leisure facilities.

Great spot for visiting St Ives but also a large hotel to hang out in, perfect for families.

  • Jill walshe

  • November 2013

The bar staff were rude,it was my birthday and they were so rude we had to go out to dinner.

also i think we have been well over charged for drinks as we told the staff how badly behaved they were. I need a copy of all my signed recipts sent to me so that i can check them

  • paula martin

  • November 2013

Lovely hotel

I like this hotel and the staff are generally very friendly.

However, last time I stayed I had a fabulous room with a lovely view. I was working in the area so booked to stay here again for this reason. Sadly this time I had a room with a view of a brick wall, I was disappointed and found the room very claustrophobic, it would make me think twice about staying here again, I did ask for a room without a view of a brick wall but was told it would cost £20 for just the one night, I was working locally until 8pm so it wasn't really worth it. On a positive note the food and service in the restaurant is excellent, and the staff are really good, and attentive without being over the top, the breakfast is also very nice. The views from this hotel are magnificent and it is a very lovely building. The gym is great, but they are lacking a Power Plate. Finally the staff on the gate are also very good.

  • brian d

  • November 2013

A room that should not have been sold

The room was very small, and the window faced another wall.

The radiator was boiling in the bathroom. It couldn't be turned off and as the room was so small it made the room unbearably uncomfortable. The window could not be opened, so no air could be allowed in. The window was wedged tight by a couple of tissues, presumably because it had also previously rattled. The shower shield did not work and the bathroom floor was soaked after a shower. The door lock was broken. The room was basically spartan, in the style of a seaside B&B 30 years ago. A well managed hotel would never have made this room available - a top class hotel would only allow guests to stay in rooms which show the hotel at its best. The hall way outside was also very faded, as well as being noisy when people walked/ran up and down the wooden ramp outside my door. Having not slept, I eventually left the hotel at 5:30am to walk 4 miles to the railway station (no taxis or hotel car) and got the first train home. PS The bar staff early evening were very pleasant, as were the two night porters.

  • J Taylor

  • October 2013

I always rate places where credit is due and i found our stay 100%.

Lovely place to stay been trying to book this place for the last few yrs and every time ive tried its always been fully booked, worth the long wait, the only problem we found was the mattress was just a bit to hard for mine and my husbands backs, could of done with a softer one.

  • J Robertson

  • October 2013

Just passing through

Very helpful staff.

I changed my booking twice and the staff didn't flinch. All you can eat quality breakfasts sustain you throughout the day. Excellent value for money.

  • Andrew Walkey

  • October 2013

Tregenna short break review

All the staff took pride in their work and seemed genuine in their concern that we were happy with everything.

How could you not be- fab room, service and food in a lovely location

  • M L

  • October 2013

October at the Tregenna Castle Hotel...

We had a 3 day stay as part of a Train/Hotel package booked through 'Trainline'.

The reception staff were attentive and friendly and the room was fine, although somewhat dated in its décor and the en-suite bathroom was very tired. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was buffet style and had a good range from which to choose. It was regularly attended (tidied and restocked) by the dining room who were also friendly and attentive. The only down side, which is not really of the Hotel's making, was the journey to and from St Ives Town Centre, was hard work, up and down Tregenna Hill and would definitely recommend a short Taxi trip, on the return trip at least, if you are going car-less like we were.