No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value at Lateroom rate, beautiful hotel and grounds
Stunning location and beautiful building. Could walk into town if weather OK. Rooms as seen in photo's, very clean, beds comfy. Only downside for the 4 of us was poor service in restaurant. No one was clearing dirty plates off table and, although there were some staff fussing around other tables, we weren't approached by staff at all, so had no toast for breakfast, waited ages for tea/coffee after getting up to ask for it etc. It's unacceptable to sit with dirty plates on table for entire meal. Staff only clearing tables after diners left restaurant.
Also, were offered dinner at £17 each on check in but we weren't that hungry. Weren't told that bar snacks and light meals available in bar lounge area, until we'd mentioned to 3 staff that we were hungry but didn't want full dinner.
No entertainment in hotel, which may suit some, but it was extremely quiet in the evening. Went to bed at 9pm!

Reviewed by
J Bailey

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit tired
I’ve stayed in this superbly set hotel a number of times and whilst the public rooms are generally good, I have found that the standard of the bedrooms is beginning to suffer from lack of care and the need to upgrade. In particular, the light to the bathroom did not work properly and the bathroom is now old fashioned and with a bath that has chips out of the enamel.

Reviewed by
Phil Y

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break.
Has always the grounds stunning, the water falls in full flow, road surface to car park might be a bit better.Reception exellent, room not the best, have previously been spoiled by stays in the enormously big sea viewing rooms, tight on storedge space [wardrobe small corner] very little draw space, 5 foot bed not Queen or King.,the bathroom first class The room was o.k. Had a loverley cream tea, and a great evening meal, All the serving girls are a delight, as are the breakfast staff. The public rooms are really the best, i used the really well equipt gym, which is a bonus.All in all a good break Intend to be back next year.

Reviewed by
H Holman

From Fowey, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views of St Ives, very good location and set in huge grounds.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was good but bathroom very cold as at front of the hotel and very windy/stormy weather.

Reviewed by
BEVERLEY C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base to visit St Ives
Tregenna is a no nonsense, no frills hotel with a stunning location and good fun leisure facilities. Great spot for visiting St Ives but also a large hotel to hang out in, perfect for families.

Reviewed by
A Barnsley

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bar staff were rude,it was my birthday and they were so rude we had to go out to dinner. also i think we have been well over charged for drinks as we told the staff how badly behaved they were. I need a copy of all my signed recipts sent to me so that i can check them

Reviewed by
Jill walshe

From Abbots Langley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
I like this hotel and the staff are generally very friendly. However, last time I stayed I had a fabulous room with a lovely view. I was working in the area so booked to stay here again for this reason. Sadly this time I had a room with a view of a brick wall, I was disappointed and found the room very claustrophobic, it would make me think twice about staying here again, I did ask for a room without a view of a brick wall but was told it would cost £20 for just the one night, I was working locally until 8pm so it wasn't really worth it. On a positive note the food and service in the restaurant is excellent, and the staff are really good, and attentive without being over the top, the breakfast is also very nice. The views from this hotel are magnificent and it is a very lovely building. The gym is great, but they are lacking a Power Plate. Finally the staff on the gate are also very good.

Reviewed by
paula martin

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room that should not have been sold
The room was very small, and the window faced another wall. The radiator was boiling in the bathroom. It couldn't be turned off and as the room was so small it made the room unbearably uncomfortable. The window could not be opened, so no air could be allowed in. The window was wedged tight by a couple of tissues, presumably because it had also previously rattled. The shower shield did not work and the bathroom floor was soaked after a shower. The door lock was broken. The room was basically spartan, in the style of a seaside B&B 30 years ago. A well managed hotel would never have made this room available - a top class hotel would only allow guests to stay in rooms which show the hotel at its best. The hall way outside was also very faded, as well as being noisy when people walked/ran up and down the wooden ramp outside my door. Having not slept, I eventually left the hotel at 5:30am to walk 4 miles to the railway station (no taxis or hotel car) and got the first train home. PS The bar staff early evening were very pleasant, as were the two night porters.

Reviewed by
brian d

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I always rate places where credit is due and i found our stay 100%.
Lovely place to stay been trying to book this place for the last few yrs and every time ive tried its always been fully booked, worth the long wait, the only problem we found was the mattress was just a bit to hard for mine and my husbands backs, could of done with a softer one.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just passing through
Very helpful staff. I changed my booking twice and the staff didn't flinch. All you can eat quality breakfasts sustain you throughout the day. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
J Robertson

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next