No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 121 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay
Fabulous effort by all the Tregenna Staff. Great Venue. Cant wait to return.

Reviewed by
John Finnerty

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comments
Very friendly staff and very good accommodation

Reviewed by
Colin S

From Colchester, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect birthday break
We already live in Cornwall - about an hour and a half from St. Ives. We wanted a nice hotel for just a one night stay so we could enjoy St. Ives over the 2 days. Tregenna Castle fit this bill perfectly. Our room didn't have all the bells and whistles but we didn't want that and so what we paid was perfect for this occasion. We enjoyed a nice drink on the terrace before we went out and then a nightcap in the hotel when we got back. The only slight negative was that I wanted to have a beauty treatment on the Sunday afternoon when we arrived. I rang the Beauty Suite and left a message but no-one got back to me so I missed out a little bit of pampering but that wasn't a serious issue. The breakfast on our day of departure was delicious. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, especially Lisa on reception. We hadn't appreciated the hotel and the grounds were so large. As well as the hotel itself there are a number of self-catering options which looked fabulous. This gave us food for thought for when our extended family are visiting. The location is good. We walked into town a couple of times via the path through the hotel grounds but on the Sunday evening after Dinner we ordered a taxi. We didn't fancy the walk up the hill! Overall, a hugely positive experience.

Reviewed by
D Lockwood

From Torpoint, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elegant but dated
Quality hotel, kept clean and tidy. Needs a bit of updating.

Reviewed by
Roberta Johnston

From Ballymena, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location but standard of room disappointing. Cold shower, no fridge, tired decor. Would not pay full price for this room

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, shame about the room
A great hotel in fantastic grounds. The first challenge for the first time visitor is to find a gate that will let you in. Don't be fooled by the large sign on the main road by the driveway up to the large gates. They are padlocked and provide absolutely no indication of where the real entrance may be found leaving you to reverse back on to the main road at a blind bend. There a number of such gates that won't let you in or tell you how you can get in. Once you do locate the way in, the magic and charm begins. For me, however, it abruptly ended when I saw the room we were given. Having booked months in advance and at full price, our room was not only not much bigger than the bed (which itself was somewhat on the small side) but offered a fine view of nothing more than a brick wall with other windows, service ducts and drains. A real disappointment and not worth the price. Another drawback is the lack of wi-fi access in the room. If I were to stay again, I would want either a room with a view or a much reduced price. I would still recommend the place on account of its fantastic setting and grounds but would add a large caveat that you could be put in a poky charmless room that could be in any old dump.

Reviewed by
J Clarke

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Self catering apartment very clean with good facilities.

Reviewed by
Steve L

From Kingswinford, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience, definite recommendation!
The castle and whole estate itself was amazing and the views - wow! Initially greeted by security at the main gate, very polite and nice chap. Upon checking in the lady behind reception (Lisa I believe) was hilarious! Very professional but with a great personable manner which gave us a very warm welcome.
Breakfast was very good also. Only criticism would have to be the noise of other guests walking up and down the hallway - think there was a wedding on and obviously celebrated in style.
But on the whole, the experience and visit was superb and will 100% be staying in Tregenna again

Reviewed by
Russell G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Amazing
We traveled as a couple to visit family having stayed with them a few nights we decided to treat ourselves to a night in Tregenna castle foreseeing a night of luxury, this is exactly what we got, the castle grounds are amazing with attention to detail and the views are extraordinary. We ate in the Brasserie and was very impressed, the standard of the food and service was in my opinion 5 star and the price was very reasonable, the hotel staff were all friendly and helpful and the room was spacious with all the facilities you would need (including a fan which due to the hot weather was highly appreciated) We will most definately stay again next time.

Reviewed by
Kelle A

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely venue, lovely town. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The rooms were very large and spacious; clean and comfortable. The sea view was spectacular. However, the rooms were in need of renovation. Other areas of the hotel had been renovated, so perhaps they are working their way throughout.

Reviewed by
Angela D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next