No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Treloyan Avenue , St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Within 72 acres of private grounds, the 80 bedroom Tregenna Castle Hotel - with its choice of restaurants and bars, indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, hair and beauty salons and a challenging par 3 - 18 hole links golf course with the most fantastic panoramic views over St. Ives and the Cornish Coastline - is just the beginning of the story.

70 luxury cottages and apartments - from converted barns, stables, dairy and farm buildings - and 8 magnificent pole lodges are
available all year round for both short and long letting. Many enjoy sea views and sub tropical private gardens.

Both our outdoor (May - Sept) and indoor pools (available all year) are heated and have separate children’s swimming areas. The outdoor pool has beautiful views over St Ives bay while the indoor pool benefits from climate and humidity control, floodlighting and seating with poolside canopies. Other activities on offer include a fully equipped gym with qualified staff, tennis, squash, badminton, table tennis, croquet and putting. If that’s all a bit too energetic ... relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room ... or pamper yourself in our hair and beauty salon.

Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge. Parking is plentiful and is free of charge.
Picture of Tregenna Castle Estate, St. Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Great hotel set in a lovely location with spectacular views, we had a great weekend break and will definitely return again.

Reviewed by
Gary M

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel fine for the price paid. Looks better on the outside than in.
Interior a little dated and in need of modernisation.
Lacks style and character - think of sliced bread from
the supermarket. Great for the young family.

Reviewed by
Anthony Sheppard

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

March 2014 at Tregenna Castle
Very good as always but quilts too warm. This was raised in hotel questionaire

Reviewed by
Jane S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well run hotel all in good order. Restaurant service was excellent. The siting of this hotel is probably the best you could find in St Ives. A great place to stay.

Reviewed by
G Staplehurst

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tregenna Castle Estate
Good value for time of year a little dated.

Reviewed by
Susan N

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Excellent value for money, wish we had booked for longer stay.
Will be back!

Reviewed by
tim C

From chilton polden, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Disapointed
After booking this hotel for my wife and whilst away on business it appeared to be a fantastic deal, I read through the reviews, but I always try to remain neutral and unless it is listed as very bad I would give the benefit I the doubt. I wish I had taken the reviews seriously for a change. The hotel reception was lovely I thought brilliant we've cracked it, then we spoke to the receptionist who continues her conversation with her colleague for at least 5 mins knowing we were stood there! Ok great start we received the room key and on the way to the room we walked down the corridor and the smell of old dirty carpets hit us! It got progressively worse them we reached our room, I can only describe it as smelling like an old people home. When we arrived at the room itself it appeared clean until you tried to get a shower then the smell from the drains hit not to mention the translucent blinds, which we all know offer a great silhouette when back lit, my wife opted for the bath with the light off, did I mention when you looked out the window you looked directly into the room across the courtyard! Needless to say we cancelled the second night.

Reviewed by
Steven S

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value at Lateroom rate, beautiful hotel and grounds
Stunning location and beautiful building. Could walk into town if weather OK. Rooms as seen in photo's, very clean, beds comfy. Only downside for the 4 of us was poor service in restaurant. No one was clearing dirty plates off table and, although there were some staff fussing around other tables, we weren't approached by staff at all, so had no toast for breakfast, waited ages for tea/coffee after getting up to ask for it etc. It's unacceptable to sit with dirty plates on table for entire meal. Staff only clearing tables after diners left restaurant.
Also, were offered dinner at £17 each on check in but we weren't that hungry. Weren't told that bar snacks and light meals available in bar lounge area, until we'd mentioned to 3 staff that we were hungry but didn't want full dinner.
No entertainment in hotel, which may suit some, but it was extremely quiet in the evening. Went to bed at 9pm!

Reviewed by
J Bailey

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit tired
I’ve stayed in this superbly set hotel a number of times and whilst the public rooms are generally good, I have found that the standard of the bedrooms is beginning to suffer from lack of care and the need to upgrade. In particular, the light to the bathroom did not work properly and the bathroom is now old fashioned and with a bath that has chips out of the enamel.

Reviewed by
Phil Y

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break.
Has always the grounds stunning, the water falls in full flow, road surface to car park might be a bit better.Reception exellent, room not the best, have previously been spoiled by stays in the enormously big sea viewing rooms, tight on storedge space [wardrobe small corner] very little draw space, 5 foot bed not Queen or King.,the bathroom first class The room was o.k. Had a loverley cream tea, and a great evening meal, All the serving girls are a delight, as are the breakfast staff. The public rooms are really the best, i used the really well equipt gym, which is a bonus.All in all a good break Intend to be back next year.

Reviewed by
H Holman

From Fowey, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next