Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate


Treloyan Avenue, St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Price From 146.23 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (87)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • k midcalf

  • September 2014

Quality Hotel but not all rooms!

The hotel itself and grounds are superb, Grand entrance lobby and breakfast/dining rooms lovely, We only had 2 nights here, 1st room No 59 was a good size double room with en-suite bathroom looked like it had been refurbished recently, unfortunately we got one of rooms looking onto a brick wall and found we had no hot water in bathroom in fact there was dirty brown water running from hot taps, reception told us they had problems with boiler and plumber on site, promised hot water would be back on at 1830 Next morn awake at 0700 and still no hot water they offered us another room which we accepted but because hotel fully booked had to wait till after 1400 to move, After breakfast and a walk around st ives we returned full of expectations of a nice room with running hot water, But we were given room No 111 yes hot water But sadly bedroom window walls had damp patches on paintwork and room was smaller and view from window-pipework, But far worse was bathroom which was internal with no window very old bathroom suite-enamel bath had chips in it-Basin had odd taps fitted.

Toilet pan had a crack running from its base to the rim-how it wasn't leaking we don't know, I had a work with reception but was told as we booked on the net at a discounted room rate they couldn't help unless we paid extra for a room upgrade, Be Warned as the saying goes you get what you pay for, ps as it was our last night we put up with room-even with smaller size tv-on the + side beds were comfy and all you can eat breakfast was very very good, we had no WiFi in both bedrooms reception said they were having problems with it . We can't speak for the spa and pools as we didn't have time to use.

  • h bromley

  • September 2014

Love St Ives

Love the grounds and facilities of this hotel, it is so easy to walk into St Ives, but the hotel room we had was poor, very small double room, window 's wouldn't open and it was so warm plus no ventilation in the bathroom very disappointing

  • F Razak

  • September 2014

Fantastic views of St.Ives coast

Special offer of £90 with breakfast..

good value for money with all facilities thrown in and fantastic views of surrounding countryside and estate well maintained. Enjoyed two nights at this location.

  • Helen M

  • August 2014

Best UK Holiday

The accommodation and facilities are fantastic, set in beautifully kept grounds.

There is plenty to do within the estate which is a godsend with unpredictable British weather. The views down to st Ives are stunning. The hotel staff are welcoming, helpful and attentive; with lots of local knowledge to help you plan your stay. Other reviews were negative about breakfast and decor. The breakfast buffet is wide ranging, good quality and constantly topped up through the morning, we couldn't fault it. The evening meals are outstanding, with a wide ranging menu, the food was excellent in portion size, presentation and taste; my compliments to the chefs. Although some areas of the castle are worn, they are clean and maintained, and a program of renovation is under way, although I hope the rooms don't loose their character as part of this. I would definitely stay here again, and we are considering spending Christmas at Tregenna.

  • S Ali

  • August 2014

Great Location, Excellent facilities

Good Hotel with plenty of child friendly facilities.

On arrival my children were invited to a childrens party which they enjoyed thoroughly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The surrounding areas were well kept. Plenty of entertainment facilities. My children and I enjoyed our stay so much so that the children were asking me to come back in the next holiday period.

  • Cherry H

  • August 2014

Old and tired it needs to be updated.

The deal we booked was not actually the one available when we arrived but the staff were professional and helpful.

  • Robert Billington

  • August 2014

Stunning Location

A great stay and a well appointed hotel-certainly worth another 1/2 a star at least (its a 3 star).

Really clean and very pleasant staff. However, the clincher is the location-the views of St ives bay and harbour are stunning and the grounds as well; including a walled sub tropical garden and a full 18 hole golf course. There aren't many hotels in the UK that will have a better location, garden and views as this hotel.

  • D Clarke

  • August 2014

Had a fabulous 2 days away from home and thoroughly enjoyed it.

So impressed we booked to come back next week with out son

  • Thomas P

  • August 2014

Don't be misled by the high price and the frontage - this not a high-end or luxury hotel...

Tregenna Castle is an impressive building, with impressive grounds and facilities, but the guest accommodation that we stayed in was not up to the standard of either the building and facilities, or the price we paid.

The room itself is not bad, per se, but is bad for the price - I would expect it to be the room of a hotel at half of the cost we paid (in fact it was of a very similar standard to the hotel we stayed at the previous night, which was actually half of the cost). The hotel bar felt more like a holiday camp bar, with a poor selection of drinks and poor atmosphere. The breakfast was poor quality - help yourself buffet-style with average ingredients (I would say a Premier Inn breakfast, which is of a similar style, is better quality). Certainly not up to the standard I would expect of a 150--200 pounds a night hotel. If you take away the facilities and the grounds - all of which are available to non-residents anyway - the things that are important to you as a guest (your room, the bar, and the breakfast) are of poor quality for the price. I think it's easy to be misled by the prices and the photographs of the impressive building, and think that this is a high-end or luxury hotel, it isn't.

  • Nicholas M

  • August 2014

Great room, quiet and comfy and great view

Great room and view only let down by a leaky shower.

Nice and quiet. Surprising not to have wifi for a hotel of this star rating in this day in age