Reviews - Tregenna Castle Estate


Treloyan Avenue, St. Ives, TR26 2DE

Price From 213.15 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (97)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Ian F

  • January 2015


Disappointing considering the status of the venue

  • Deborah D

  • December 2014

A walk on the dark side

Welcome was very good, friendly but when telling our check in provider that we were going into the town she recommended that we walk thru the wall garden for a easier and quicker way in.

What she did not tell us that while the walled garden had lights they were not being used. It was pitch black. You couldn't see your hand in front of your face. Somewhat dangerous. While I am sure it is a lovely walk in the summer recommending using that walkway in the winter should not be done. If it is a flashlight should have been offered or at least letting guest know that it was unlit.

  • Tomasz D

  • December 2014

Tregenna Castle Estate

Just WOW !!

  • tom m

  • December 2014

Tregenna Castle Estate

On arrival the guy on the desk was extremely polite and helpful.

Breakfast was not the best, coffee was poor.

  • kelly Bent

  • November 2014

fantastic hotel, all hotel staff were polite and friendly, would definitely recommend.

We would definitely stay again when travelling down that way, perfect place to relax.

  • T Wake

  • November 2014

Not good value for money, needs updating.

Sash windows peeling and rattled, squeeky bed, rusty taps and sink plug hole

  • S Hartley

  • November 2014

We were very satisfied with our recent stay at Tregenna.

The value for money was excellent as the reservation was made through Late rooms at a discounted price. The hotel was very busy over the weekend with numerous functions but this did not detract from the personal service we experienced. Having stayed at the hotel before on 4 previous occasions but previously paying for a superior room with sea view, I would have been a little disappointed with our accommodation, this time, if I had paid the full price. The staff were all pleasant and attentive. The food choice was more restricted than before but this could have been due to the multiple functions running that weekend.

  • Kelly O

  • November 2014

An enjoyable family holiday away.

A friendly hotel and staff couldn't do enough, great with kids. Bathroom a little tired and seemed to lack water pressure. Nice spacious room with lovely sea view. Short walk to all St Ives has to offer, but a very steep walk back with children.

  • charles latter

  • November 2014

Lovely Hotel in great location. Superb views of St Ives. Great food. Excellent leisure facilities.

Short stay of 3 days, 2 nights booked through late rooms.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay. All staff polite and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Period features throughout all add to the ambiance. Assume negative reviews are either from competitors or people who dont know what to expect from staying in a castle. If you want modern, dont complain, go to a characterless Travelodge !!!

  • simon c

  • October 2014

Dirty Bedding (Stained Mattress protecter ) Poor Quality Evening Meal Breakfast Good

Upon arrival, we were very impressed with the building and gardens.

After going to our room and checking the bed, as I always do, to my disappointment a dirty stained mattress protecter Uh !!. We told reception and to their credit it was changed in no time. The hotel is a bit tired and we felt things are being done on 'the cheap'... low quality tea bags in the room, not PG etc. The breakfast was fine, very nice mushrooms, good quality eggs and bacon. However the evening meal poor. It was Sunday, so a carvery, which was charged at £16.00 per person (we booked Dinner in package) and we thought A la Carte was available but informed 'not on Sundays' It was not good. Meat... beef. ok (only choice though). the vegetables poor... frozen cauliflower, peas mixed with pickled onions uh!. But delicious fresh baby parsnips.. The dessert poor quality, no cream or ice-cream offered, just a fancy small drizzle of sauce (playing at quality food). On the whole cost cutting was obvious. However we were paying a premium price. The hotel is lacking class, needs updating & more attention to detail. Staff were helpful, polite & friendly,and were a good asset to this hotel.