No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - String of Horses Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Faugh Brampton, Carlisle, CA8 9EG
Dating from around 1659, this traditional coaching inn is set in a quiet country village only 10 minutes from Carlisle and junction 43 of the M6 motorway.

String of Horses lies in the middle of one of the most beautiful and historic areas of Britain: near Hadrian's Wall, the Lake District and the Scottish borders.

With its oak beams and panelling, open fires and gleaming brassware, the String of Horses has welcomed visitors from all over the world for more than 350 years.

Though acclaimed for its ‘yesteryear’ ambience, the inn looks after you in 21st-century style, with great food and, in every room, free Wi-Fi access, TV and en suite bathrooms.
Picture of String of Horses Inn, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, quaint Inn. Spacious room with good food.

Reviewed by
A Durie

From Duns, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
My husband and I stayed overnight at The String of Horses Inn at Brampton. We had a very enjoyable stay no negatives at all.

Reviewed by
rita h

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Basic room with en suite shower room. Overlooked garden at rear which would have benefited from old leaves being brushed and a general tidy. Very friendly, cheerful staff and welcoming owner.

Reviewed by
George T

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Difficult to fault, will be back.
Difficult to fault, very clean. Spotless actually. Charming place, greeting and hospitality from owner and staff was friendly but not over powering. Good food and a well kept local pint of beer. WIFI was free and good connection. Add to that local people running an independent local business to boot, why go to a big faceless chain hotel.
Keep up the good work.

Reviewed by
Jason Davis

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little remote, and located in a hamlet which has no other obvious facilities and is not suitable for an evening stroll, something which we like to do.
The staff were very friendly, and the bar cosy with acceptable food, but underseasoned in cooking.
Breakfast was very good and plenty of offers of extra toast, coffee, tea etc.

Reviewed by
Archie L

From galston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous country inn ideal for stopovers when travelling up or down M6
Lovely old coaching inn full of character and with friendly staff. Although there wasn't much mention of (the free) breakfast on their website it was definitely the best cooked breakfast I've ever had in terms of quality - freshly cooked and really good quality meat. Not a massive amount but there was plenty of cereal and toast to top up.
We were traveling up to Scotland from the Midlands and this was an ideal stop and meant we could see nearby Hadrian's Wall the next morning before continuing our journey.
The rooms were cosy, clean and comfortable.
Before we left , we booked again for our return journey. On our return journey we arrived early enough to have our evening meal there which was delicious and well worth the slightly-higher-than-pub-grub price.

Reviewed by
Alison H

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a bit small, and the walls were thin, so noise transfer was noticeable. Apart from that our stay at this hotel was enjoyable enough.

Reviewed by
Ron Holbrey

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice stay.

Reviewed by
K Haynes

From sutton in ashfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WELCOMING AND JUST RIGHT
Clean, well run, very comfortable, peaceful despite being a pub, accommodating

Reviewed by
sally g

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for me
I booked this accommodation as a treat to myself on my birthday. I booked single occupancy in a double room and was looking forward to staying at a coaching inn with lots of character. The room was a good size but the modern beige and white decor and furniture made me think I was staying in a caravan. The room was devoid of any character. The lamps and telephone were very dusty, but the bathroom was very clean. I expected four star but got three star. I stay at a four star b&b in Whitby every year and you get a king size bed with memory foam mattress, bathrobes, tassimo drinks machine, ipod player, a jar of sweets and tea and cake on arrival. None of this was on offer here, you didn't even get biscuits on the tea tray! The dining room lacked character of any description. It would have been nice if there were a couple of sofas to snuggle up in after your meal but the bar only had wooden seats and I had to sit in my room to read. It's not to my taste and I would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Webster

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next