Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Uffculme Hotels > Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Uffculme , Cullompton , EX15 3ES
The Waterloo Cross is a rural inn, located away from the main town and perfect for visiting the local attractions which include Sheppy`s Cider Farm, Diggerland and the Donkey Sanctuary. The quaint town of Cullompton is a few miles away and the Blackdown Hills offer some beautiful walks for those who enjoy the outdoor life. A charming and friendly inn with 11 en-suite rooms, offering generous lounge, dining and drinking areas, both inside and out. Situated on the Devon/Somerset border the Waterloo Cross is the perfect location to relax and unwind. Just five minutes from the M5, it is most conveniently positioned to enjoy exploring these picturesque counties. Enjoy one of our mouth-watering freshly, prepared meals in the intimate restaurant, or if you prefer a more relaxed environment, the bar also serves an extensive snack menu and some of the finest cask ales ever tasted. Find us: At Junction 27 of the M5 take the A361 exit to Tiverton/Barnstable. At the roundabout take the first exit onto A38 heading to Wellington/B3181/Uffculme.
Picture of Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns, Cullompton  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Waterloo Cross Inn, everyone was very welcoming and helpful. We found the staff to be a very happy crowd and had time to answer any queries we had about the area we were staying in. The food was excellent and service was very quick even though the two nights we stayed were both very busy everything seemed to be running efficiently. Our en--suite room was lovely and clean as was the rest of the Inn. All in all a very relaxing time and we felt very much at home thanks to the lovely staff.

Reviewed by
J Hughes

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I enjoyed my short stay at The Waterloo Cross and would be happy to stay there again when I visit the area which I do every year

Reviewed by
Margaret Gilbert

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Realaxed
Very Relaxing stay. Good food

Reviewed by
John H

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable and economical stay.
Very pleasant stay. Friendly attentive staff and a comprehensive menu. The quality of the evening meals is excellent which is supported by the number of locals who dine there regularly.
We have stayed at the Waterloo previously and are certain to revisit in the future.
This is obviously not a 5 star establishment but for a budget hotel that offers value for money and good food and service it takes some beating.
The only problem we have ever experienced at the Waterloo was a noisy neighbour in the room above for a time one evening, so we always ask for a 1st floor room - this was probably a one off experience.

Reviewed by
c wallace

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Stop Over
Used this inn as a stop over on journey down to Cornwall. Good sized family room, clean and comfortable. Thought might be noisy being a pub, but was not at all - had a good night's sleep. Excellent value with breakfast included. Would use again.

Reviewed by
Lorraine H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean room but noisy
Room very clean and tidy.toilet was very close to the wall so your face was on it when using.next door floorboards were extremely queeky when someone walks on them for hours(may have just been the neighbour or that certain room).when windows open traffic wakes you up. If your a heavy sleeper you will be fine but if not request a room to the front of the building. Lovely bar/ restaurant very rustic feel. Great staff.

Reviewed by
e andrews

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A booked in advance one night stop over with Mrs B and two grandaughters on route to North Devon.
Couldn't fault our choice of accommodation.
Our family room had not been made up for the girls but a call to reception quickly put matters right.
To my mind it's how problems are dealt with and not the problem itself so full marks to the very helpful staff.
We had a very enjoyable evening meal. There was a good choice of cask ales available at the bar.
Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and more than adequate.
We would certainly recommend and will stay again.

Reviewed by
Howard B

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waterloo Cross
Hotel adequate but noisy near the road.

Reviewed by
alan j

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 4
You get what you pay for, and this offers very good value for money as a family. However our room was very basic, dark, and really needed a fresh lick of paint and some decent furniture. The sofa bed for the kids was not great and we ended up folding it up and just put mattress on the floor. Carpet also had a number of large stains on it. Ok for a bed for the night, but we won't be rushing back.

Reviewed by
G Craig

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waterloo cross
Rooms excellant and clean,massive room with lovely decor.Food was ok ,good location and overall a great stay would definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
S Dyer

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next