Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Uffculme Hotels > Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Uffculme , Cullompton , EX15 3ES
The Waterloo Cross is a rural inn, located away from the main town and perfect for visiting the local attractions which include Sheppy`s Cider Farm, Diggerland and the Donkey Sanctuary. The quaint town of Cullompton is a few miles away and the Blackdown Hills offer some beautiful walks for those who enjoy the outdoor life. A charming and friendly inn with 11 en-suite rooms, offering generous lounge, dining and drinking areas, both inside and out. Situated on the Devon/Somerset border the Waterloo Cross is the perfect location to relax and unwind. Just five minutes from the M5, it is most conveniently positioned to enjoy exploring these picturesque counties. Enjoy one of our mouth-watering freshly, prepared meals in the intimate restaurant, or if you prefer a more relaxed environment, the bar also serves an extensive snack menu and some of the finest cask ales ever tasted. Find us: At Junction 27 of the M5 take the A361 exit to Tiverton/Barnstable. At the roundabout take the first exit onto A38 heading to Wellington/B3181/Uffculme.
Picture of Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns, Cullompton  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only criticism was amount of flies while eating breakfast

Reviewed by
K Frost

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly manager
The manager made a point of coming to us and offering us a room she had vacant which we felt would be more suitable and quieter than that which had been allocated owing to it being a Saturday night. She was more than helpful and put herself out to be of assistance.

Reviewed by
R Croker

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Lovely place, great food. Brilliant staff. The staff where extremely helpful and even helped us when we arrived late by supplying us with sandwiches, a great staff team!!!

Reviewed by
N Porter

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graet Value
Good place to stay, well looked after and breakfast was excellant

Reviewed by
John H

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okish place to stay
Room was ok very poorly lite, no light outside door so had trouble finding keyhole in the dark. Otherwise stay was good , food was not to good chicken very dry, had breaded mushrooms very hard and beet root tart thing was like rock to cut and no flavour .would stay at hotel but not eat there again .

Reviewed by
M Davey

From Wellington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best we have stayed in
Booked family room but second bed not made up and only one set towels
On arrival. Outside dining/drinking area not kept clean
Used cigarette buts not emptied from ashtrays
Staff were friendly and breakfast was adequate

Reviewed by
S WATTS

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay and excellent staff and Mangment!!
Thanks very much to Janine and Amy for their help this week when I stayed at the Waterloo.
Will certainly be staying there again when I am back working working in the area .

Reviewed by
allister pirrie

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Very welcoming; excellent food; good staff. The room let the whole experience down. Supposedly a Superior Room, but it was like being in a dungeon. Totally inadequate lighting made the room so dark it was almost impossible to read a book. The bed was comfortable, and both the room & bathroom were clean. But overall it was not an experience that we will repeat. The room was certainly not superior, and this made the price excessive.

Reviewed by
P Sherriff

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely overnight stay perfect location
just perfect all the staff were very nice and helpful, our room was spacious and warm, breakfast was lovely. we also had an evening meal which was lovely too. we hope to return in the future as our stay was faultless.

Reviewed by
Andrew L

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed this time
This is a hotel we have stayed at previously both individually and as a couple and as a family. On all other occasions, we have been satisfied with the standard of the accommodation and the food. This time, the food was ok but, we were really disappointed with the room which, looked very tired, it was initially cold and the bathroom was extremely disappointing. This did not make for the best of stays and probably means we will think twice before we stay there again which, is a bit of a shame because the location of the place is excellent in it's proximity to the motorway.

Reviewed by
Gary Kent

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next