Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Uffculme Hotels > Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Uffculme , Cullompton , EX15 3ES
The Waterloo Cross is a rural inn, located away from the main town and perfect for visiting the local attractions which include Sheppy`s Cider Farm, Diggerland and the Donkey Sanctuary. The quaint town of Cullompton is a few miles away and the Blackdown Hills offer some beautiful walks for those who enjoy the outdoor life. A charming and friendly inn with 11 en-suite rooms, offering generous lounge, dining and drinking areas, both inside and out. Situated on the Devon/Somerset border the Waterloo Cross is the perfect location to relax and unwind. Just five minutes from the M5, it is most conveniently positioned to enjoy exploring these picturesque counties. Enjoy one of our mouth-watering freshly, prepared meals in the intimate restaurant, or if you prefer a more relaxed environment, the bar also serves an extensive snack menu and some of the finest cask ales ever tasted. Find us: At Junction 27 of the M5 take the A361 exit to Tiverton/Barnstable. At the roundabout take the first exit onto A38 heading to Wellington/B3181/Uffculme.
Picture of Waterloo Cross by Marstons Inns, Cullompton  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunshine Break Away
Accommodation was ok , don't see why Fri, sat is more expensive to stay here !! Was expensive for a very basic room and the only complimentary item was water !!! Towels were not changed throughout our stay , dusty in places and no welcome pack . And if you came back later no external light to see to put the key in the door !!

Reviewed by
zoe demosthenous

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient overnight stop
We expected a country pub but it was more like a motel. Although the room was large (room 3) it had no character and was gloomy and unwelcoming. Small high set windows overlooked roof tiles from main building. Bed was comfortable though. Rooms are to the side of the main building meaning a walk through the external area (where smokers congregate) and along a narrow passageway. Bathroom modern and at first glance clean but inside shower was black mould. Also, flush button missing from loo making it difficult to operate.
Average pub food in evening and breakfast was quite nice, although we had to wait for some time before being served as there seemed to be a shortage of staff.
Having said all that it was reasonably priced and very convenient for M5 and overnight stop to Cornwall.

Reviewed by
SHEILA C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

B&B Overnight Stay
Accommodation, with private entrance for guests, is above olde world pub which can be busy at weekends but did not cause any disturbance in room. Creaky floorboards added to ambiance. Service good , breakfast excellent. Ideal for stopover to west country. If you are above average height, would avoid room 11 as toilet pan of en suite shower room is too near facing wall.

Reviewed by
j gray

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff
We had a few problems when we arrived but the staff were great and helped to sort us out in every way they could. We could not have wished for a more friendly or helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Jean H

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom so small you couldn't sit straight on the loo. How someone over 6 foot would manage I don't know !!!

Reviewed by
William O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
I've stayed here soo many times now, it has to be the nicest hotel in somerset for the price range, so clean and friendly, really modern, comfy bed, there's nothing bad about this place, I will continue to stay here when I'm around this area

Reviewed by
R Arthur

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break, excellent value!
We stayed for one night, a Saturday, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was clean and spacious and there were even 2 bottles of mineral water waiting for us! Very comfortable and warm. Super breakfast with great service. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
L Sumner

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
This was a great place to stay en route to Cornwall. The rooms are independent of the hotel and are private and the one we had was quiet. We didn't hear our neighbours which is always a plus! The staff were friendly and the food was good. We had b and b, and an evening meal in the pub; all for less than £50!!

Reviewed by
yvonne h

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff
This was our 4th or 5th stay at Waterloo Cross. We arrived on Saturday, to discover our room hadn't been made up. Everyone was very apologetic and quickly sorted a new room for us. They moved us again when we had lost our room key as they didn't have a spare. (However, we were able to retrieve the key from a supermarket and return it, so are not too embarrassed to stay there again.) The food is always very reasonable, and the young staff always very helpful.

Reviewed by
Alison R

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and clean good value hotel

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Leyland, England
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next