No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Inn

5AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Green Petworth Road, Chiddingfold near Guildford, GU8 4TX

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The perfect English setting and romantic atmosphere enjoyed in this centuries old village inn."

Awarded Great Britain’s Most Excellent Inn 2010 by Condé Nast Johansens and 5 Stars Highly Commended by the AA, The Crown Inn, Chiddingfold is a stunning 600 year old Coaching Inn, positioned on the Green of one of Surrey’s most beautiful villages. Less than an hour from London, 20 minutes from Guildford but far enough away to appreciate the joys of the country. Accommodation includes 3 four poster bedrooms, 1 suite, 3 superior doubles and 1 single – recently refurbished to an exceptionally high standard. All fresh seasonal à la carte and bar menu served at lunchtime and dinner. Extensive wine list accompanies a fine selection of beers and spirits. Independently owned and professionally run with a friendly, high level of service. The perfect place for a relaxing romantic break or a somewhere with ‘personality’ for the business traveller.
Picture of The Crown Inn, Chiddingfold near Guildford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't wait to go back!
I have been trying to find somewhere in this area for a while. I think I've found it. I make regular business trips to the Surrey/ Sussex area and this Inn offers excellent service, food and accomodation. Well worth another visit

Reviewed by
Paul Vickerstaff

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming and Friendly
Excellent accommodation with very friendly staff in a charming mediaeval setting. Breakfast available until 11am included choice of continental, cereal, fruit or/and cooked breakfast as much as you wanted and fabulous toast with homemade marmalade/jam. Would recommend superior room but the four poster room looked very special also.

Reviewed by
P Churcher

From Worcester Park, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed my stay at the crown, would recommend, it has real character but with spacious modern rooms and coupled with good service and a fabrastic breakfast, a real winner.

Reviewed by
Mark L

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown Inn Review
Fantastic! Highly recommend this hotel. The room, service and quality of food were outstanding. This was a 20 year wedding anniversary surprise from my husband. When we arrived we were upgraded to the King Suite with a bottle of complimentary champagne. The food was excellent. This is the sort of place you would love to spend a Christmas holiday cosying up to the log fire. Excellent!!

Reviewed by
Lucia Caplis

From Shepperton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
A lovely place to stay with welcoming staff and excellent food.

Reviewed by
Paul Ash

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it
Lovely building, enjoyed sitting by fire, relaxing in the bar area and delicious food

Reviewed by
Nicholas G

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful country inn
Went here for my partners birthday. Stayed in the kings suite. Room was beautiful, clean and well maintained. Good customer service. Food was fantastic. Only tiny complaint was that room is at front of building and road was quite noisy first thing in the morning.

Reviewed by
E Smee

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing last minute get away
Amazing room, staff, food and wonderful location

Reviewed by
Craig Gale

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a fantastic location and I will be returning for a leisure break

Reviewed by
ian f

From Billericay, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable.
Polite staff.
Limited parking

Reviewed by
Paul W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next