Reviews - Southbourne Guest House


34 Massetts Road Horley, Gatwick Airport, RH6 7DS

Price From 102.50 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R White

  • June 2014

My eta was midday, and because of complications I wasn't able to book in until 21.30.

The owners were very understanding and accomadating.

Breakfast was excellent and the service efficient.

Thank you.

  • j barnes

  • June 2014

Quick overnight

Excellent room and service, very clean and great breakfast!

  • g murphy

  • May 2014

really excellent airport collection service - a definite bonus

  • David R

  • April 2014

Friendly helpful service in well kept, very clean accommodation.

Having spent nights at other hotels in the Gatwick area and being disappointed by the overused nature of the accommodation the Southbourne is a place I would definitely return to. A family run business where they do a great job in making sure you enjoy your stay. The location is also convenient for a short walk to good restaurants.

  • J Hayes

  • March 2014

Overnight stay befrore a Gatwick flight

We found every aspect of our stay to be excellent.

The quality and standards of service, food, and accommodation to be first class. Clearly Tony and Breda know exactly what travellers require and provide it with a warm welcome and support. We would heartily recommend this guest house for whatever yout visit to the area.


  • February 2014

flying visit.

A late booking for an overnight stay prior to flying out to Belfast.

A very adequate room, very comfy bed. A nice welcome and the landlady suggested a ver nice pub down the road. Definately stay again. JT

  • Martin F

  • January 2014

Very nice and convenient

Very convenient and close to Gatwick airport without any plane noise.

Excellent collaboration with a local cab company. Helpful staff. Nice and practical rooms. I'll be back.

  • Craig Waites

  • January 2014

I've given up on big hotel chains

I travel a lot & stay in different hotels all over the country.

I don't expect much, clean/tidy/shower/decent breakfast & I'm happy. The big hotel chains have this covered and lets be honest it is easy to book with them, you know what you're getting everytime. Including plastic food prepacked & reheated in the microwave.

Call me sentimental but I feel the need to support local business. Years ago we all stayed in small family run guest houses with home cooked food. Now it seems we prefer Lenny Henry's cold white with purple rooms and the exact same menu everywhere we go................... Not for me. This hotel typifies what I look for in a room. I don't need flashy, I'm rarely in a hotel for even 10 hours. I want clean, I want a shower & I want to be treated like a person. In 9 out of 10 cases hotels like this are cheaper than the big chains anyway so why don't we stay in them. I do & the next time you need a room you should too!

  • Chris Sutcliffe

  • December 2013

What a lovely place to stay and so close to the airport.

Very quiet at night. Easy transfer to and from the airport by the friendly owner. Good continental brekkie or upgrade to full cooked for £3.50. Friendly helpfull staff. Lovely warm room with plenty of space and a good clean quality hot shower. Reccomended A*