Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

3

The Plaza,Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth, PO1 3FD

Price From 221.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anthony S

  • March 2015

Excellent location and room but...

The location is excellent for a long weekend and there is plenty to do.

Book the Dockyard on-line for a years worth of visits at a discount. The room and staff were fine but a claim to have wi-fi in every room was simply not true on any of our bits of technology. The lift was not working and I'm thankful that we only had one flight to do. This seems to have been a problem for a while now and takes the edge off an otherwise enjoyable visit.

  • Kevin P

  • March 2015

Great for short or overnight stay

Very friendly staff.

Great location in heart of gun wharf quay shopping and entertainment complex. Parking easy in the large gun wharf multi story car park and its free for first 24 hours. Had a family room which was more than adequate for our needs. Clean and functional with great shower. Breakfast included in price and was very good with fresh mini pastries and pretty good coffee. Hot choices too. The lifts are currently out of action but we were aware of this and didn't cause an issue. Staff offered to carry up luggage.

  • Gary Stevens

  • February 2015

Location is top marks

Forget Brighton, Bournemouth etc.

Portsmouth is miles better for fun and nightlife. Yes, it has annoying uni students everywhere but it has a lot more if you delve deeper beyond Gunwharf. Try Gosport, a short ferry ride away and Southsea. Great location for ferry and historic dockyard and yes the outlets shops. Parking through hotel is a welcome bonus. Top marks for a hotel that realises parking is important. Lovely hotel, well run and reasonable price. Keep up the good work.

  • Paul L

  • February 2015

We'll placed for a visit.

All good with friendly staff.

Good parking facility.Gave food an average mark because I missed breakfast.

  • Nicola A

  • February 2015

Great location, comfortable stay!

Really loved the location of this hotel, close to shops/restaurants and a nice stroll to Southsea.

Had a drink in the little bar area before returning to our room, barman was lovely, breakfast was adequate, all in all a great stay 😃

  • Steven A

  • February 2015

Overview

Very basic accommodation.

Booked double bed got single. Clean but room a bit scruffy with worn carpets. Very disappointing breakfast, scrambled egg and sausage what happened to the traditional English breakfast, bacon mushrooms etc. Staff very polite.

  • K Dray

  • February 2015

Disappointed the lift was out of action.

This made it difficult for my mother who has mobility problems. Staff did move us down a floor but still had 2 flights of stairs to manage

  • L Taylor

  • January 2015

Very nice all round. The location is amazing.

The only fault we found was the rooms are poorly lit.

When the wife was trying to apply make up or see things clearly we found ourselves navigating by bedside lamps.

  • Carolyn D

  • January 2015

A great start to the new year

We could not fault our stay at the Holiday Inn Express - the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

Our room, which was spotless, overlooked the restaurants and shopping area but was close to the dockyards with all the sights. Parking was no problem at all and so close. We will definitely be making a return visit.

  • John B

  • January 2015

Good value for prime location

Our stay at this hotel was a shopping & leisure break at the Gunwharf Quays complex so the location of the hotel was ideal for our needs and right in the centre of the action.

This was my first experience of a Holiday Inn Express so I didn't know what to expect but I was more than happy with the stay in terms of value for money. Room was basic but clean with all the facilities I would want & a nice view. Breakfast was basic in terms of cooked food with a good continental selection but included in the price and all I wanted so no complaints there either. My only small gripes are that the parking instructions could have been made clearer. The instructions we received were to park in the main complex car park and have your ticket validated at reception to receive 24 hours free. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon when it was extremely busy and queued for ages to enter the car park via the main entrance only to later see just after I missed it that we could have entered via a slip road to the hotel entrance, dropped off our bags and entered the car park from the hotel which would have saved us time & a long walk with our case but this wasn't well sign posted. It also needs to be remembered that there are a lot of late night drinking establishments & a casino nearby and while we heard no noise from outside the hotel be prepared for guests returning to the hotel in the early hours not being particularly quiet on route to their rooms. To sum up, it was a nice place to stay with good restaurants & bars which offered discounts to hotel guests close to hand so an excellent place to stay for a days shopping and sight seeing with a good night out at the end of it. Good value for money, no frills hotel in prime location. Will definitely stay again.