Reviews - Holiday Inn Express PORTSMOUTH - GUNWHARF QUAYS

3

The Plaza,Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth, PO1 3FD

Price From 225.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • a ward

  • January 2016

lovely quiet hotel right next to shopping centre

Lovely hotel very quiet and very nice room, breakfast was ok would have liked bacon but only did sausage, brilliant location a 2 minute drive away from wight link ferry terminal for isle of wight I would recommend it to anyone and I would stop there again

  • richard griffin

  • November 2015

x

x

  • Roy S

  • October 2015

One night stopover

Douglas at the reception desk was very helpful indeed, he should be nominated for employee of the month award for his attention to customer service.

  • David M

  • September 2015

I thought the quality of breakfast was quite poor and I did not feel the whole experience was value for money.

The room however,was large and very clean and the situation for railway station,historic dockyard etc was excellent.

  • a durn

  • August 2015

Maintanance issues

For a hotel in a premium location charging prices at the higher end of the local area the standard of maintenance was awful.

Carpets are frayed and stained, shower hose split and mouldy, corridors tatty etc. Service was slow and poorly trained staff unable to print receipts, the one member of staff was working the bar and reception so it took 15 minutes to check in as they was serving in the bar when I arrived.

  • L Bedford

  • August 2015

August in HIX Portsmouth

Reception staff very welcoming, other staf not so welcoming.

Room was clean, but a little tired.

Basic, very average for the tariff paid, quite noisy... Banging doors, children running in the corridor. Do not consider this room was very good value, for £160-00 a night. We expected much better.

The food (breakfast) was poor, not hot and awkward to get!

  • Ann B

  • June 2015

Perfect location

Staff very attentive and welcoming.

Bed was very comfortable. Perfect location for shops, bars and restaurants, the Historic Dockyards and picking up the boat to Pitbank Fort, where we went for lunch. Would definitely use the hotel again. Just felt the carpets and furniture good do with a good steam clean. Lots of stains and grubby marks everywhere, including the bedroom. But we enjoyed our stay.

  • Paul Faulkner

  • June 2015

Room

I booked a non smoking room and when we entered it stunk of cigarettes as someone had decided to smoke in the bathroom and this was not picked up by housekeeping!.

To be fair reception moved us straight away and apologised for the state of the room. Then when we got to the 2nd room the remote to the TV was not in the room which reception had to find. Then at 2am a group of slightly drunk women returned to the hotel and decided to continue the party in the corridors of the hotel, although they were asked to quiet it down by many of the guests it took 3 hours for the hotel management to ask them to shut up!. Although not the hotels fault they could have pitched in sooner as a lot of the guests were getting a little angry at 4.30am..

  • Anthony S

  • March 2015

Excellent location and room but...

The location is excellent for a long weekend and there is plenty to do.

Book the Dockyard on-line for a years worth of visits at a discount. The room and staff were fine but a claim to have wi-fi in every room was simply not true on any of our bits of technology. The lift was not working and I'm thankful that we only had one flight to do. This seems to have been a problem for a while now and takes the edge off an otherwise enjoyable visit.

  • Kevin P

  • March 2015

Great for short or overnight stay

Very friendly staff.

Great location in heart of gun wharf quay shopping and entertainment complex. Parking easy in the large gun wharf multi story car park and its free for first 24 hours. Had a family room which was more than adequate for our needs. Clean and functional with great shower. Breakfast included in price and was very good with fresh mini pastries and pretty good coffee. Hot choices too. The lifts are currently out of action but we were aware of this and didn't cause an issue. Staff offered to carry up luggage.