No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE PLAZA GUNWHARF QUAYS, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 3FD
Enjoy vibrant waterfront nightlife and shopping on the doorstep of the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays hotel. Friendly staff welcome you to our modern curved hotel in the trendy Gunwharf Quays complex. Situated above an enticing range of designer shops and restaurants, Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays is just a short walk from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard . Surf the web with wireless Internet throughout the hotel and help yourself to a complimentary buffet breakfast in the Great Room each morning. You can host your board meeting or presentation in one of our 2 meeting rooms with wireless Internet. Just half a mile from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard , home of the Royal Navy, Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays offers undercover parking, complimentary for the first 24 hours. See the sparkling Solent and Portsmouth's coast stretch out beneath you from the top of Spinnaker Tower , the futuristic sail-shaped centrepiece of Gunwharf Quays. There's fun for everyone with a casino, bowling alley and comedy club all inside the complex. Kids love the HMS Warrior 1860 battleship moored in the nearby harbour. Ask our helpful staff about popular nearby restaurants offering discount s to guests of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays. You can unwind with a drink in our sunny Great Room bar , where live sports are shown on the large plasma TV.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, PORTSMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient place to stay
Great location , great car park offer , good shopping , room was ok , what you'd expect , but cost me £3 less than staying at the Grand in Brighton !!! £65 would be value but £96 was a bit steep for a Thursday , Breakfast was very poor . But would probably stay again due to location , so got you by the short and curly's !

Reviewed by
Ray H

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff, good location but poor accommodation
The springs were broken on the bed, the net curtain on the window was filthy, the hairdryer was smoking and smelled of burning and the shower had mould in it and a really old discoloured shower curtain. The room was too small for a family of four.
The cheapest price for this hotel is £100 per night. I have stayed in premier inn hotels for £29 that were far better maintained.
The reception and breakfast staff were very friendly, the location convenient and free wifi was a bonus. However, I don't it is worth the money if you can find somewhere else in Portsmouth for less money. The rooms need to be maintained better.

ManagementResponse

Dear Amy W, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay. We are glad you like our great staff and hotel location. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the uncomfortable bed and issues encountered with the room amenities. Our goal is to consistently provide excellent service and accommodations and your comments are highly important. Rest assured your concerns will be looked into. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome to any opportunity to improve our hotel. We hope to provide you with a better experience in the future. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
amy w

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent overall experience
Rooms were clean and comfortable, however the bed was a little soft with the additional topper for my taste. Additionally they no longer serve bacon at breakfast, which was a little dissapointing - however the all you can eat buffet made up for it.

ManagementResponse

Dear M Marsh, I appreciate that you took the time to leave our property a review. It is nice that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. However, I regret that you were disappointed with the breakfast selection offered. I appreciate you bringing this into our attention as this is our best means of improving what we can offer. I hope you give us another opportunity to host you again should your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Pam G IHGCare

Reviewed by
M Marsh

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal situation for Historic dockyards and other attractions. Plenty of restaurant choice and discounts negotiated by the hotel very acceptable. Beds were very comfortable and choice of pillows good.

Reviewed by
christopher l

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast was a waste of time no bacon only sausages beans and eggs
Not a great selection
Very expensive for what you get

ManagementResponse

Dear Katie B, Thank your for taking the time to leave us a feedback regarding your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services. We sincerely apologize that you did not find our hotel to your liking and truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with our breakfast choices. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We regret the negative experience and impressions you may have had. We have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. It will also be used as an opportunity to ensure same situation will be avoided in the future. Once again, thank you for your business and as always we remain at your disposal. Sincerely, Dhan, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Katie B

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'll be back!
The room was clean and comfortable, though I would move the information rack to over the tea/coffee station and put a mirror above the desk, so that you can sit and do your hair and makeup. Us girls need mirrors!
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Thought the hot breakfast selection was a bit poor. How hard is it to provide bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes, as well as sausage, egg and beans? Not very.

Reviewed by
Una K

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth
Overall the stay at this Hotel was good. The staff were helpful and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was ok but expensive for what was provided and quality could have been better

Reviewed by
T Parkin

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent geographical position
Very well placed for shop till you drop or the tourist attractions of the historic dockyard. Clean modern ole with excellent customer service fom all staff. Everything you want and expect from a holiday inn express.
Breakfast arrested as free did not reach the standard of its rival premier inn.
Reasonable price for a city break hotel

Reviewed by
Jackie M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gunwharf Quay Holiday Inn
A great place to stay for the location for a city break in Portsmouth. Also very central next to Gunwharf Quay near to the shops, restaurents and a very short walk to the harbour front. The underground car park is so useful and convenient. Customer service was very good. Breakfast was very poor; the hot selection very disappointing.

ManagementResponse

Dear Stephen Henshaw, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encpuntered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
STEPHEN HENSHAW

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Situated in the centre of gun wharf quays we had a room overlooking the quays. Great to be given the choice we didn't mind a bit of noise from late night revellers which was made up by being in a great location. Only advice is get down early for breakfast if you want bacon as this seemed to run out

Reviewed by
S King

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next