You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express PORTSMOUTH - GUNWHARF QUAYS

3

The Plaza,Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth, PO1 3FD

Price From 306.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (34)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Egan

  • March 2016

So noisy

Appalling room, overlooked a casino and revellers ensured we didn't sleep Manager just said oh we should have asked for a quiet room.

Worst room I have slept in.

Response from hotel

Dear D Egan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We deeply apologize if the noise levels and how your concerns were handled may have caused you any inconvenience. Let us assure you that this is not the daily norm at our property as we do strive to provide both comfortable as well as friendly accommodations. Your comments are taken into serious account and we are confident that improvements will be made to ensure that your future stays will be more desirable.

We do hope that you will allow us to host you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R

Case Manager

IHGService

  • a ward

  • January 2016

lovely quiet hotel right next to shopping centre

Lovely hotel very quiet and very nice room, breakfast was ok would have liked bacon but only did sausage, brilliant location a 2 minute drive away from wight link ferry terminal for isle of wight I would recommend it to anyone and I would stop there again

  • richard griffin

  • November 2015

x

x

  • Roy S

  • October 2015

One night stopover

Douglas at the reception desk was very helpful indeed, he should be nominated for employee of the month award for his attention to customer service.

Response from hotel

Dear Roy S,

Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and superior service and we are happy to read you have regarded the excellent service received from our front desk, Douglas. This encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Divina,

IHG Care

  • David M

  • September 2015

I thought the quality of breakfast was quite poor and I did not feel the whole experience was value for money.

The room however,was large and very clean and the situation for railway station,historic dockyard etc was excellent.

Response from hotel

Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our rooms to be large and very clean. However, we would also like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our breakfast selection. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. In addition, your feedback has been forwarded to our management for evaluation.

Again, our apologies for the inconvenience and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel,

IHG Care

  • a durn

  • August 2015

Maintanance issues

For a hotel in a premium location charging prices at the higher end of the local area the standard of maintenance was awful.

Carpets are frayed and stained, shower hose split and mouldy, corridors tatty etc. Service was slow and poorly trained staff unable to print receipts, the one member of staff was working the bar and reception so it took 15 minutes to check in as they was serving in the bar when I arrived.

Response from hotel

Dear a durn,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding maintenance, carpet condition, shower cleanliness and service which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.

IHGCare

  • L Bedford

  • August 2015

August in HIX Portsmouth

Reception staff very welcoming, other staf not so welcoming.

Room was clean, but a little tired.

Basic, very average for the tariff paid, quite noisy... Banging doors, children running in the corridor. Do not consider this room was very good value, for £160-00 a night. We expected much better.

The food (breakfast) was poor, not hot and awkward to get!

Response from hotel

Dear L Bedford,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our rooms to be clean. However, we would like to apologize for being disturbed by the level of noise during visit and for falling short of your expectations regarding our breakfast selection and staff. We also regret some issues you had with our rooms. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. In addition, your feedback has been forwarded to our management for evaluation.

Again, our apologies for the inconvenience and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel,

IHG Care

  • Ann B

  • June 2015

Perfect location

Staff very attentive and welcoming.

Bed was very comfortable. Perfect location for shops, bars and restaurants, the Historic Dockyards and picking up the boat to Pitbank Fort, where we went for lunch. Would definitely use the hotel again. Just felt the carpets and furniture good do with a good steam clean. Lots of stains and grubby marks everywhere, including the bedroom. But we enjoyed our stay.

  • Paul Faulkner

  • June 2015

Room

I booked a non smoking room and when we entered it stunk of cigarettes as someone had decided to smoke in the bathroom and this was not picked up by housekeeping!.

To be fair reception moved us straight away and apologised for the state of the room. Then when we got to the 2nd room the remote to the TV was not in the room which reception had to find. Then at 2am a group of slightly drunk women returned to the hotel and decided to continue the party in the corridors of the hotel, although they were asked to quiet it down by many of the guests it took 3 hours for the hotel management to ask them to shut up!. Although not the hotels fault they could have pitched in sooner as a lot of the guests were getting a little angry at 4.30am..

Response from hotel

Dear Paul Faulkner,

Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are truly sorry for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and we assure you these issues will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie,

IHG Care

  • Anthony S

  • March 2015

Excellent location and room but...

The location is excellent for a long weekend and there is plenty to do.

Book the Dockyard on-line for a years worth of visits at a discount. The room and staff were fine but a claim to have wi-fi in every room was simply not true on any of our bits of technology. The lift was not working and I'm thankful that we only had one flight to do. This seems to have been a problem for a while now and takes the edge off an otherwise enjoyable visit.

Response from hotel

Dear Anthony S,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel and were pleased with the level of cleanliness provided. However, we are truly sorry that you were negatively effected due to internet connection problems and that during the time of your stay the elevator was not functioning.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pascal,

IHG Care