No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Plaza,Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth, PO1 3FD
Enjoy vibrant waterfront nightlife and shopping on the doorstep of the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays hotel. Friendly staffs welcome you to our modern curved hotel in the trendy Gunwharf Quays complex. Situated above an enticing range of designer shops and restaurants, Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays is just a short walk from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard . Surf the web with wireless Internet throughout the hotel and help yourself to the inclusive breakfast in the Great Room each morning. You can host your board meeting or presentation in one of our two meeting rooms with wireless Internet. Just half a mile from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard , home of the Royal Navy, Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays offers undercover parking, complimentary for the first 24-hours. See the sparkling Solent and Portsmouth's coast stretch out beneath you from the top of Spinnaker Tower , the futuristic sail-shaped centrepiece of Gunwharf Quays. There's fun for everyone with a casino, bowling alley and comedy club all inside the complex. Kids love the HMS Warrior 1860 battleship moored in the nearby harbour. Ask our helpful staff about popular nearby restaurants offering discount s to guests of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays. You can unwind with a drink in our sunny Great Room bar , where live sports are shown on the large plasma TV.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We'll placed for a visit.
All good with friendly staff. Good parking facility.Gave food an average mark because I missed breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location is top marks
Forget Brighton, Bournemouth etc. Portsmouth is miles better for fun and nightlife. Yes, it has annoying uni students everywhere but it has a lot more if you delve deeper beyond Gunwharf. Try Gosport, a short ferry ride away and Southsea. Great location for ferry and historic dockyard and yes the outlets shops! Parking through hotel is a welcome bonus. Top marks for a hotel that realises parking is important. Lovely hotel, well run and reasonable price. Keep up the good work.

Reviewed by
Gary Stevens

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, comfortable stay!
Really loved the location of this hotel, close to shops/restaurants and a nice stroll to Southsea. Had a drink in the little bar area before returning to our room, barman was lovely, breakfast was adequate, all in all a great stay 😃

Reviewed by
Nicola A

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overview
Very basic accommodation. Booked double bed got single! Clean but room a bit scruffy with worn carpets. Very disappointing breakfast, scrambled egg and sausage what happened to the traditional English breakfast, bacon mushrooms etc? Staff very polite.

ManagementResponse

Dear Steven A, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you found the room clean and hotel staff were polite. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience due to room allocation and quality of breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Steven A

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed the lift was out of action. This made it difficult for my mother who has mobility problems. Staff did move us down a floor but still had 2 flights of stairs to manage

Reviewed by
K Dray

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice all round. The location is amazing.
The only fault we found was the rooms are poorly lit. When the wife was trying to apply make up or see things clearly we found ourselves navigating by bedside lamps.

Reviewed by
L Taylor

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for prime location
Our stay at this hotel was a shopping & leisure break at the Gunwharf Quays complex so the location of the hotel was ideal for our needs and right in the centre of the action.
This was my first experience of a Holiday Inn Express so I didn't know what to expect but I was more than happy with the stay in terms of value for money.
Room was basic but clean with all the facilities I would want & a nice view. Breakfast was basic in terms of cooked food with a good continental selection but included in the price and all I wanted so no complaints there either.
My only small gripes are that the parking instructions could have been made clearer. The instructions we received were to park in the main complex car park and have your ticket validated at reception to receive 24 hours free. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon when it was extremely busy and queued for ages to enter the car park via the main entrance only to later see just after I missed it that we could have entered via a slip road to the hotel entrance, dropped off our bags and entered the car park from the hotel which would have saved us time & a long walk with our case but this wasn't well sign posted.
It also needs to be remembered that there are a lot of late night drinking establishments & a casino nearby and while we heard no noise from outside the hotel be prepared for guests returning to the hotel in the early hours not being particularly quiet on route to their rooms!
To sum up, it was a nice place to stay with good restaurants & bars which offered discounts to hotel guests close to hand so an excellent place to stay for a days shopping and sight seeing with a good night out at the end of it. Good value for money, no frills hotel in prime location. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
John B

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great start to the new year
We could not fault our stay at the Holiday Inn Express - the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Our room, which was spotless, overlooked the restaurants and shopping area but was close to the dockyards with all the sights. Parking was no problem at all and so close. We will definitely be making a return visit.

Reviewed by
Carolyn D

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay in Portsmouth adjacent to shops & dockyard
One problem during stay - lifts not working!

Reviewed by
Sue Bryant

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We won't return. The lifts are broken and have been for 6 mths. Repair is difficult we were told!
We only stayed here as it was close to a sick friend we wanted to visit. On our first stay in June one of the lifts wasn't working which was inconvenient but we were assured it was being 'looked at' When we returned in late Nov both lifts weren't working. This meant carrying bags from the far side of the car park to the hotel and then up all the stairs. No reduction in cost and a simple apology with 'it's a difficult job' We won't return.

ManagementResponse

Dear H R Corney, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
H R CORNEY

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next