No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Plaza,Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth, PO1 3FD
Enjoy vibrant waterfront nightlife and shopping on the doorstep of the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays hotel. Friendly staffs welcome you to our modern curved hotel in the trendy Gunwharf Quays complex. Situated above an enticing range of designer shops and restaurants, Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays is just a short walk from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard . Surf the web with wireless Internet throughout the hotel and help yourself to the inclusive breakfast in the Great Room each morning. You can host your board meeting or presentation in one of our two meeting rooms with wireless Internet. Just half a mile from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard , home of the Royal Navy, Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays offers undercover parking, complimentary for the first 24-hours. See the sparkling Solent and Portsmouth's coast stretch out beneath you from the top of Spinnaker Tower , the futuristic sail-shaped centrepiece of Gunwharf Quays. There's fun for everyone with a casino, bowling alley and comedy club all inside the complex. Kids love the HMS Warrior 1860 battleship moored in the nearby harbour. Ask our helpful staff about popular nearby restaurants offering discount s to guests of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth-Gunwharf Quays. You can unwind with a drink in our sunny Great Room bar , where live sports are shown on the large plasma TV.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay in Portsmouth adjacent to shops & dockyard
One problem during stay - lifts not working!

Reviewed by
Sue Bryant

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We won't return. The lifts are broken and have been for 6 mths. Repair is difficult we were told!
We only stayed here as it was close to a sick friend we wanted to visit. On our first stay in June one of the lifts wasn't working which was inconvenient but we were assured it was being 'looked at' When we returned in late Nov both lifts weren't working. This meant carrying bags from the far side of the car park to the hotel and then up all the stairs. No reduction in cost and a simple apology with 'it's a difficult job' We won't return.

ManagementResponse

Dear H R Corney, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
H R CORNEY

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
The room / staff and hotel were all very good, but the breakfast content was a little disappointing. Whilst cereal / toast etc were all available, the cooked breakfast consisted of only three items: Beans (Ok) scambled eggs (Very dry and overcooked) and sausages (Absolutely dire, i'm afraid). There was no bacon, which i found a little surprising.....

Reviewed by
PHILIP CRAYFORD

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location for Gunwharf Quays
Having stayed at this hotel several times, I cannot fault the friendly staff & facilities. The hotel was clean & the room had everything that you'd need.
The only drawback was breakfast, as everything seemed to run out. I had to wait for the plates to be replenished & my friend had to queue when the sausages had run out & were being refilled. Staff must know that Sunday breakfast is popular & need to be on top of restocking etc.

Reviewed by
claire b

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

simple straight -forward hotel accomodation

ManagementResponse

Dear Ralph Schauss, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Ralph Schauss

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Finding the hotel and car parking was difficult - eventually landed in an underground car park and then had to walk to hotel. The lighting around the hotel was poor and as my husband has limited sight and walking ability we were somewhat frustrated by the time we checked in. Reception staff were very helpful - our room well kitted out for a disabled traveller - however may I suggest that twin beds are more appropriate when one traveller is disabled.

ManagementResponse

Dear F Davies, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us a valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the parking. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
F DAVIES

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great loation - rowdy guests
The hotel is in a great location and the free parking for 24 hours was most welcome. There were 3 of us in the room and there were actually enough cups/towels for us all. I couldn't fault the hotel as everything was acceptable. We paid £88 for the room including breakfast so I thought it wasn't bad value for money.
The only problem which ruined the stay were noisy guests rampaging through the corridors and knocking on doors in the middle of the night. Then in the morning the Police arrived and it all kicked off again outside our bedroom door. We left more exhausted than when we arrived.

ManagementResponse

Dear Joanne V, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Ferdinand, IHG Care

Reviewed by
JOANNE V

From Tenby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room needs a littel TLC
The room was clean but needs a coat of paint. Breakfast was included however the continental or cooked scrambled eggs sausage (both cooked to death) and beans NO Bacon?
Mentioned at check out and they said they had lots of complaints about not having bacon and they may be looking into it!
Other wise the hotel was perfectly situated for our purpose.

Reviewed by
P Castle

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for shops and sights ....
but little else to recommend it apart from free parking. Tired decor with grubby, stained carpets throughout. Cooked breakfast consisted of sausage, scrambled egg and beans, but they had run out of sausages (some turned up about 15 minutes later) and "don't do bacon".

ManagementResponse

Dear M Quirke, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We are happy to read that you liked our location and free parking. On the other hand, we regret that the overall hotel condition and your breakfast experience did not make for a completely satisfying hotel stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience these aspects have caused. Your concerns have been forwarded to the hotel management and would like to assure you that the necessary steps will be taken to improve the quality of products and services we offer. Should your travel plans bring you back to our area, we would love to welcome you back. Regards, Tracy, IHG Care

Reviewed by
M Quirke

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
This hotel is in a great location for the historic dockyard etc.

Reviewed by
Agnes D

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next