No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sea Trout Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Eight Trees Staverton, Totnes, TQ9 6PA
The Sea Trout Inn is an idyllic, traditional Devon Inn dating back to the 15th Century situated in the beautiful surroundings of the Dart Valley, near Totnes. We have 10 en-suite letting rooms, a Fine Dining Conservatory Restaurant serving Modern British Cuisine and two individual bar areas serving freshly prepared, homemade, traditional pub food to a very high standard.

The surrounding area has a lot to offer whether it be for a gentle walk along the River Dart, visiting local historical buildings such a Buckfast Abbey, or participating in one of the many outdoor activities like fishing, golf or shooting. Superbly located in the South Hams for exploring The English Riviera with Torquay being only a 15 minute drive away.

Wonderfully located for a restful weekend break, business meeting, lunch or a romantic dinner, The Sea Trout is a welcoming and friendly place for all.
Picture of Sea Trout Inn, Totnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lucky Find. (August 2014)
We have recently stayed for 5 nights at the Sea Trout Inn. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The Proprietors, Jason and Sam, are delightful and together with the other staff run a brilliant place to stay. Breakfast is excellent and we ate each night in the restaurant and enjoyed every meal. It is situated in a quiet village within beautiful countryside and so many places to visit. This was a last minute break and we consider we were very lucky to discover the Sea Trout Inn and would certainly visit again and recommend to our friends.

Reviewed by
Anthony Q

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
A lovely stay in a peaceful spot, well looked after by the owners and by the staff.

Reviewed by
Sharon D

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Country Inn
Quiet and comfortable. Staff attentive and helpful. Excellent breakfasts.
We enjoyed our short stay during which we were able to explore the River Dart.

Reviewed by
Roger W

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, great location, very welcoming.
booked a stay at the sea trout inn, totnes for a treat for my girlfriends birthday.
from the moment we arrived, Jason made us welcome, carried our bags to our room, explained about the heating and shower etc.
we then went downstairs for food which was really nice, i had steak my gf had pie both were lovely.
the rugby was on the tv and Jason invited us into the stags bar to watch, where we had a good natter whilst watching the rugby with the locals.
after a nice breakfast, we went for a walk down by the river, for which Jasons directions were spot on, steam trains regularly run on the tracks that run right alongside the river as well as a nice church on the way back to wander around. locals were friendly as were the train spotters.
I will definatly be booking another stay.

Reviewed by
Darren Linden

From bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous find
Lovely inn, even though I arrived in howling gale and rain. Staff very welcoming, accommodation great and meal very good and beautifully presented.
My porridge was the best I have ever tasted, served with honey!

Reviewed by
Joan Board

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place where you can relax
Really friendly and helpful staff. Bonus to be in a pub when you want to have a few drinks and then retreat to the lovely, comfortable room...

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Brentford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super little place, very dog friendly!

Reviewed by
jemma b

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We love this place, excellent food, great rooms that's why we keep going back!

Reviewed by
Sue J

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, nice room & staff , average food
I liked my stay at The Sea Trout Inn. The location, rooms and staff are all very good , but the food was a bit of a let down as the reviews were so good I had expected something more than average. Having said that the food is reasonably priced. The breakfast was a let down with very small portions and my wifes food was not up to standard. However we would probably go back as the good things made it an overall nice stay.

Reviewed by
brian collier

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfection
An absolutely perfect place to stay in every way. We really feel we have found a true gem and will be returning.

Reviewed by
Susan A

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next