No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dunes Hotel

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
17-19 South Parade , Whitley Bay, NE26 2RE
Welcome to the Dunes Hotel located on South Parade, one of Whitley Bay's most popular destinations, both for its affordable accommodation and its entertaining night life.
Accommodation prices start at just £25 per person per night. We are a clean affordable hotel, making this the perfect place to stay for contractors and party groups.
All rooms are en-suite, fitted with a TV and tea & coffee facilities. We also have free parking and free WIFI!
Guests staying Monday - Thursday will also receive great discount in the adjoining bar.
Picture of Dunes Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely disappointed
We were extremely disappointed with the standard of the rooms, there was no hot water and only a trickle of cold water from the shower. No plug in the sink and people banging on the bedroom doors in the middle of the night.

ManagementResponse

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I would like to go through each point you have arisen one by one. We feel for the price you paid for your room is adequate and value for money. The price you paid also included a full breakfast which other b&b's in Whitley Bay do not offer. We must apologise for there not being hot water, we had a stag party in on the same night who found it amusing to find the stopcock and turn it off, resulting in the full hotel not having hot water that evening. It cost considerable time and money to get a heating engineer out to locate and rectify the problem. As for the banging on the doors, we have watched the CCTV back and the incident of the man knocking on the door was him trying to locate one of his friends. This could have happened in any hotel, any time, anywhere. If you would like to discuss things further please do not hesitate to ring the hotel.

Reviewed by
D Laidlaw

From Denny, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money. Very helpful and courteous staff
Un-beatable price, nice location close to all amenities. Walking distance to Sainsburys local 5 minutes away, Tesco express 7 minutes away, Morisons 15 minutes away.

Reviewed by
A Siddiqui

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer
Arrived at Hotel and there was no one on reception - in fact there was no reception or contact details -
Enjoyed stay - slept well (until a fellow gust knocked on my door a 7am looking for his friend - Just got back to sleep and he knocked again - none of this was the fault of the hotel though) - This is a budget hotel (ie:- it puts a roof over your head and a bed to sleep in) well worth every penny - would happily stay there again

ManagementResponse

Dear Customer, Thank you for you kind review, I can only sincerely apologise for the mix up with your check in. Unfortunately we had a member of staff call in sick at the last minute and were unable to get a replacement straight away. We do hope you stay again. Kind Regards, Dunes Hotel

Reviewed by
i hough

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money

Reviewed by
r fullilove

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great North Runners
Great location close to Metro and sea. Brilliant, helpful staff. Basic rooms only let down by poor quality of mattresses.

Reviewed by
D Paine

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap an cheerful
For £25 you cannot moan

Reviewed by
J Singleton

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitely Bay
This was a terrible experience.The room was ok for the price but on a Street where there was a constant trail of poeple walking backwards and forwards to the bars on the seafront. Shouting and screaming and falling over, this carried on until 0430 am. Then at 0800hrs the room next door fired up with disco music. The breakfast and service in the morning was very poor, with a constant juke box playing in the bar which takes up the whole of the bottom floor. Avoid this part of the town unless you are on a hen party or such.

ManagementResponse

My colleagues and I think this in an unfair review on our hotel. The only thing mentioned about the hotel itself was about breakfast, which is a fair comment and if you had addressed the staff on duty they would have been happy to help. Every other comment on the review speak about Whitley Bay the town and not us a hotel. As mentioned the review states it was loud outside with people walking backward and forward. Whitley bay is a party destination, famous for its night life. We cater for stag and hens, and we do have a bar downstairs adjoining the hotel (which is stated in the hotel description) which does play music but we only have a 12 o'clock licence so all music was turned off for 12 and the bar was shut. This review seems more aimed at Whitley bay rather than the Dunes Hotel. In the comment is it stated 'The room was ok for the price,' the only thing we provide is a room, which is not complained about.

Reviewed by
stephen m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice

Reviewed by
VIDAS Z

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Was given my room key on arrival and that was the only interaction I had . Room was clean and tidy and definitely good value for money.

Reviewed by
Stuart V

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard hotel amongst many similar
Look for Bar VI on the corner as that's the hotel. Older, scruffy place, but welcoming and friendly, decent sized room and ensuite, nice a warm, comfortable bed, very much the same as many others around but nevertheless a good choice.

Reviewed by
David K

From Malaysia
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next