No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dunes Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
17-19 South Parade , Whitley Bay, NE26 2RE
Welcome to the Dunes Hotel located on South Parade, one of Whitley Bay's most popular destinations, both for its affordable accommodation and its entertaining night life.
Accommodation prices start at just £25 per person per night. We are a clean affordable hotel, making this the perfect place to stay for contractors and party groups.
All rooms are en-suite, fitted with a TV and tea & coffee facilities. We also have free parking and free WIFI!
Guests staying Monday - Thursday will also receive great discount in the adjoining bar.
Picture of Dunes Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money

Reviewed by
r fullilove

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great North Runners
Great location close to Metro and sea. Brilliant, helpful staff. Basic rooms only let down by poor quality of mattresses.

Reviewed by
D Paine

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap an cheerful
For £25 you cannot moan

Reviewed by
J Singleton

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitely Bay
This was a terrible experience.The room was ok for the price but on a Street where there was a constant trail of poeple walking backwards and forwards to the bars on the seafront. Shouting and screaming and falling over, this carried on until 0430 am. Then at 0800hrs the room next door fired up with disco music. The breakfast and service in the morning was very poor, with a constant juke box playing in the bar which takes up the whole of the bottom floor. Avoid this part of the town unless you are on a hen party or such.

ManagementResponse

My colleagues and I think this in an unfair review on our hotel. The only thing mentioned about the hotel itself was about breakfast, which is a fair comment and if you had addressed the staff on duty they would have been happy to help. Every other comment on the review speak about Whitley Bay the town and not us a hotel. As mentioned the review states it was loud outside with people walking backward and forward. Whitley bay is a party destination, famous for its night life. We cater for stag and hens, and we do have a bar downstairs adjoining the hotel (which is stated in the hotel description) which does play music but we only have a 12 o'clock licence so all music was turned off for 12 and the bar was shut. This review seems more aimed at Whitley bay rather than the Dunes Hotel. In the comment is it stated 'The room was ok for the price,' the only thing we provide is a room, which is not complained about.

Reviewed by
stephen m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice

Reviewed by
VIDAS Z

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Was given my room key on arrival and that was the only interaction I had . Room was clean and tidy and definitely good value for money.

Reviewed by
Stuart V

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard hotel amongst many similar
Look for Bar VI on the corner as that's the hotel. Older, scruffy place, but welcoming and friendly, decent sized room and ensuite, nice a warm, comfortable bed, very much the same as many others around but nevertheless a good choice.

Reviewed by
David K

From Malaysia
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mix up with bookings and cold room with noisy toilet!
Despite making my booking in November 2012 I arrived to find out I was not on the allocation of rooms list.....so I ended up due to someone non arrival at that time in an attic room with four beds....no problem with that...but the room had no heating, and so was really cold, and the room had the most noisy toilet I've ever come across!

Reviewed by
Stephen Maddison

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, does what it says on the tin.
I stayed for the Great North Run weekend and no complaints whatsoever, this is bang on the money for what it is. Spacious ensuite twin room including breakfast for £25/night on busiest weekend of the year for the area was a bargain. Happy customer.

Reviewed by
PHILIP S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower didn't work
Tv didn't work
Generally dirty and smelly

ManagementResponse

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, but on inspection of your room after your complaint we have to disagree and argue that the room was neither dirty nor smelly. The maintenance man could not find a fault in the shower and as for the TV we apologise the remote was missing but the TV itself can still be used by using the buttons on the side.

Reviewed by
simon d

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next