No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Hart, Ford

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ford Nr Chippenham & Bath, CHIPPENHAM, SN14 8RP
The White Hart is situated in a stunning location nestled in a beautiful valley between the Georgian city of Bath and the M4. Built over a brook well known for Brown Trout sport fishing, The White Hart has a fantastic reputation for fine food, in warm and friendly surroundings. The location was, in fact, used for filming the original Doctor Doolitle movie. Serving superb food and fantastic real ales including Marstons Pedigree.

Local attractions include Castle Combe race circuit, the villages of Lacock and Castle Combe and the splendid city of Bath is just a dozen miles away.

With 11 beatutifully appointed rooms with flat screen tvs and free internet access, The White Hart is a perfect venue for business or pleasure.
Picture of The White Hart, Ford, CHIPPENHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yet another pub with annex-rooms still charging five-star prices
The pictures promised much and the romantic location was great.
We checked in inside the pub before being directed back outside across the lane to the annex.
Do not be alarmed - once you get there it is a very high quality set up with really luxurious bedrooms. The quality of the furnishings, bedroom, bathroom, soaps etc is brilliant.
There were lots of pleasant little touches like free biscuits etc.
Unfortunately, the breakfast was a sad affair with dry scrambled eggs and too-loud pop music.
There were no other diners and the floor was being mopped. We had clicked for the 'free breakfast' offer but this was vigorously denied upon checkout despite my showing the original booking info on my smartphone. And why would I lie about it?
The check-out girl insisted we pay extra for the breakfast and would not budge.
We were upset at the way we were treated and it spoiled our visit.
Conclusion: Great facilities let down by poor customer service.
Fancy allowing an argument to take place with a guest over a few pounds.
If I owned this establishment I would be appalled to read this review.

Reviewed by
Nick Blunn

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful Location
The location, setting and character of the White Hart perfectly matched what we wanted in a country pub - excellent food and drink in a delightful restaurant. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable but some minor items such as lighting and heating needed some attention. We would go back.

Reviewed by
John E

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class Establishment.
We stayed for one night, just wish it had been longer.Every thing about the White Heart was a lovely experience. Very friendly and helpful staff. The bedroom was clean and nice and warm, with immaculate bathroom. We decided to eat in the restaurant in the evening, the choice and the food were amazing.The best pheasant i have tasted. I cannot praise the White Heart highly enough. Also i would recommend it to everybody.

Reviewed by
Gail H

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem
Lovely atmosphere and our bedroom was great - maybe the double bed is a little small for 2 large people but it was fine for us. The only negative we could find is that we were on the ground floor and the floor above was quite creaky when people walked on it - not a problem if you're a heavy sleeper. We would go back again.

Reviewed by
Gail J

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rooms. very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good experience
Good location and picturesque surroundings. Bedrooms very nicely furnished, bed was comfortable and a clean ensuite. Could do with more shelf space and drinking glasses would have been useful. The staff were all young but quite friendly and accommodating. We stayed 2 nights and ate in the restaurant, unfortunately the food was fairly average. Our last day was somewhat marred by the very poor service at breakfast, we had to wait 45 minutes for our order, this was in addition to enquiring where our food was, and how much longer we would have to wait. They were obviously experiencing problems with food supplies, why the manager didn't just say so and avoid disgruntled customers is a mystery, especially as again the food wasn't up to scratch. A great pity as the accommodation, staff and surroundings are very good.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful inn
My wife and I were very pleased with our stay. The white hart inn staff were very friendly and the inn has plenty of character and charm. It was lucky to find a place to stay with our dogs that was of such good quality. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to all based on our experience.

Reviewed by
A Sutcliffe

From Stalham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub, great setting
Spent two days. Would return again any time. Great value for money. Love the friendly Aussie bar staff!

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newly refurbished under new management so a few minor teething problems - wonderful location
We bokked before the new prices come into force. When they do, it will be expensive and breakfast will be extra which I find very irritating

Reviewed by
M Graley

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great getaway
We stayed for 4 nights and can't fault the place, the staff were super friendly and helpful, the rooms are very well turned out and the price is reasonable. If I was to be really picky the chef over cooked the steak (served medium when it should have been rare) but aside from that its a great place to stay, we will defiantly be back.

Reviewed by
Michael Thomson

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next