No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Acorn Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
154 CHESTERTON ROAD , CAMBRIDGE, CB4 1DA
Ideally situated near the River Cam, city centre, colleges and most business parks, this guest house provides comfortable accommodation and a wonderful atmosphere. Acorn Guest House is located within walking distance of the River Cam, the historic city centre and the famous colleges. If travelling on foot to the centre, the journey is a pleasant walk alongside the river and across the greens. PLEASE NOTE: Credit Cards are subject to a 5% surcharge.

Cambridge is one of the most beautiful cities in Britain and is steeped in history and tradition. Cambridge is a city best discovered on foot and guests find our location ideal for exploring the sights. PLEASE NOTE: Credit Cards are subject to a 5% surcharge.

Picture of Acorn Guest House, CAMBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, convenient for buses, comfortable room and a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Peter Todd

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy. Good value for money. Friendly staff. Good variety for breakfast. Continental breakfast well recommended. would stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Cragg

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a city break
A clean and comfortable guest house within walking distance of the city. A friendly host.

Reviewed by
M Lee

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I feel it is very misleading to classify this accommodation as four star
I was disappointed with this accommodation. The room was small, the doors/fittings were shoddy, the bed linen felt old. I wanted to leave almost as soon as I arrived, except there were few trains back to London. If you are staying here out of necessity or convenience, fine (although it is a good walk from the centre of Cambridge). If you are staying here for pleasure, don't.
Breakfast was much better. Aspects were good (the fruit in the continental breakfast); other aspects not to my preferences but still fine (coffee quite weak, boiled egg closer to hard boiled).

Reviewed by
Emma A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An extremely well run and efficient establishment. A comfortable night was spent.
A little tight for space.

Reviewed by
D Ashton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good one night stay
I'd read some reviews of Acorn Guest House that weren't very promising, but actually I found this a great place to stay for my one night in Cambridge, though a bit on the expensive side for using a double room for single occupancy (£75). The Full English Breakfast was very good, and efficiently served, so all in all I would recommend this as a place to stay in a place where accommodation is generally expensive anyway.

Reviewed by
R Forrest

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GOOD. CLEAN ROOM. NICE SHEETS AND TOWELS. WARM. FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF

Reviewed by
CATHERINE WIGGAN

From Wellington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but efficient
The guest house is fine and serves the purpose of a short stay. Good value for money and not too far a walk from the town centre

Reviewed by
Mark R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good place,good service

Reviewed by
Peisheng Ye

From London, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very good value for the money
I wasn't very comfortable in the tiny room with the sloping ceiling. The sink was clogged and the carpet was quite dirty and smelly. Not very good value for the money.

Reviewed by
Zouheir E

From Sweden
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next