No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bentley's

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
427 westgate road, , , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 8RL
Bentleys is a 3 star rated guesthouse and coffee shop, we are just 1 mile away from Newcastle City Centre. We have excellent transport links to the city centre and make an excellent base for exploring the lively city of Newcastle. Newcastle and Gateshead have something to offer every visitor with many cultural and historic attractions, museums, shops and world famous nightlife. Stunning architecture to be seen includes Gateshead Millenium Bridge, the Angel of the North and the Grade II listed buildings of Newcastle's Grainger Town. Shoppers should visit Eldon Square in Newcastle or Gateshead's MetroCentre. The guesthouse is well placed for those visiting Newcastle University or the Freemans Hospital. The world famous Hadrians Wall is just 20 minutes away and the historic attractions of Northumberland are nearby. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. A residents lounge and dining room are available for customer use. Free Car Parking is available. if there is a group of 4 people or more there is a bond of £25pp which you get back the morning you leave.
Picture of Bentley's, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was just what i wanted

Reviewed by
Don Macrae

From Cowdenbeath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Robin K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place that takes pride in hotel as best it can
I stayed there 2 days... everything was okay, the room was very basic but clean non the less.. No en-suite but didn't expect it for £25!
Breakfast was pleasant the 1 morning I made it up. The people working there seemed to go the extra mile and ran things efficiently..
The only negative which wasn't any fault of the hotel but perhaps the clientele but I was woken up at 3am with very drunken young lads not just shouting obscenities for a minute but literally 20 minutes or so making so much noise and shouting for women in a particularly crude way... so first nights sleep wasn't too good...
The floorboards from 6am also creaked quite badly!
After that however I found my trussed earplugs and had a fabulous 2nd night and definitely not the same disturbances that night.
Overall good experience but don't expect en-suite or jacuzzi in your room! :)

Reviewed by
Anthony P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The room was better than I'd expected for the amount I paid and the hotel also provided facilities for preparation of evening meals (eg fridge, microwave, kettle) in a communal area. This was really useful for saving money on eating in the evenings. The breakfasts provided were also good.

Reviewed by
J Gordon

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for the money!!
Hotel was very clean and very spacious. Hotel staff were very friendly and it was great value for money. I would say the quality of the hotel was just as good as you would receive in a premier inn. Good location got asda, restaurants and takeaway shops on your doors step as well as £5 taxi ride into city centre. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Hayley G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
At first look hotel looked ok. Got inside and booked in and got taken to our room. I tripped on uneven flooring in a doorway and the staff member said she had never noticed it there before yet my friend and I still got caught out by it several times after ( I walk with a stick due to mobility problems). Got to our room and there were no drink facilities in our room, we were expected to buy our drinks from their cafe. Once the cafe was closed there were no facilities to have a drink till next morning when we had our inclusive breakfast which was very nice and well cooked but very small portions, 1 sausage, 1 egg, 1 rasher of bacon (burnt to a crisp) and a small spoonful of beans or tomatoes. Cornflakes and shreddies were also available. We were offered tea or coffee but as I don't drink tea or coffee they refused my request for hot chocolate then offered a small glass of orange juice (not available for anyone else wanting it though) . We also had an evening meal one night which is not included in our booking and again it was very nice but very small portions for the price we paid. We also found on our first night that a picture above my bed had been smashed, the glass was very loose and when I tried to inform a staff member about it they just walked off and ignored me. I'm sure that they must have known about as when making the bed it is in eye view and it wouldn't take much for the large pieces of broken glass to fall out and cause a lot of damage to someone as there were some large, pointed, sharp pieces in it.
The hotel had no wifi available in our rooms and nothing to tell us about the hotel facilities or local information

Reviewed by
g horner

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whistle Stop Tour To Newcstle
My last visit to Newcastle was in the early 1990's. On this occasion Newcastle was part of a general tour of the North East and North West.
The staff were very friendly and hospitable. My room was very clean and comfortable and good for someone staying for a short period on a budget.
My breakfast was a good vegetarian(I'm Veggie) variation of full English. Also very useful during my stay was unlimited use of a kitchen, microwave, utensils and coffee (vital for the morning)

Reviewed by
John Lloyd

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
John A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for the money
Can't comment on the food because I left too early for breakfast but the room was comfortable, the shower worked fine and it was ideal for my needs. Hotel is v well situated for the town centre (15 min fast walk to the bus station), not the smartest part of town, but you gets what you pay for.

Reviewed by
Nicholas G

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.

Reviewed by
Benjamin D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next