No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bentley's

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
427 westgate road, , , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 8RL
Bentleys is a 3 star rated guesthouse and coffee shop, we are just 1 mile away from Newcastle City Centre. We have excellent transport links to the city centre and make an excellent base for exploring the lively city of Newcastle. Newcastle and Gateshead have something to offer every visitor with many cultural and historic attractions, museums, shops and world famous nightlife. Stunning architecture to be seen includes Gateshead Millenium Bridge, the Angel of the North and the Grade II listed buildings of Newcastle's Grainger Town. Shoppers should visit Eldon Square in Newcastle or Gateshead's MetroCentre. The guesthouse is well placed for those visiting Newcastle University or the Freemans Hospital. The world famous Hadrians Wall is just 20 minutes away and the historic attractions of Northumberland are nearby. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. A residents lounge and dining room are available for customer use. Free Car Parking is available. if there is a group of 4 people or more there is a bond of £25pp which you get back the morning you leave.
Picture of Bentley's, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value and very friendly.
Have no complaints at all, good size room, everything we needed. No problems, good location, excellent bus service.

Reviewed by
Jennifer J

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Good value for money. Very helpfull staff

Reviewed by
J Carter

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really nice for the price
me and my friends had a really nice stay, rooms was nice and clean with tv. breakfast was a bit small for my likening, customer service was good. will stay again

Reviewed by
tracey butler

From Catterick Garrison, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay location
I had room 18 and I can not fault it. After all what do you want for £25 per night. A three night stop over on my own and it fitted the bill. Would I stay again if in Newcastle, Yes I would.
Breakfast was terrific and you they would change the portions if requested.

Reviewed by
Mark A

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Nice Little Place
This is the second time I have stayed here (four nights on this occasion) and I would be happy to stay there again. On this occasion I was not in an en-suite room but the shared facilities were clean and I never had to queue. The staff are pleasant and very friendly and will always help you. There is a cafe where breakfast is served and you can get food up to about 5pm. Breakfast was more than adequate consisting of cereal and / or a full English with toast. There are plenty of restaurants locally as well as an Asda supermarket if you are on a tight budget.

Reviewed by
Stuart W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

job done
Got a good night's sleep and a filling breakfast the next morning. Isn't anything fancy, but didn't have any problems. A good value place to crash, in a reasonably accessible location.

Reviewed by
Pete J

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice guesthouse
I stayed in Bentley's guesthouse for one night on a business trip. In spite of the cheap prices, my room was very nice, comfortable and had a tasteful interior. In addition, the service was very friendly. The guest house lies within walking distance from the town centre and is therefore suitable for visitors wanting to explore the city. All in all, I was happy I chose this place to stay in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
Louisa K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I will find this place!!
After getting directions from the highly recommended "Heroes" takeaway restaurant which were very helpful and specific, I decided to set off on my journey up to Bentleys for the night. I had a huge rucksack on my back and a big suitcase which made the mile long journey sound a lot less appealing than it would have been if i'd have had no luggage. Little did I, know that from the Grainger St train station exit, the destination was all uphill which made it that much more difficult. Past all the motorcycle shops, past the "lamp", past the graveyard, past the school... Following the directions still and eventually found the place. The instructions were bang on and the coffee shop/ guest house was in sight. Thank God!!!
The place was everything I'd have hoped for really...well everything you'd want for £29 including breakfast. The room was tidy, clean, had a comfy bed, TV with all the freeview channels, sink, plenty of drawer/wardrobe space and easy access to the toilet/shower area. I had a horrible vision in my mind that the place would be really noisy because I believe there was a big football game on that night and had seen a lot of loud shouty lads around Newcastle late that afternoon. Thankfully not the case, and I barely heard a peep after about 9pm.
As mentioned, the bed was comfy and I got a really good night's sleep though did have to open the window through the night as it was a little too warm.
Down in the coffee shop the next morning for breakfast, I was greeted by nice friendly staff who brought me a nice pot of fresh coffee and a lovely full English breakfast which whilst not the biggest breakfast I've ever seen, was more than adequate and was good quality all round.
For what I paid, I can't really fault Bentleys and would happily stay there again and will probably be booking in again for my next visit to Newcastle in a few weeks time. Oh, and i had absolutely no problems with phone or internet connections whilst there which is always a bonus.

Reviewed by
A Simpson

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean, friendly and good value hotel
Bentleys was a good place to stay midweek while visiting Newcastle University. It was close to the city centre and had free car parking available. The room was basic but clean and had everything that was required for a comfortable night. There was no noise from inside or outside the hotel to disturb a nights sleep. The breakfast was a good full English served with toast and a choice of tea or coffee. Staff and other guests were friendly and the hotel was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
John M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value BnB
Nice little B&B which is excellent value, close to Newcastle City Center and you get Breakfast!
cheaper than return Train Journey and Taxi Fare's from Middlesbrough
will stay again

Reviewed by
john w

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next