No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Marquis

5AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
ALKHAM VALLEY ROAD , DOVER, CT15 7DF
It's a strikingly contemporary restaurant and hotel. The product of a major renovation in 2008, what was once the village's pub, The Marquis of Granby, has been utterly transformed. Space, light, fine furnishings and beautiful fabrics – the opportunity to fine tune every detail hasn't been missed.
The restaurant is a revelation. Head Chef Charles Lakin's seasonally inspired and locally sourced menus are as fresh as they are imaginative, and the elegant 21st century styling is exceptional.

Queen sized pocket sprung beds are swathed in the finest cotton. Sumptuous fabrics dress windows and chairs. And an eclectic collection of art completes the mood, the mix and the personality that makes this place unique.

Boutique chic in the heart of the English countryside? You've found it. You've arrived.
Picture of The Marquis, DOVER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marquis of Granby
Excellent food & service with an unusual room.

Reviewed by
Michael Tattersall

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unfortunate experience!

Reviewed by
Robert Gould

From Middle Littleton, Evesham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay.
All the staff worked hard and well together. The service and standard throughout was really good for relatively young team of people who were cheerful and efficient.

Reviewed by
M B

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late decision to stay turns out well
Booked after 2000 and then turned up at the hotel within 30 minutes. They were ready and expecting me and looked after me well.

Reviewed by
i Anderson

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a fabulous hotel in a beautiful English village. The room was fantastic (collard), the bed really comfy and the bathroom luxurious (loved the shutters). We were able to enjoy the cricket across the road from our bedroom window. The breakfast was excellent with a massive choice, would suit all tastes.

Reviewed by
JANE L

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Onenightstopover
Great accommodation cleanliness 5star. Staff attentive and helpful

Reviewed by
Susan P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'll be back
Great bed, biscuits and FAB breakfast. Sadly only an overnight stay and a late evening arrival. I'll bring my husband the next time and make a right meal of it. Thank you guys.

Reviewed by
Steph Savill

From Steyning, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Marquis Alkham Valley Road Dover
We found the staff excellent and they couldn't do enough to help you feel welcome and make your stay pleasurable. The rooms were exceptionally clean and very well presented and the food was excellent both the breakfasts and dinner. We can only say that we would use again if in the area and recommend highly to other users.

Reviewed by
Mary Astbury

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On route stopover
We were delighted with our stay at The Marquis - the accommodation was really lovely, such tasteful decor. The dinner was especially good and the breakfast with all the healthy options exceptional.
Have already recommended to friends.

Reviewed by
D Robson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique luxury
Stayed in wolverton and can say the room is as lovely as it seems in the hotel photos.
Wonderful double bath, nice big bed and little touches like rubber ducks and coffee machine make all the difference.
We did not make a dinner reservation but if breakfasts is anything to go b we will next time.
The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
What a lovely place

Reviewed by
Liz G

From Eastbourne, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next