The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3

Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (57)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Joanna B

  • September 2014

A little gem!

We booked here as we were going to an event at Silverstone.

Really lovely pub, more foody which was good as it wasn't too noisy. We arrived late and still managed to get a last minute food order in which was delicious. Staff were really great and welcoming. Room was lovely and clean ( the only reason I didn't give full marks was it good do with a better Hoover behind the bathroom door as there was lots of dust/hair) but honestly the rest was really clean and we were impressed

Will come back

  • John P

  • August 2014

Excellent country pub and hotel. Enjoyed lovely food and very comfortable accommodation.

My wife and I will return as the accommodation was first class and the food most enjoyable.

  • Mary S

  • August 2014

Rooms were rather like little cells... could do with a complete rebuild!

The internet connection would not work which was very inconvenient.

  • Beverley F

  • July 2014

Very welcoming

Very welcoming, lovely room, continental breakfast was ok.

Every thing was self service. Would have been nice to have been offered fresh coffee or tea instead of making our own instant variety. But breakfast was sufficient never the less.

  • G richardson

  • July 2014

Made booking, got there, doors locked..

Not much to say really, I made my booking via Laterooms, arrived forty minutes later but the place was locked and bolted.

Pretty poor really.

  • Katie H

  • July 2014

Excellent family room

We stayed for just one night on route to Southampton and it was the perfect place for us to stay in with our young daughters aged 1 and 4.

Very clean comfortable room which was a really good size with a double bed and 2 single beds. We ate dinner at the restaurant as well which was a very nice meal and pretty good value for the quality of the food. Also has a lovely pretty beer garden. Was ideal for a one night stop but is the kind of place you could happily stay for a few days.

  • Tim P

  • July 2014

Double room

My double bedroom was on the small size only a walkway around the bed, no aware to place bags or other item, might be serve better being a single room.

The food choice was good and well prepare and no problem being severed. although the bar did close at 10Pm this was not problem for myself. A nice cooked breakfast would of top of the stay, but you are advised that it is continental breakfast at booking so not a issue.

  • A Greenwood

  • May 2014

A lovely place friendly staff, Food delicious and menu change daily.

  • jason bull

  • May 2014

trip to bicester village, and weekend away :-)

first impression of the duke of cumberlands head was stunning, set in a very quiet village very beautiful grounds, our room no 2 was just 100% perfect ,stairs up to the bathroom,really soft carpet, bed just awesome, very comfortable, hosts were very friendly and made me and my partner very welcome, very relaxing place to stay , nice garden at the back of pub, just peaceful just what we were both looking for, i would not hesitate to book again ;-) 10/10

  • Nick S

  • May 2014

A really great place to stay!

We stayed here for a total of 5 nights over a period of 2 weeks and found the Duke of Cumberlands Head to be exactly what we were looking for.

The room was a good size, clean, tidy and with very welcoming and comfortable beds. The whole place has recently been re-painted and re-carpeted but regardless of this it was still no problem for our Jack Russell Terrier to stay with us at no extra charge. The family run concern provides excellent, very friendly customer service and nothing is too much. The food is of a good quality and was half price at lunch time making it exceptionally amazing value. We will definitely be looking to stay here again when we visit Banbury again...