No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE
The Duke of Cumberland's Head is a beautiful thatched village inn that dates from the seventeenth century. It has five bedrooms which have been decorated to a high standard. The price of the rooms includes a continental breakfast including boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, tea and coffee. Cooked breakfast is available at the weekends.

Our excellent chefs have created a delicious menu which is their interpretation of traditional pub food. The menu constantly evolves and is complemented by our specials board which reflects whatever the kitchen has sourced that day, from game and fish to locally-sourced vegetables and meat. The full menu is available 12-2:30, 6:30-9:30.

Beyond the end of the garden, there are beautiful walks through the North Oxfordshire countryside and the pub is a perfect place to stay for a weekend, being perfectly situated for Bicester village, Oxford, Chipping Norton and The Cotswolds. The pub is only five miles from junction 10 of the M40.
Picture of The Duke of Cumberland's Head, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good stop off for a long journey
An excellent place to stop off.
Good accommodation, wide range of well cooked food, nice quiet place for a walk to stretch you legs.
all over an excellent place to stay

Reviewed by
Norman P

From Llangollen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country pub

Reviewed by
D Scott

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok For the Price
We stayed at the Duke of Cumberlands Head for one night on the way from Cumbria to a birthday party on the south coast. The wellcome was excellent, and we were shown to our room at the rear of the hotel. The stair carpet was heavily stained and gave a poor first impression. The room was Ok and the bed comfortable. The bathroom left a bit to be desired with limescale on the taps, grouting mssing from the floor tiles and a black, rotten window frame!
Breakfast was a "do it your self" affair - make your own toast & boil your own eggs in an egg-boiler that we never got to grips with. Tea bags were provided to make your own tea in the cup.
On the whole it was ok for the £49:00 for two we paid for the night.
RHE

Reviewed by
Richard E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Pub
We enjoyed staying at this lovely inn. The room was quaint and comfortable. We had a beautiful meal as it was burger night. (Home made I might add!). Would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
LESLEY THOMPSON

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover for one nights stay
Very quaint old English pub. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Janet W

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the smartest hotels we have ever been to!!!!!
We would like to say that almost everything (we leave a 1%) was perfect.
Very quiet place although near the road. Welcome, cleanliness, food, warmth of the room, we can not fault anything.
Would highly, highly recommend this place. Heaven on earth.

Reviewed by
A Bosher

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet but nice
Room was cold on arrival but took minutes to become very warm and cosy. New staff just started so took a little longer than normal to book in and to pay my bill when leaving. Food was very good, we had the steaks on special offer (Monday evenings).
Beer was excellent, pub is a little bit quiet on the Monday and Tueaday we stayed.

Reviewed by
C Taylor

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely inn with great rooms in a beautiful location - would recommend and go back. Many thanks :)

Reviewed by
G Ward

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I like a cool room but...
We visited during a very unexpected cold snap. This is listed building and therefore room heating can be a problem, but perhaps the electric radiator could have been switched on earlier to warm the room a bit.This was not helped by the outside pub door being propped open -the upstairs seemed very cold. The nicely decorated bedroom had some rather random literature in it, as if someone had left it and no-one thought to throw it away.The young staff were cheerful and helpful, and there was a good atmosphere in the pub. The food was good, but we felt it was overpriced compared for what we are used to, and we're not in a cheap area. Perhaps that is Oxfordshire pricing. The continental breakfast was adequate.

Reviewed by
S Holford

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valentines day
Friendly staff, incredible v day dinner (although I thought quite pricey!) wasn't a massive fan of breakfast truth be told.
Room was freezing but once the heater was put on it improved. Bathroom nice and clean and spacious. Although the room was perfectly nice I was disappointed by the smallness of the double bed.
Other than that my boyf and I had a good night and dinner was defo the highlight

Reviewed by
C Carey

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next