No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE
The Duke of Cumberland's Head is a beautiful thatched village inn that dates from the seventeenth century. It has five bedrooms which have been decorated to a high standard. The price of the rooms includes a continental breakfast including boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, tea and coffee. Cooked breakfast is available at the weekends.

Our excellent chefs have created a delicious menu which is their interpretation of traditional pub food. The menu constantly evolves and is complemented by our specials board which reflects whatever the kitchen has sourced that day, from game and fish to locally-sourced vegetables and meat. The full menu is available 12-2:30, 6:30-9:30.

Beyond the end of the garden, there are beautiful walks through the North Oxfordshire countryside and the pub is a perfect place to stay for a weekend, being perfectly situated for Bicester village, Oxford, Chipping Norton and The Cotswolds. The pub is only five miles from junction 10 of the M40.
Picture of The Duke of Cumberland's Head, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rural Hideaway
This place offered a friendly welcome, great food, nice beer in a characterful inn in a rural backwater. We stayed four nights this time and will stay there again next time we're in that area

Reviewed by
John C

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
Excellent accomodation, clean and comfortable with good facilities. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
S Anderson

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value and quirky venue at Duke of Cumberland
Fantastic value for money, booked on spur of the moment, but what a treat! Great menu in the bar, couple of real ales at reasonable prices, really nice staff, tiny but perfectly-formed bedroom, and super garden, with good parking. What's not to love about this hotel/inn?!

Reviewed by
Kate O

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quaint b&b
Lovely village pub and b&b in a beautiful location within great distance to Upper Heyford Driving experience where we were heading the next day. The rooms were very floral but clean and tidy with everything you would need or expect for a short stay. Due to some recent refurbishment that had finished earlier that day there was a problem with the water in our room and she shower did not work, However the friendly welcoming staff were happy to help and did not charge us for the stay as there was nothing they could do to fix the problem straight away. This was a very kind and appreciated gesture. Breakfast was basic but fine :)

Reviewed by
Katy L

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
first impression was very good but discovered on checking in the pub was closed for refurbishment the next day for a few days so felt as though I was being pushed out before I had begun my stay. It would have been nice to have been informed prior to booking. I would have stayed elsewhere. Thankfully there wasn't too much noise or disturbance when I was there but again I did feel rushed. Would not stay again but it wouldn't stop me recommending to others if asked as situation was "a one off." Didn't eat at pub. Time range for check in was very good.

Reviewed by
l lazenby

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear!
This B &B needs some urgent updating. Room was very tired and not too clean. Furniture needs replacing although the bed was very comfy. Bit of a health and safety issue with the kettle! Curtains don't provide much privacy as they are ill fitting and our room faced the main road.

Reviewed by
Linda R

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over
Very attractive from outside and made to feel very welcome by staff. Our room was clean and well presented but as it was a warm evening we needed the window open and the traffic noise was over bearing lasting well into the evening and starting again in the morning. The food seemed slightly over priced but that is a purely personal point. Breakfast was adequate but limited to cornflakes and sliced bread to toast - didn't try the egg boiler. As another reviewer remarked the carpet on the stairs and corridor was stained and really doesn't give a good first impression. On the good side the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and there is plenty of off road parking.

Reviewed by
Reg B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Would definitely recommend this to anyone, lovely room, beautiful setting, food 1st class.

Reviewed by
R Miles

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was good but breakfast toaster and egg poacher needed a good wash. Also a bit disappointed with size of bar / restaurant only about 8 tables. Would recommend but make aware of breakfast facility.

Reviewed by
Celia Jones

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looked nice on the photos
Looked nice on the photos but has significant drawbacks.
On the positive side it was well located for access to local areas. The staff were friendly enough but the staff on duty for our first morning rather resented us asking for breakfast at 8.15 because it was a bank holiday even though breakfast was from 7.00am. I say breakfast, what was billed as a continental breakfast turned out to be a D.I.Y affair of cereal, toast and boiled egg all cobbled together on a bar table in a rather dangerous fashion with a kettle, unreliable toaster and egg-boiler all plugged into a trailing extension cable and all resting in a puddle of water - one guest nealy burnt himself on the toaster which seemed reluctant to release its bread until turned to charcoal.
The room was quiet although rather small with no wardrobe space. The TV reception was exceptionally poor and on arrival the floor appeared not to have been thoroughly cleaned; there were remnants of clothes ties and "fluff" on the carpet. The bed was clean and comfortable. The view from the window was not the most attractive, overlooking the pub working area with an assortment of discarded items including a large number of calor gas cylinders.
The bathroom was good size but the was mildew around the shower tiles and the floor was quite dusty as a result of the grout between the tiles having cracked and broken.
The evening meal was interesting, on arrival we were informed that the menu had not been made up owing to a shortage of some items. Even the limited menu presented at dinner, however, appeared to be rather challenging for the limited supplies, during the course of the evening a succession of guests were informed that what they had selected was no longer available (it was somewhat reminiscent of Fawlty Towers). The food was well cooked and presented although I thought somewhat over-priced for what it was and they seemed to have a problem in serving any requesed variations such as replacing potatoes with more veg.
This location could really be rather special but is let down by a rather slapdash approach to cleanliness and service.

Reviewed by
R Sawyer

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next