No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE
The Duke of Cumberland's Head is a beautiful thatched village inn that dates from the seventeenth century. It has five bedrooms which have been decorated to a high standard. The price of the rooms includes a continental breakfast including boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, tea and coffee. Cooked breakfast is available at the weekends.

Our excellent chefs have created a delicious menu which is their interpretation of traditional pub food. The menu constantly evolves and is complemented by our specials board which reflects whatever the kitchen has sourced that day, from game and fish to locally-sourced vegetables and meat. The full menu is available 12-2:30, 6:30-9:30.

Beyond the end of the garden, there are beautiful walks through the North Oxfordshire countryside and the pub is a perfect place to stay for a weekend, being perfectly situated for Bicester village, Oxford, Chipping Norton and The Cotswolds. The pub is only five miles from junction 10 of the M40.
Picture of The Duke of Cumberland's Head, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury stay... Beautiful little village!
Had such a lovely welcome after a tiring trip down from Southampton. To then be taken up to our beautiful room, very comfy and good night sleep. A nice shower in the morning and a free breakfast!
Would love to stay again as felt so comfortable, yet a really good price! Very satisfied!

Reviewed by
L Rogers

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country pub and hotel
From the entrance (albeit nearly knocking myself out on the low beams and uneven floorboards, my fault I didn't read the signs) to the exit, our stay was perfect. As a family of 4 we enjoyed a quality evening meal in the pub and then retired to our room (No 1 family room). The room is very spacious with a double bed and 2 singles. The ensuite with shower/bath was brilliant. A lovely quiet night was had. In the morning we were greeted with a delightful continental breakfast with the option of fresh boiled eggs. (A full English was available prebooked the night before for an added £5.95 each). Overall, a very quaint English pub/hotel set in a countryside location.

Reviewed by
T Davis

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic overnight stop
We overnighted here en route to Cadbury World and we were very glad we did! We really couldn't fault a thing. The welcome was very friendly, the food was great, the room was perfect (very comfy beds!) and the price was reasonable. This was the only place I found near to Oxford that had a family room with two separate single beds for the children which was a bonus too. After a lovely breakfast of boiled eggs, toast and cereal, we were on our way. All in all, an excellent stay and I would definitely recommend The Duke of Cumberland's Head.

Reviewed by
R Vivian

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Beautiful, quaint little hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
sheila Dawber

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed my stay
I really like this hotel, it's in a very good location, close to Bicester and Banbury. I'll stay again for sure.

Reviewed by
C Lavender

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
Very attentive a
And friendly staff

Reviewed by
Dorothy S

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
Very friendly. Rooms very comfortable

Reviewed by
L Hall

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub with lots of character
Fantastic pub and the room we had was full of charature. Was a little chilly in the room but there was an electric radiator which we put on when we went for dinner and was quite adequate.The food at the pub was fantastic and worth every penny, one of the best meals i've ever had. Breakfast was excellent (cereals toast and boiled eggs) exactly what i wanted. Will deff come back again.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby Chic ?
Olde worlde pub looked promising on arrival. Sadly didn't live up to expectation. Stairs going upto rooms scruffy and smelly. If I closed my eyes to the general state of repair and maintenance then the room looked lovely. BUT its certainly seen better days - curtains hanging off the rail, furniture missing trim, dirty shower screen, scruffy dressing table, broken dirty windows, erratic plumbing just to name a few. As we were only 1 of 2 couples staying there I assume we were given one of the better rooms so wonder what the rest were like? The Hotel Inspector would have a field day!! . Plus points - plenty of toiletries & clean towels, comfy bed, lovely framed water colours. OK for a single nights stay but wouldn't want to stay longer. Didn't dine there so can't really comment on food but help-yourself continental-style breakfast was more than adequate. Staff were pleasant and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Glyn H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stab in the dark came up trumps!
Not suitable for anyone with mobility problems - our room was up one flight of stairs, the en suite up another flight. Room was cold when we arrived and didn't really warm up do to inadequate heating. Very pleasant and well heated restaurant with blazing log fire. Good choice of food on the menu , reasonably priced, freshly cooked and of good quality. Continental breakfast was very adequate and included option to prepare one's own toast and boiled eggs. Good all round value for money.

Reviewed by
Ronald O

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next