No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Penrhos Arms Limited

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cemmaes , Machynlleth, SY20 9PR
The Penrhos Arms Hotel is prominently positioned within an area of outstanding natural beauty that captures the hearts of many visitors enjoying a short break or visiting the area on business.

Ideally situated within the heart of a village life just a short drive from Machynlleth, where a traditional Welsh welcome awaits customers wishing to embrace the sceinic surroundings an enjoy a relaxing break or overnight stay

Mid Wales is adorned with magnificent mountains, valleys and lakes and just a short drive from the beaches makes The Penrhos popular with many customers who stay thoughout the year who enjoys a home from home experience.

Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend.
Picture of Penrhos Arms Limited, Machynlleth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well looked after
I arrived after a six hour journey and was efficiently looked after. The room had everything it needed and a decent modern shower/bathroom. Free wifi was useful. I had dinner in the pub and a few drinks and felt very comfortable in the bar.
My only comment was my room was above the kitchens and the noise from the kitchen was noticeable until later in the evening.

Reviewed by
Phil C

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was fine for the price, we stayed in room 1, the en-suite shower was poor.
Quiet village location, small hotel with freindly staff.

Reviewed by
I Webster

From Dunkeld, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely welcoming place to stay
I booked to stay here only a few days before driving to Wales, I wanted to see a friend holidaying in the area and I needed to stay somewhere that welcomed dogs. Both myself and the hound were made very welcome, there is even a fenced in garden area so he could go outside without needing to be on his lead. On arrival, I realised I had a very flat tyre on my car. The lovely people at the Penrhos helped me with putting the space saver tyre on and were able to ring a local garage on by behalf, I was able to get the tyre put on the next morning so it didn't spoil my break. My friend came over for dinner with her children when I told her about the car and the food was fantastic. The room we stayed in was lovely, I slept very well and so did my little hound!

Reviewed by
Kimberley B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place made most welcome food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed, friendly hotel with excellent food.
We had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Penrhos Arms.
The staff were so friendly we felt completely at home.

Reviewed by
Jan O

From Castle Cary, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room in a nice location

Reviewed by
P Nicholls

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break
Comfy bed, good food, attentive staff, will return, will recommend!

Reviewed by
D Cooper

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't wait to book again
What a perfect place to stay if you're a 'newby' to Snowdonia. We were in the heart of beautiful countryside with only a short drive to everything we could wish to visit. The staff were amazingly friendly and extremely helpful & nothing was too much trouble. We had lovely rooms and very comfy .. No shortage of tea, coffee biscuits & bottled water (even the few cobwebs didn't put us off - sort of made it more rustic!) The owner was LOVELY and I can't wait to go back in September with my other daughter and her new baby (due in August) Thank you so much for making our Easter weekend even more special than it was

Reviewed by
Hilary Hartrey

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, the room was lovely and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Dawn the owner went out of her way to ensure our stay was very pleasant, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Dave H

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, friendly, very helpful staff!
Penrhos was a great place to stay- the pictures did not do the family room justice. The staff were great, there was a noisy party in the pub on the first night which unexpectedly went on till 4 am- they moved us into the cottage next door the next night and were very accommodating

Reviewed by
N Yeong

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next