Gadds Town House

5

34 Old Elvet Durham City, Durham, DH1 3HN

Price From 306.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

96% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Nicholson

  • March 2015

Gadds Town House

Fabulous quirky hotel.

Excellent staff. Would recommend highly to anyone wanting a place that's a bit different.

  • S Reid

  • January 2015

Brilliant

We had a garden room (Le Jardin) in a single storey extension to the rear of the main building with a hot tub on a terrace overlooking Durham sports fields to the rear.

This room was well furnished with deep pile carpet rich upholstery and decorations and the bathroom had a roll top bath and walk-in shower. this is a very private attractive room. We had thought of trying a local restaurant and were pleased we didn't as the hotel restaurant served fantastic food. Service was cheerful and excellent. I have stayed in a number of boutique hotels in the north of England (especially targeting those with hot tubs) and this was one of the best.

  • s mccreesh

  • September 2014

lovely hotel and lovely food but rooms not worth the money

The hotel itself is very quirky and a lovely place staff there from recetionist to dining room staff were all lovely and attentive the food was amazing couldnt fault it

Our garden room and hot tub were nicely decorated and clean shower room brilliant but I must say for the size and what you get it wasnt worth the money at 260 a night to me is very steep compared to where we stayed before for cheaper other than that I cant fault it

  • Jane C

  • September 2014

A cosy boutique hotel - ideally located for Durham city centre

My partner and I have recently returned from an excellent stay at the Gadds Town House and would highly recommend it.

There are a few 'niggles' to mention as with anywhere, but we certainly wouldn't let these put us off from a return visit.

We stayed in the Cruise Room which was quite small and dark - so not good for doing make-up, or for having much natural light; and the bathroom extractor switch once we found it, turned out to be above the door into the bathroom and not on the wall as you would expect - so a problem if you're not tall . The bedside lamp wouldn't stay in place on the right hand side of the bed so it was permanently wonky !, and there was no room service - which we assumed would be a 'must' for 5* accommodation. Positively, the location and communal areas were fantastic, the bed was really comfy, the staff were great and the breakfasts were fab. We didn't experience the evening menu as we chose to dine out, but it did look tempting. All in all it was a lovely stay, but we would probably chose the Cardinal Room for our next visit - which looked superb by the way . Thanks so much to everyone for looking after us so well.

  • Dane M

  • September 2014

Excellent night away at the gadds town house highly recommend food was 5* staff where friendly could not of asked more rooms where great.

  • D Henman

  • August 2014

Gadds town house provided everything we were after and more.....

If I could score higher for accommodation and food I certainly would.

Excellent hotel great value for money, and set in a great location for shops and restaurants. Room was that nice we pretty much spent all our time there.

  • jason w

  • July 2014

great getaway

No faults at all, excellent stay

  • Steven H

  • June 2014

Boutique Durham hotel

  • d young

  • April 2014

awsomes

Booked gadds for our anniversary and all i can say is wow great room great food and great service

  • S Tonge

  • April 2014

Lovely boutique hotel

I had a great stay at Gadds House.

The receptionist was very pleasant and extremely helpful. The hotel itself was smaller than expected both in the room and communal areas but the space is well thought out and decorated. The only thing I didn't like was the lack of light everywhere. It was very dark. The lighting in the room where we stayed wasn't well planned with no lighting above any mirrors so my husband struggled when shaving as did I when doing my make up and the door to the bathroom was really creaky which was a nuisance during the night. The breakfast was lovely as was the Sunday dinner but the restaurant was cramped with the seating to close to the next table-not very private for conversation. Overall a lovely place with great staff who are very friendly.