Whites Hotel

2

38-42 OSBORNE ROAD, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL

Price From 69.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (56)

52% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • jennifer H

  • March 2015

Whites Hotel

The heating was not working the room was very cold.

  • Peter L

  • February 2015

Basic but ideal

Ideal for a brief one night stay.

A little worn and weary but okay value for money.

  • f ridley

  • January 2015

Was ok

We enjoyed our stay & there wasn't any major faults to our booking (cheap and cheerful) I did have to clean the bathroom floor as it was rather dirty and the old windows needed a little wobble stopper during the windy weekend.

thanks

  • Tanya S

  • December 2014

Dirty

Did not enjoy stay at all.

First room I was in had dirty pillows, was very dusty and looked like it hadn't seen a hoover in weeks. Reception immediately gave me another room. At first glance it looked ok, bed was clean. But this time all the provided towels were dirty. I ended up using a tshirt as towel. I'm not staying there again.

  • M Nicholson

  • October 2014

Hell hole

We arrived to a room that looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks.

There was dust on every surface, including the carpet, we were frighthtened to take our shoes off the place was disgusting. The tiles on the floor in the bathroom were smashed, the bathroom door wouldn't close. The toilet wasn't clean. The shower had no pressure at all, my boyfriend could pee harder. It also was freezing, there was mo warmth in the water at all. After we had our night out we got back about 10.30pm. We reported our shower to reception the man said he would look into it. Nothing was done about it. , Breakfast in the morning was a whole new a experience. There was a hot plate to help yourself. Beans and bacon were avaliable. No knives and forks, spoons. We had to eat beans and bacon with spoons. No mugs for a coffee or tea. I asked for eggs, the woman just looked at me. I sat down, 10 mins later the eggs were sat down at the buffet area. There wasn't a utensil for me to lift the eggs on to my plate, I asked the man for one, he said "there's a scraper there" I looked at him in complete shock, he replied " it's clean" at that point we went up to our room to collect our things, a woman entered our room, house keeping. We could of been getting changed or anything. I made the booking for whites hotel based on the pictures, these have got to be about 20 years old. They look nothing like what we experienced. We also booked it on the basis that late rooms said it was 1.2 miles from metro arena. It took us 25 mins in a taxi. We were a lot further than that. We also left an iPhone charger, you would think it being a family run hotel especially that they might have contacted us.

  • Chris M

  • October 2014

Avoid this Hotel, dirty, old decour and full of load drunks through the early hours.

Whites is a very poor Hotel, the decour is very old, dirty and warn out , holes in the plasterboard are frequent.

Don't be fooled by the nice looking pictures of the front as I was. I went to bed at midnight, had to step over an unconscious drunk on the stairs on the way to my room, was woken up at least 7 times by drunken revelry in the corridors which was still going on at 8 in the morning. I'd advise avoiding this hotel.

  • M Dougherty

  • October 2014

A place I will return to eagerly.

Booked the twin room ( 105) and found it clean, well equipped and warm although slightly worn in parts.

This did not detract from our stay. The staff, from Paris on reception to all the bar staff and waitresses could not be more friendlier, nor eager to help in any way. We visited on Mexican night and the food was top notch, well prepared and well priced. An excellent terrace to relax under the heaters before retiring into the bar area to watch football rounded off an enjoyable evening. Next morning the cooked breakfast was served with the usual tea, coffee and juice with a variety of cereals and toast available. My company visits the North East a lot and I have installed this place as our top accommodation from now on.

Thanks everyone, we will be back.

  • Jennifer A

  • October 2014

Whites Hotel, Newcastle

Really scruffy.

The two members of staff I encountered were pleasant. Comfortable bed but rest of furniture had been shoehorned in and didn't detract from cracked floor tiles, dingy carpets and decor. Usual price of room totally misleading, according to the website I was saving over £500 and what did I finish up with - a very under par room at £38 per night

  • Chris L

  • October 2014

Good price, friendly staff and decent facilities

The hotel room was a little dated (noisy toilet, a bit dark).

The room also had a broken toilet roll holder, which isn't a big deal but also isn't difficult to fix. The staff we're great and really welcoming and the bed was comfortable. I'd go back if I was in the area again.

  • Phil H

  • September 2014

Possibly the dirtiest hotel ever

The state of the hotel corridors should have given me an indication as what was to come with the room.

Dried sick on the floor, bare electrical cables visable, thick dust on bedhead and all over the room, holes in the walls, the television did not work and bed linen was stained. I was absolutely disgusted with the state of the room. Given the condition of it we avoided eating here as the kitchen was likely to be just as dirty.