No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Whites Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL
This is a family run hotel providing good facilities and service at budget prices . Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer. Features included in guest rooms include Flat screen TV with up to 30 channels , en suite bedrooms , ironing board, hairdryer available in each room . Cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices until 8 pm daily . Lively bar on the premises

Outside area for smoking and dining available . The hotel has a private car par which is constantly monitored by CCTV
Picture of Whites Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place I will return to eagerly.
Booked the twin room ( 105) and found it clean, well equipped and warm although slightly worn in parts. This did not detract from our stay. The staff, from Paris on reception to all the bar staff and waitresses could not be more friendlier, nor eager to help in any way. We visited on Mexican night and the food was top notch, well prepared and well priced. An excellent terrace to relax under the heaters before retiring into the bar area to watch football rounded off an enjoyable evening. Next morning the cooked breakfast was served with the usual tea, coffee and juice with a variety of cereals and toast available. My company visits the North East a lot and I have installed this place as our top accommodation from now on.
Thanks everyone, we will be back.

Reviewed by
M Dougherty

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whites Hotel, Newcastle
Really scruffy. The two members of staff I encountered were pleasant. Comfortable bed but rest of furniture had been shoehorned in and didn't detract from cracked floor tiles, dingy carpets and decor.
Usual price of room totally misleading, according to the website I was saving over £500 and what did I finish up with - a very under par room at £38 per night

Reviewed by
Jennifer A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price, friendly staff and decent facilities
The hotel room was a little dated (noisy toilet, a bit dark). The room also had a broken toilet roll holder, which isn't a big deal but also isn't difficult to fix.
The staff we're great and really welcoming and the bed was comfortable.
I'd go back if I was in the area again.

Reviewed by
Chris L

From Stockton-On-Tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Possibly the dirtiest hotel ever
The state of the hotel corridors should have given me an indication as what was to come with the room. Dried sick on the floor, bare electrical cables visable, thick dust on bedhead and all over the room, holes in the walls, the television did not work and bed linen was stained.
I was absolutely disgusted with the state of the room. Given the condition of it we avoided eating here as the kitchen was likely to be just as dirty.

Reviewed by
Phil H

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 travelled from Cheshire for a quiet stag weekend. Nice Hotel - Rooms clean - Staff Excellent, friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic customer service

Reviewed by
L Royston

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonky floors and noisy stairs
Me and my partner booked this hotel for the location near the start of the Great North Run.
It was very overpriced for the quality of the hotel - £180 for 2 nights!!!
Our room on the first night (room 220) came directly off the stairs, and due to the old creaky stairs, we heard every person walking up/down them. I had 3 hours sleep that night, when the stairs weren't keeping me awake, the mysterious dripping sound in the corner of the room was... The room overall was dark, cold and felt clinical. The bath moved when taking a shower and water leaks everywhere due to the poor fitting.
We requested to be moved, and our requested was accommodated, so we were moved to room 206. This room was warmer and brighter although we were disappointed that there was no bath.
The main problem this hotel has is the uneven, sloping floors in the upper levels. Our first room looked like an optical illusion with one wall being significantly shorter than the opposite! They are in dire need of repair.
The other problem this hotel has is the lack of care with which the rooms are put together. The use of space is not efficient and there is a very low quality of finish to décor and furniture.
The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the relatively friendly and accommodating staff.

Reviewed by
D Simmons

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was good but I think it was over priced because of the great north run although all hotels were the same.

Reviewed by
CHRIS G

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
It not far from the Metro station to get into main center of Newcastle, Staff are friendly, helpful, Room clean, The internet was that good at akl in my room couldnt get a connection, Did tell reception but nothing was done, But did get connection in the reception area plus the bar area, But it well worth the money,

Reviewed by
S Gunn

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely awful room

Reviewed by
K Roberts

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next