No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn

4Visit England Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Ludlow Road , Bridgnorth, WV165NQ
Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn National Multi Award Winning Pub set in the heart of Shropshire’s finest country side. A truly family run business preserving the traditions of fine English Fayre and superior accommodation.

There is 700 years of history at Ye Olde Punchbowl from Oliver Cromwell being billeted here with his troops and we have residents ghosts to add to the historic atmosphere, still keeping much of the buildings original character we have lovingly restored the building and the accommodation was part of the stables several hundred years ago

We serve great food and specialise in our award winning carvery and a full gastro menu, we regularly have a selection of real ales and sometimes local locals ales as well available all year round.

Adam, Charlotte and the team look forward to welcoming you to our truly unique countryside Inn set on the rolling hills of Brown Clee Hill in Bridgnorth

Picture of Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn, Bridgnorth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
We had a short list of 3 hotels I think we chose the best ,The staff were friendly and made us feel at home. The room was cosy the bedroom was a bit small , that could be due to the large bed, but when you consider the size of the bathroom and living room the overall space was quite large. The carvery was good and the full english breakfast was spot on .The was a good variety on the menu .A small bistro table and chairs would be a nice touch outside especially when its sunny .Ive already recommended The punchbowl to friends we will certainly go back

Reviewed by
p bentley

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seeing old friends
From the moment I arrived I was so impressed with everything about my stay. The staff went out of their way to make my stay one to be remembered. They were wonderfully polite and made sure everything I wanted was attended to with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and the suite superb. I thank them all for making my stay so memorable. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
P Guest

From Amlwch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay
We really enjoyed our stay here.
It's on the outskirts of Bridgnorth but an easy walk to the centre (about a mile).
It was great value for money. The rooom was really nice with lots of added extras like complementary soft drinks and breakfast could be brought to your room.
Would definitety recommend this place

Reviewed by
Rosalind G

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff, even ironed my shirt and gave my an enormous breakfast ready for my wedding day.

Reviewed by
Clive H

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bit further out than i expected,shower head loose and shower leaked onto floor, no pressure so not really very good, food was above average and service was attentive. bar selection good and again service was good

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your stay with us at Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food and service was more than satisfactory, I would like to opportunity to address some of your comments in regards to the bathroom. Firstly I can only apologise that your found the shower below your expectations, the head is designed to be moved for the comfort of the person standing below it as you can tilt the head for the taller person. I must admit that other guests have mentioned excess water after showering in the past this is only happens when the shower glass door isn't correctly housed whilst showering, this is a user error but in all fairness easily overlooked, thankfully the flooring is tiled. We hope you consider using Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn again and thank you for your comments on staying with us. Kindest Regards, Adam & The Team

Reviewed by
john c

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant stay at ye old punchbowl
We stayed here for three nights all of the staff were friendly ,helpful and very attentive .The room was small very clean and had a cosy feel to it. The full english breakfast was fabulous.

Reviewed by
m cornick

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant stay
Stayed at The Old Punchbowl Inn for a night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were pleasant and efficient and the carvery excellent. Our room was a small suite which was very welcoming and the added touch of complimentary soft drinks and excellent bathroom 'freebies' (including toothbrush and toothpaste) were a nice touch.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chipped jugs
The room was very good only critisism was there was no hair dryer in the room. main problem was with breakfast as the restaurant did not feel open as no lights on or anyone about when we came in at the expected time. lights still not put on till half way through eating breakfast when we were given a hair dryer to use. The breakfast sausages were of a very poor standard. Also on the second morning the fresh fruit salad was out of a tin and quite awful. the jugs on both occasions were chipped. Breakfasting needs a great deal of extra attention.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your experience with us having read the contents I would also like the opportunity to address some of your comments; Firstly please accept our sincere apologises for having a chipped mug on one of the breakfasts, we do check our mugs daily but very occasionally the odd one may get overlooked, I accept this is not acceptable and I will get the chefs to double check the mugs when setting up for breakfast In terms of breakfast we do generally host breakfast in the restaurant area but I am very confused by you stating there was no lighting as you could hardly see if they were not on?? We don't turn the bar lights on as the bar is not in service for breakfast nor do we turn the lights on in our function room/ far back of restaurant but these areas are the other side of the restaurant, the front entrance, lobby, reception area, toilet area and breakfast servery area are fully illuminated before your arrival and by the cleaner in the morning? Again I will apologise if you found the quality of the sausages a poor quality as a result of your comment I will get the chefs to quality check the sausages from memory we use Richmond a well known brand. Your fruit salad was not tinned we have never used tinned fruit for breakfast, there is an order sheet to be delivered to our kitchens before 9pm and we order special requests with our supplier for delivery early in the morning, we are in agreement tinned fruit is awful we don't even offer this to diabetics as an alternative, so I can assure you this was incorrect you obviously didn't enjoy this but we would have offered you something different had you have asked? I accept there were a few issues with breakfast especially having a chipped mug and I am extremely sorry for this over sight and I have addressed this with the chefs to ensure this does not happen again, your review has been shared with all our team in a team briefing to reflect your observations and drive us all harder although we get the impression you are a very discerning customer Kind Regards, Adam, Proprietor

Reviewed by
Christine W

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good value for money
The Punch Bowl was very good, the suite was clean and well maintained. We were plesently surprised to find all the drinks in the room fridge were complimentary. Food was excellent quality and all cooked fresh, breakfast was fab and loads of it. All in all I would recommend the Punch Bowl to anyone.

Reviewed by
tim clarke

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in the accommodation for a saturday night. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well equipped with up to date facilities and the breakfast was great. We would certainly stay at this l16th century Inn again.

Reviewed by
paul a

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next