No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
16 Market Street, Wotton-Under-Edge Gloucestershire, Wotton-Under-Edge, GL12 7AE
This 17th Century Coaching Inn has a wealth of charm and character. Original features including beamed ceilings and exposed Cotswold Stone Walls, plus open fires in the winter months. A warm relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff.

The Hotel Bar has a good range of Real Ales and is in the 'Good Beer Guide'.There is also a good choice of Lagers, Wines and Soft Drinks. The comfortable Hotel Bar (recently refurbished), Snug, Lounge Area and Restaurant offers both a relaxed and informal atmosphere.

Guests can dine in the cosy Snug, the Restaurant or in the Hotel Bar. We have an extensive choice of dishes and a daily 'Chefs Specials' Board. We also have Vegetarian and Gluen Free Menus available.

The Function Room is available for private functions such as weddings, christenings, parties or meetings. Every third friday in the month we have 'The Swan Blues Club' which hosts local live 'Blues' bands, and is always well attended.

The hotel has eight good sized bedrooms. Six are with En-Suite Bathrooms, and two have a shared bathroom. Located on the first and second floors of the property. Two of the rooms can be interlinked to create a family suite. Weekend breaks are also available.

The Swan Hotel is situated at the top end of the town, on Market Street and stands adjacent to the Town Hall, close to 'The Chippings' free public car park.

Dave and his team look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of The Swan Hotel, Wotton-Under-Edge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely beds, good food and good service
The room was a little dated but the beds had tempura mattress, soft quilts and lovely pillows. It had everything one would need, was clean and lovely and warm with loads of lovely hot water for a deep bath.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The food of a good quality with large portions.

Reviewed by
D Brook

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fabulous stay
Generally good service and was very happy with the room. Was very clean and had everything we needed. The bath was lovely. A quiet location and really nice quirky room. Will be back!

Reviewed by
S White

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop off stay
Second time in two years I have stopped off at The Swan. Just as good second time around although the water in the basin and shower was only just warm enough for shave and shower at eight o'clock. Not cold enough to mention but may need attention if it is a recurring problem.

Reviewed by
L MARSH

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good night's stay while walking the Cotswold Way
We stayed for a night at The Swan on our walk along the Cotswold Way from Chipping Campden to Bath in September. The service was excellent, staff were all polite & friendly. We ate dinner and breakfast there and all the food was good quality and well presented. Our room was very comfortable and we had everything we needed for a good night's rest. The only negative was noise from some sort of machinery (a pump or fan maybe) very close to our window which operated regularly through the night and disturbed our sleep somewhat. On the whole a very good stay.

Reviewed by
Shelley Franklin

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trinder
Good accommodation, excellent helpful staff

Reviewed by
W TRINDER

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable stay, friendly staff, good food
No negative comments. Convenient location, parking not a problem. Room comfortable.

Reviewed by
Adrienne T

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For one night only.
The ground floor of the hotel was clean with a comfortable lounge, bar,and restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful. There was quite a dely between the ordering of a meal and the delivery to the table, however this must be due to the preperation time of the food which was obviously freshly cooked and excellent. Our room was on the third floor with a journey through a few very long, dark and dirty corridors, and staircases. The room and ensuite bathroom had recently been refurbished and was clean and comfortable. The hotel is suitable for a single overnight stay or for a meal en route.

Reviewed by
B Williams

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was excellent - very clean and spacious. The breakfast was freshly cooked and good. The only thing missing from the breakfast was a good selection of fruit and yoghurts as I would have preferred this to a cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Barbara B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Quite a small room, friendly staff, excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
Neil C

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food good, room adequate, with sloping floors adding 'character', bathroom needed updating with very poor shower and somewhat shabby.
However, food and service generally good.

Reviewed by
( Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next