No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
16 Market Street, Wotton-Under-Edge Gloucestershire, Wotton-Under-Edge, GL12 7AE
This 17th Century Coaching Inn has a wealth of charm and character. Original features including beamed ceilings and exposed Cotswold Stone Walls, plus open fires in the winter months. A warm relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff.

The Hotel Bar has a good range of Real Ales and is in the 'Good Beer Guide'.There is also a good choice of Lagers, Wines and Soft Drinks. The comfortable Hotel Bar (recently refurbished), Snug, Lounge Area and Restaurant offers both a relaxed and informal atmosphere.

Guests can dine in the cosy Snug, the Restaurant or in the Hotel Bar. We have an extensive choice of dishes and a daily 'Chefs Specials' Board. We also have Vegetarian and Gluen Free Menus available.

The Function Room is available for private functions such as weddings, christenings, parties or meetings. Every third friday in the month we have 'The Swan Blues Club' which hosts local live 'Blues' bands, and is always well attended.

The hotel has eight good sized bedrooms. Six are with En-Suite Bathrooms, and two have a shared bathroom. Located on the first and second floors of the property. Two of the rooms can be interlinked to create a family suite. Weekend breaks are also available.

The Swan Hotel is situated at the top end of the town, on Market Street and stands adjacent to the Town Hall, close to 'The Chippings' free public car park.

Dave and his team look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of The Swan Hotel, Wotton-Under-Edge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food good, room adequate, with sloping floors adding 'character', bathroom needed updating with very poor shower and somewhat shabby.
However, food and service generally good.

Reviewed by
( Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, helpful and value for money
A lovely weekend whilst husband was working in Stroud. A lovely homely hotel with a warm reception for our aging spaniel too.
Would definitely recommend the Swan Hotel to anyone.

ManagementResponse

Myself Deborah & my partner David, our children & Stanley would like to thank you for the great reviews. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed by
K BEER

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Lovely building, friendly staff and great breakfast, hot and plentiful. Bar experience entertaining. Enjoyed meeting Stanley.

ManagementResponse

Myself Deborah & my partner David, our children & Stanley would like to thank you for the great reviews. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Y Foster

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

UK visit
We had a superior room with a four poster bed which was a little bit special. The entire suite was very modern and clean. The food provided was excellent.

ManagementResponse

Myself Deborah & my partner David, our children & Stanley would like to thank you for the great reviews. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Bigastro, Alicante, Spain
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A great little place to stay - Deb and her family are the perfect hosts in this traditional English pub and hotel.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
What a lovely clean, comfortable and friendly place. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Anya P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A must!
Very friendly and helpful staff, an even though only one night.......I will be back!

Reviewed by
Glynis W

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel staff were very friendly and the choice & quality of the food was excellent

Reviewed by
N Round

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room booking

Reviewed by
Brian Higgs

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was fine for what we wanted. Difficult to find in a small town with a one way system. Parking is in the village square only about 50 yards away. Easy for us but difficult if you had problems handling your luggage. Dinner was fine in the restaurant and the chef came to check everything was good. Not far from Slimbridge wildlife centre.

Reviewed by
S Renny

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next