No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Waldorf Hilton, London

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Aldwych, London, WC2B 4DD
The Waldorf Hilton, an iconic hotel, is located in London’s West End in the Theatreland district. Take a 5-minute drive to the exclusive boutiques of Covent Garden and find plenty to explore. Situated 2 miles from London’s financial center, this central London hotel is ideal for a corporate visit – host a meeting in one of the seven WiFi-enabled function rooms, or keep in touch via the 24-hour business center. Get some rest in a stylish, contemporary guest room. Each spacious room features a plasma TV, WiFi and Edwardian marble washstand. Upgrade to a Suite for a separate living area. After a day of exploring, surf the net with high-speed internet access or curl up in front of a movie on the flat-screen TV. Stay active by swimming some laps of the indoor pool. Make the most of this West End hotel’s commitment to culinary excellence; take traditional afternoon tea in the Homage Grand Salon or enjoy a delicious meal in the Homage Grand Salon restaurant. Head to the popular Good Godfrey's Bar for lunch and afternoon tea during the day, or a sophisticated cocktail as evening approaches. With a 24-hour Concierge desk to help you plan your stay, you can really make the most out of your time in London.
Picture of The Waldorf Hilton, London, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room allocation problems
We arrived for our weekend break at 20.00 after a long day at work. We were given the 'keys' to a room on the 1st floor when we opened the door there was rubbish on the floor and a handbag on the bed, we concluded the room was still occupied and returned to reception.
We were then directed to a room on the 2nd floor but here we found blood on the bathroom door and floor ! We obviously didn't fancy staying in this room so off we go again to reception !
This time we were given a disabled room but the bed was 2 singles pushed together not ideal for a romantic Valentines break. But by now it was getting late and we were too tired to complain again.
For having to move the second time the concierge arranged for a bottle of wine to be delivered to us we asked for White wine but yes you guessed it Red wine turned up !!!

Reviewed by
Ian Cobb

From Hythe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel excellent, staff outstanding
Food very poor, don't stay for breakfast, not worth the amount you pay.

Reviewed by
Suzanne A

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Had small issue with bar tab, tip had been rounded up making the bill a different amount to that which I wrote and signed for.

Reviewed by
R C

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So underwhelmed by my room
I booked a room at this 5* luxury hotel for New Year's Day expecting to stay in a room worthy of its 5* status. The room I checked in to was tiny, with a small double bed, which also had been pushed right up against the wall so that either my partner or I would have to climb down the bed to get out, not to mention roll over and bash our head on the wall in the night. The bed linen also had black stain marks on it. I subsequently went down to reception and asked if I could be moved to another room. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and changed me to another room on the same floor which was an improvement on the first room. However I was still so completely underwhelmed by the room, which is no better than other 3* hotels I've stayed in. The kettle PAT test was a year out of date, there were rub marks on the walls, the floor was loose and creaky and a vacuum cleaner was left outside our bedroom door for the entire duration of our stay propped up next to our door. Was I supposed to clean the room too? The room was perfectly adequate had I paid for a 3* hotel, but not impressed at all for the price I paid. It's in dire need of renovation and the only thing going for the hotel is its location. The pool was also closed for maintenance - on new year's day!

Reviewed by
Catherine M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Staff were pleasant, lovely stay.

Reviewed by
David F

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor all round
Disappointing room, for money paid, very small and in no way was big enough or superior enough as it was stated. Not enough toiletries or coffee facilities for 3 adults.
Breakfast was poor & stone cold on both mornings. Will now stay here again!!

Reviewed by
T Connolly

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked the Waldorf because one of us ladies had had a very bad year so we decided she needed to be spoiled!We booked a triple room.We requested early check in but an email on Friday informed us it would not be possible.We still arrived early just in case and was told it would be 3.00pm.So off we went to start our busy weekend.We arrived back at 2.30pm still no room!We finely got a room at 3.30pm we then had to wait till after 4.00pm for our bags to arrive.Not a good start to our stay.Our room:The extra bed looked like an after thought just pushed in the room facing the door,the tea and coffee only set out for 2 people, but undeterred we then got ready for our night at the theatre. Next day we had planed a busy day shopping,so we where up and off early. On our return we where ready to relax and have a nice cuppa ready for our night out.When we walked into our room imagine our disappointment to see our room had not been done! It was after 4.00pm so we did expect it. After calling Housekeeping a lady arrived after 15mins. She changed the towels in the bathroom and left.We had no clean cups or tea bags and milk for our much needed cuppa. We come to London ever year and this is the first time we have been so disappointed

Reviewed by
GAIL C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I could not have had a better aniversary in a better hotel, one weekend I'll never forget!

Reviewed by
k brown

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location for theatre & hotel was outstanding
We were absolutely overwhelmed by the quality of the hotel, location, food. It was the best we have stayed in in London. Perfect location for the theatre. We had a wonderful time.

Reviewed by
BEVERLEY HUTT

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixed experience
I chose this hotel based on location to the specific theatres I would be visiting. We had a couple of issues with the room, missing bed linen and safe not reset from previous occupant. These were rectified quickly once reported. I found hair on the bed linen. The room was beautifully decorated and was comfortable although not large. The shower room was elegant and looked recently installed. The greatest disappoint of the visit was afternoon tea. The food was delicious but the service was appalling. There was no leadership on the floor and the team didn't seem to have any understanding of how to respond with gentle complaints of unreasonably long waits for everything. We spoke to others who felt the same. The place wasn't nearly full so I can't understand what the problem was. The final straw was watching staff prepare the room for evening service while we were still waiting for elements of our tea an hour later. If I was visiting just for tea I would never return based on my experience. Fortunately our disappointment was recognised by someone as we were not charged. Breakfast was much better. Overall I think that there are so many hotels in London offering similar facilities the Waldorf needs to up its performance to be a main player. I would stay here again but with so many others to choose from I doubt I will. I would only recommend specifying reservations.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next