Reviews - The Waldorf Hilton, London


Aldwych, London, WC2B 4DD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (27)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • michelle brown

  • October 2015

Mix up with my booking

I had a problem when we went for breakfast to be told that breakfast was in included, this was a birthday gift for my 73 year old mother who felt uncomfortable, she had to wait while I went to reception to sort out the booking.

I had to show her at reception the email I got from you guys stating that my booking was for bed and breakfasts.

  • Stef L

  • August 2015

Not 5 star any more

Whilst our stay was reasonable, The Waldorf is not 5 star any more.

It's a good 4 star, but fails to compete on the level of many of the City's finest hotels within the same price bracket. We were given an average sized room, which was too small for a roll out bed for our teenage daughter. Once the bed was in, there was very little space, and the bed wasn't really good enough for a teenager, more for a 5 year old.

  • Claire B

  • August 2015

Disappointed from the moment I arrived at checkin to departure.

I wanted to ensure that the extra bed that was needed for my 6yr old niece would be in place.

They didn't seem to know anything about the booking and what's worse the lack of care shown. There is far too much wrong to put down here

  • David B

  • June 2015

General customer service, not as expected. Very disappointed.

We were very disappointed an early check in request was not actioned by the hotel.

No porter service to take a luggage to our room was offered. Our electrics keys to our room did not work, I had to go don't to reception to have them replaced. My wife found a safety pin from laundry sticking out of the duvet cover. Only 1 arm chair in the room. No access to the fridge it was locked. No bath robes. Flimsy pillows and no extras in the room. Very narrow bath, and very limited toiletries in bath room.

Tea and coffee was not replenished in the afternoon. No information about any of the hotel facilities were given to us at check, we had no clue about a gym, pool, restaurant, etc. The reception staff had a safety pin to hold her jacket together, not very presentable for a 5 star hotel.

One plus, the hotel gave us a bottle of wine, after we asked for it, to celebrate our anniversary, would we recommend this hotel to anyone, no. Quite disappointed by the hotel and staff. In our opinion this is not a full 5 star hotel, and really isn't worth the prices charged, we would look elsewhere next time.

  • J Taylor

  • March 2015

Staying at the Waldorf

It was a very pleasurable experience staying at the Waldorf.

All staff were very friendly and helpful. Accommodation was excellent - had a wonderful night's sleep. Would thoroughly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Ian Cobb

  • February 2015

Room allocation problems

We arrived for our weekend break at 20.00 after a long day at work.

We were given the 'keys' to a room on the 1st floor when we opened the door there was rubbish on the floor and a handbag on the bed, we concluded the room was still occupied and returned to reception. We were then directed to a room on the 2nd floor but here we found blood on the bathroom door and floor . We obviously didn't fancy staying in this room so off we go again to reception . This time we were given a disabled room but the bed was 2 singles pushed together not ideal for a romantic Valentines break. But by now it was getting late and we were too tired to complain again. For having to move the second time the concierge arranged for a bottle of wine to be delivered to us we asked for White wine but yes you guessed it Red wine turned up !!!

  • Suzanne A

  • February 2015

Hotel excellent, staff outstanding

Food very poor, don't stay for breakfast, not worth the amount you pay.

  • R C

  • February 2015

Excellent value

Had small issue with bar tab, tip had been rounded up making the bill a different amount to that which I wrote and signed for.

  • Catherine M

  • January 2015

So underwhelmed by my room

I booked a room at this 5* luxury hotel for New Year's Day expecting to stay in a room worthy of its 5* status.

The room I checked in to was tiny, with a small double bed, which also had been pushed right up against the wall so that either my partner or I would have to climb down the bed to get out, not to mention roll over and bash our head on the wall in the night. The bed linen also had black stain marks on it. I subsequently went down to reception and asked if I could be moved to another room. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and changed me to another room on the same floor which was an improvement on the first room. However I was still so completely underwhelmed by the room, which is no better than other 3* hotels I've stayed in. The kettle PAT test was a year out of date, there were rub marks on the walls, the floor was loose and creaky and a vacuum cleaner was left outside our bedroom door for the entire duration of our stay propped up next to our door. Was I supposed to clean the room too. The room was perfectly adequate had I paid for a 3* hotel, but not impressed at all for the price I paid. It's in dire need of renovation and the only thing going for the hotel is its location. The pool was also closed for maintenance - on new year's day.

  • David F

  • December 2014

Nice hotel

Staff were pleasant, lovely stay.