The Waldorf Hilton, London

5

Aldwych, London, WC2B 4DD

Price From 540.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Taylor

  • March 2015

Staying at the Waldorf

It was a very pleasurable experience staying at the Waldorf.

All staff were very friendly and helpful. Accommodation was excellent - had a wonderful night's sleep. Would thoroughly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Ian Cobb

  • February 2015

Room allocation problems

We arrived for our weekend break at 20.00 after a long day at work.

We were given the 'keys' to a room on the 1st floor when we opened the door there was rubbish on the floor and a handbag on the bed, we concluded the room was still occupied and returned to reception. We were then directed to a room on the 2nd floor but here we found blood on the bathroom door and floor . We obviously didn't fancy staying in this room so off we go again to reception . This time we were given a disabled room but the bed was 2 singles pushed together not ideal for a romantic Valentines break. But by now it was getting late and we were too tired to complain again. For having to move the second time the concierge arranged for a bottle of wine to be delivered to us we asked for White wine but yes you guessed it Red wine turned up !!!

  • Suzanne A

  • February 2015

Hotel excellent, staff outstanding

Food very poor, don't stay for breakfast, not worth the amount you pay.

  • R C

  • February 2015

Excellent value

Had small issue with bar tab, tip had been rounded up making the bill a different amount to that which I wrote and signed for.

  • Catherine M

  • January 2015

So underwhelmed by my room

I booked a room at this 5* luxury hotel for New Year's Day expecting to stay in a room worthy of its 5* status.

The room I checked in to was tiny, with a small double bed, which also had been pushed right up against the wall so that either my partner or I would have to climb down the bed to get out, not to mention roll over and bash our head on the wall in the night. The bed linen also had black stain marks on it. I subsequently went down to reception and asked if I could be moved to another room. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and changed me to another room on the same floor which was an improvement on the first room. However I was still so completely underwhelmed by the room, which is no better than other 3* hotels I've stayed in. The kettle PAT test was a year out of date, there were rub marks on the walls, the floor was loose and creaky and a vacuum cleaner was left outside our bedroom door for the entire duration of our stay propped up next to our door. Was I supposed to clean the room too. The room was perfectly adequate had I paid for a 3* hotel, but not impressed at all for the price I paid. It's in dire need of renovation and the only thing going for the hotel is its location. The pool was also closed for maintenance - on new year's day.

  • David F

  • December 2014

Nice hotel

Staff were pleasant, lovely stay.

  • T Connolly

  • December 2014

Poor all round

Disappointing room, for money paid, very small and in no way was big enough or superior enough as it was stated.

Not enough toiletries or coffee facilities for 3 adults.

Breakfast was poor & stone cold on both mornings. Will now stay here again!!

  • GAIL C

  • October 2014

We booked the Waldorf because one of us ladies had had a very bad year so we decided she needed to be spoiled!We booked a triple room.We requested early check in but an email on Friday informed us it would not be possible.We still arrived early just in case and was told it would be 3.00pm.So off we went to start our busy weekend.We arrived back at 2.30pm still no room!We finely got a room at 3.30pm we then had to wait till after 4.00pm for our bags to arrive.Not a good start to our stay.Our room:The extra bed looked like an after thought just pushed in the room facing the door,the tea and coffee only set out for 2 people, but undeterred we then got ready for our night at the theatre.

Next day we had planed a busy day shopping,so we where up and off early. On our return we where ready to relax and have a nice cuppa ready for our night out.When we walked into our room imagine our disappointment to see our room had not been done. It was after 4.00pm so we did expect it. After calling Housekeeping a lady arrived after 15mins. She changed the towels in the bathroom and left.We had no clean cups or tea bags and milk for our much needed cuppa. We come to London ever year and this is the first time we have been so disappointed

  • Alison M

  • August 2014

A mixed experience

I chose this hotel based on location to the specific theatres I would be visiting.

We had a couple of issues with the room, missing bed linen and safe not reset from previous occupant. These were rectified quickly once reported. I found hair on the bed linen. The room was beautifully decorated and was comfortable although not large. The shower room was elegant and looked recently installed. The greatest disappoint of the visit was afternoon tea. The food was delicious but the service was appalling. There was no leadership on the floor and the team didn't seem to have any understanding of how to respond with gentle complaints of unreasonably long waits for everything. We spoke to others who felt the same. The place wasn't nearly full so I can't understand what the problem was. The final straw was watching staff prepare the room for evening service while we were still waiting for elements of our tea an hour later. If I was visiting just for tea I would never return based on my experience. Fortunately our disappointment was recognised by someone as we were not charged. Breakfast was much better. Overall I think that there are so many hotels in London offering similar facilities the Waldorf needs to up its performance to be a main player. I would stay here again but with so many others to choose from I doubt I will. I would only recommend specifying reservations.

  • k brown

  • August 2014

I could not have had a better aniversary in a better hotel, one weekend I'll never forget!