No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hilton York

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 Tower Street, York, Y01 9WD
Explore everything that historic York has to offer from the Hilton York Hotel. Conveniently located inside the city walls and opposite Clifford’s Tower, this York hotel is within walking distance of some of the town’s most popular tourist attractions and the business district. Consider traveling on public transport; the York train station is only minutes away. Your contemporary room at this York hotel has everything you need to help you feel at home. Relax on the comfortable bed as you watch on-demand movies. Step up to one of the hotel’s Executive Rooms or Suites for special extra touches and more space. Work from the comfort of your room thanks to the large desk and high-speed internet access or use the hotel’s 24-hour business center.With a choice of two fully serviced bars and restaurants, there is something on offer at the Hilton York hotel to satisfy all tastes. Savor options ranging from elegant, locally sourced cuisine to exciting Tex-Mex combinations. The restaurants serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.Host a business meeting in York in the eight flexible function rooms at the Hilton York hotel. Invite up to 180 guests for a small conference or make use of the conservatory area for a Student Ball or private function.
Picture of Hilton York, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sub Standard Hilton Experience
I have stayed at a number of hilton hotels through out the Uk and I have to say that this was the worst one. The room was shabby and small, Tv buzzed and was very cheap, bed was small and uncomfortable and made a lot of noise. This was basically no better than a travelodge and at £130 was massively over priced. The residents bars was closed when we returned from our night out, to which we were told we could order room service, only to look at the menu to find that they charge £5 per tray visit. Food and drinks are over priced so with added tray cost is bordering on extortion. I chose the Hilton hotel for a standard that I expect to be in keeping with the brand and the price I was paying. I left bitterly disappointed and I will definitely think twice about the Hilton brand in the future. York however is a lovely city with many lovely hotels and stuff to do. I cant recommend a visit enough.

Reviewed by
A Fletcher

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Michael Bolton

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall hotel excellent but mix up with breakfast left us angry staff handled it very poorly
We had an enjoyable stay until we went for breakfast. We had almost finished when a member of staff came and informed us in front of other guests that our breakfast was not included in the price, I begged to differ and they went away and came back and informed us that there had been a mistake and that indeed it was, the damage had already been done we were extremely embarrassed, also I would have refused to pay for the breakfast, while there was a lot of choice I have had better full English breakfasts in a greasy spoon on the M1, I would stay again but without the breakfast.

Reviewed by
C Lee

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Stayed here for NYE as a couple, easy to book on laterooms as always. Price was ok great location so thought it would be nice to stay here. We booked around 3 months in advance and we also booked a table at the restaurant at the same time. Unfortunately we got a phone call 2 days before we was staying at the hotel to say they could not let us have our booking for the table at the restaurant and we would have to either pay £65 each for the childrens family party or £75 for the ball do they were having. I stated that i was not happy as this could have been brought to our attention 3 months before when we had originally booked the table. I got my partner to ring the hilton and complain, they sent us an email with a menu for a different place but it wasnt suitable for our special meal and when we emailed back we got an automated email back, disgusting for a big chain hotel. Customer service wasnt great. Rooms are ok, clean and got hairdryer and iron in them. Would think twice about booking with any hilton again as the customer service isnt great

Reviewed by
C Doyle

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced
Stayed at the Hilton for NYE. Paid 199 for a double room, I have stayed in better travelodges. The decor is very dated, dirty marks on pillows when we came in. Room was not warm.

Reviewed by
Dale P

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hilton York
Not the best hilton hotel (At All). room was poor. very noisy would never pay £200 more like £70!.

Reviewed by
D Rooney

From Co/durham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hilton York
Great location , valet parking service excellent addition.

Reviewed by
Ryan J

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good location.
We are frequent visitors to york. We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton which was a family stay. Polite staff nice breakfast not to busy plenty for kids and great location.

Reviewed by
Vicky O

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Great place to stay everything in York is just a stones throw away staff are very helpful.

Reviewed by
B Morgan

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again Hilton
Office manager at the reception desk lacks manners and the price you pay you better off staying in a premier inn

Reviewed by
Harry S

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next