No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Tailor

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
96 Bondgate , DARLINGTON, DL3 7JY
Based in the heart of Darlington, the old tailor is a recently renovated old tailors workshop, as such the building is a warren of stairs and rooms all are on different levels still oozing old world charm with all the modern amenities you would expect from a Boutique Guest House.
The guest house is based on Bondgate one of the main shopping streets in this historic town. Easy access by Rail, as you would expect from the town that started the Railways.

The old tailors was awarded one of the contracts to commission the officers uniforms for the train companies, so your not only staying in a railway town you can relive the history with a sewing shop still offering lessons still under the guest house.

We have 2 large king size rooms with en-suite and 1 larger family King with an extra sofa bed for children.

We are very close to restaurants and bars in the town so no shortage of things to do.

Enjoy your stay in Darlington
Picture of The Old Tailor, DARLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean and comfy, but there was some negatives. The room was cold had to keep nipping out of the room to put the heating on and even then it only came on for short periods of time. The water in the shower wasnt very warm, couldnt get a shower in the morning because the water wasnt warm enough and then because the room wasnt warm getting a shower was just a no-go, had to make do with a wash. It was a bit weird because the water in the sink tap was nice and warm but the shower was cold and yes i did adjust the temperature control on the shower unit.

ManagementResponse

The only thing i can say what happened to the hot Water etc we were still using the washing and the dish washer machine when they arrived "these items take hot water first' I have had the items etc checked no problems I have asked every other guest and not one said they have had a problem + the room she stayed in. I took Mr Costley to the car park showed him the way + how to use the machine. Offered extra items for Breakfast because he was leaving early for a meeting but said all was O K. Thank you Joan Young

Reviewed by
margaret c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our first floor room was large,airy,very clean and comfy.Although we looked out onto a wall it was,nt
a problem(no sea views in Darlington).Slight noise from skweaky floorboards,but so what,it,s an old
building.All in all a good deal for a short stay,as ours was.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but nice
The room and bathroom were extremely clean and nicely decorated. The rooms was spacious but still cosy, the bathroom looked like the fitting were new.
It did seem a little strange as the rooms are at the top of a tailors shop so it is not like a hotel but it was in a central location but was still nice an quiet at night

Reviewed by
F Gallagher

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal location in the centre of town with parking at the rear

Reviewed by
John S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect central location guest house
a lovely little guest house, only 3 rooms, friendly helpful staff, who never bothered you.
guest house is perfectly centrally located in the heart of nightlife and shopping areas.

Reviewed by
anne n

From tyne and wear, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
Although was not much to look at from outside (as above a shop) they provided a very warm welcome and the room was very nice and immaculate to a modern standard. Great location for the city centre with no disturbances. Would definately go back again!!

Reviewed by
M Watson

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location and pleasant accommodation
This place is right in the centre of town, so very convenient, yet our room was private and quiet. Almost like a small flat of our own with separate front door from the shop. Interesting decoration (sewing machines!), good shower, two chairs, and adequate cupboard/wardrobe space. Proprietor was helpful over our luggage. No breakfast but good choice nearby.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very very good.
very good,very clean and a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
k bryer

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Suprise
Booked at last minute. This was a great place to stay. We received a friendly greeting on arrival. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The place was clean with lovely furniture. We had a great night out in Darlington and a good nights sleep. 10/10 .

Reviewed by
V PERRY

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was nice .
Big bed fresh looking room.
Could hear people above moving around but this was because of kitchen upstairs .
Quite and central to shops, pubs and restaurants .

Reviewed by
Paul T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next