No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Tailor

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
96 Bondgate , DARLINGTON, DL3 7JY
Based in the heart of Darlington, the old tailor is a recently renovated old tailors workshop, as such the building is a warren of stairs and rooms all are on different levels still oozing old world charm with all the modern amenities you would expect from a Boutique Guest House.
The guest house is based on Bondgate one of the main shopping streets in this historic town. Easy access by Rail, as you would expect from the town that started the Railways.

The old tailors was awarded one of the contracts to commission the officers uniforms for the train companies, so your not only staying in a railway town you can relive the history with a sewing shop still offering lessons still under the guest house.

We have 2 large king size rooms with en-suite and 1 larger family King with an extra sofa bed for children.

We are very close to restaurants and bars in the town so no shortage of things to do, but we do offer a very large living area you can use to watch TV, relax, sew or cook your self a meal.

Enjoy your stay in Darlington
Picture of The Old Tailor, DARLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unusual experience...
A nice bed, clean sheets and comfortable. Bathroom was modern and clean. On the negative side, I discovered on arrival there was no breakfast (in the small print on the Late Rooms booking) which is a surprise for a "B&B" - I didn't expect the breakfast for free and would happily have paid. Later I saw a notice in my bedroom which said that Late Room bookings were without breakfast - I felt discriminated against. On arrival I had to stand outside the shop and telephone to get access and my 'welcome' was pragmatic but not very welcoming. Overall I would not stay again.. it was if I was a 'stranger in town' and it would be best not to return.

Reviewed by
M Nelson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Find
Was a nice find in the middle of town, room only accommodation that was spacious and clean

Reviewed by
Julie T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy :)
We really enjoyed our stay at The Old Tailor. Great central location.

Reviewed by
Emma G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the Tailor
This is a place I would definately stay at again. Very clean and comfortable as well as ideally located.

Reviewed by
A Woods

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful
Beautiful spacious room. Very comfy bed. Will be recommending to friends and family.
Owner welcoming

Reviewed by
sarah r

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room but noisy
Excellent room, comfy bed, nice bathroom but had to climb 3 flights of steep stairs. Left windows open to keep room cool as weather very warm and muggy. Treated to the full cacophany of Darlington on Friday night.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good, clean and the staff are very friendly and professional

Reviewed by
N Fai

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Day Stay
Beautiful room. Hotel very central. Everything we wanted was just minutes away. Shops and the theatre.

Reviewed by
C Sedgwick

From Middlesbrough, England
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Very comfortable room . Helpful people pity TV did not work . Well positioned for town centre . All in all an enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Ben M

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely room and bathroom
Stayed overnight in Darlington while attending a study day, really lovely room, right in the centre of town, comfy bed, lovely quality sheets, good shower. Would stay there again definitely.

Reviewed by
Kay M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next