Reviews - The Old Tailor


96 Bondgate, DARLINGTON, DL3 7JY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Dean L

  • April 2014

The Old Tailor

The room was ok, although not baby proof at all, however...

the room was cold on a night time and breakfast consisted of a chocolate bar, very odd. The view out of the window is a brick wall 6 feet away. For me, I wouldn't stay there again, sorry.

  • Roger Smith

  • March 2014

Excellent accommodation - clean and convenient to town centre. Noise from pubs on Fri & Sat nights

This was an excellent find and provided clean and spacious accommodation.

Only drawback was that our room (No.3) was on the front of the premises and therefore (even though windows were double-glazed) there was quite a lot of noise from the street into the early hours of Fri & Sat mornings. The pizza shop opposite still open at 2am and cars revving up while waiting for orders. Shower was very good - better than some city hotels we have stayed in.

  • Diana H

  • February 2014

Central but quiet!

This B&B is in the centre of Darlington and only 15 minutes walk (maximum) from the main railway station.

It is also close to North Road station. There are lots of places to eat and drink close by and it is convenient for all amenities. It was also very peaceful, with no disturbances from outside at night. The room was of a high standard and very good value for money. I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again if in the area.

  • P Hoskins

  • February 2014

Centrally located

Accommodation is over a shop so be prepared for stairs but room more than adequate and excellent value for money.

Offered a choice of rooms but more than happy with the first one shown. Plenty of food places nearby and a 15 minute walk from the station so perfect for a stay in Darlington.

  • L Miles

  • February 2014

Very good

It's a very nice place it's very good and will be back A*

Thank You

  • John C

  • January 2014

Characterful and comfortable room in a good location near shops, restaurants, pubs, etc.

Very comfortable bed. Best nights sleep I've had for ages!

  • Anthony S

  • December 2013

Dillying and dallying in Darlington

We booked in as a couple but only one set of towels were provided and one cup and one glassand three t bags.

Though it was december in Darlington the central heating was not programmed to come on till 5pm. Even then it did not work we had to phone the owner to come round to sort it out, although they did resond very quickly. The place is over priced for room only there is only 1 Parking spot and you are charged and extra 5 pounds for the honour of using it. Good points bed comfy, room very clean, shower fine and during the booking in process staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • B Smith

  • October 2013

Lovely B&B

Friendly and helpful staff combined with a good location and lovely rooms make this a perfect place to stay for Darlington and the surrounding area.

Highly recommended.

  • Gerald L

  • October 2013

In the middle of it all

Nice size room.

I liked the touches of the old sewing machine and the trundle table. I had to learn that when a Brit gives you directions that includes "bank", It does not mean a monetary establishment but rather a topographical feature. We liked being able to walk around town from the Hotel.