No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Broomhall Castle

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Long Row Menstrie , Stirling , FK11 7EA
Broomhall Castle is a small family owned 10 Bedroom Hotel with its own restaurant, bar and residents lounge. Our restaurant is open 7 days and uses where possible only the finest fresh local ingredients and all food is prepared in our kitchen by our chefs, who are on hand to discuss any special dietary requirements you may have.

On arrival why not relax in our lounge where you can browse through our menu and have pre-dinner drinks, and again relax in comfort with after dinner coffees and liqueurs.

We are centrally located and are within 45 minutes of both Edinburgh and Glasgow and less than five miles from the city of Stirling with its Historic Castle and many attractions and varied nightlife.

We have many local golf courses and outdoor activities aplenty. We are nestled at the base of the Ochil Hills and can offer varied walks should you decide to walk off your indulgences from the night before!

Picture of Broomhall Castle, Stirling  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Castle
My wife and I and our 10 year old son spent a night in this lovely castle. We were a bit worried a castle might be a bit posh, but this one is very friendly, relaxed and comfortable and we were made to feel at home. Dinner was excellent and it was no trouble for the kitchen to do bangers and mash for my son. I'd recommend the steak though. "Best Castle ever" says my son, and this is something as we come from Edinburgh! We now need to find an excuse to return some time!

Reviewed by
C Clark

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

broomhall castle
exceptional , look forward to returning

Reviewed by
f graham

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Really beautiful building. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.
Rooms perhaps a little tired but still good.
Restaurant good but menu didn't change over 4 days.

Reviewed by
M Cox

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a "Castle"
If this is your one big splurge on a "castle"... this is not it. The original building was the home of two wealthy brothers and turned into a school before it was destroyed by a fire during WWII. It was rebuilt in the late 1900's as a hotel and still feels very institutional. The only character is in the outside of the building. Inside is very plain with mismatched furniture and raw wood moldings screwed into the walls with the screw heads very visible. The door fell off it's hinges on the chest below the TV when I opened it. On the positive side, every member of the staff was great and the bed comfortable and the room very large. The village below only has a couple of take-out food places so either eat at the hotel or eat before you get there. Their Sea Bass was good, but portion small for the price. There are no phones in the rooms and no front desk. In the event of an emergency in the middle of the night, they provide a phone number to call to talk to an employee who is somewhere on site. We did not bring our cell phones from the states so that would have posed a problem had there been an emergency. The floors creak badly, so ask for a room on the top floor if you don't want to hear people walking above you, but be warned the tiny elevator is very slow and the stairs very long due to the high ceilings in the rooms.

Reviewed by
Linda W

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent find!

Reviewed by
maria g

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning castle, stunning location
If you want a relaxing break with wonderful staff to accommodate your every need, then this is the place to stay. The castle is situated on a hill so the views are amazing and you can see for miles, the food was amazing and cannot fault the staff whatsoever, every one of them was friendly and very helpful, rooms were very clean but warm, no air conditioner well it is a castle, we are going to book again as we want to stay longer next time, well done broomhall excellent stay.

Reviewed by
D Nicol

From Peterhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Broomhall
Very nice stay. 3rd time I've been there and loved it each time. Full of character and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
m simpson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
This is a lovely hotel that I have stayed at about a year ago. Both times the welcome received and the attention is first rate. Room was spacious , bathroom huge, bed clean and comfortable and decor is pleasing though a a little touching up to walls would be better ( minor)

Reviewed by
Julia W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal romantic retreat
Myself and my husband had a wonderful night at Broomhall Castle. We stayed in a very large four poster room which was lovely. The food in the restaurant was excellent and all the staff were very attentive.
It is a few miles out of Stirling however the bus stop is very close to the accommodation and was inexpensive.

Reviewed by
Jackie D

From Castle Douglas, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Castle hotel
We really enjoyed our one night stay in this wonderful castle. It was really an experience for us as we never slept in castle before. The old style bathroom matches well with the heritage castle and the room was also well matching. The only problem is that the Wify is only available in downstairs in the restaurant lounge area.

Reviewed by
John C

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next