No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Broomhall Castle

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Long Row Menstrie , Stirling , FK11 7EA
Broomhall Castle is a small family owned 10 Bedroom Hotel with its own restaurant, bar and residents lounge. Our restaurant is open 7 days and uses where possible only the finest fresh local ingredients and all food is prepared in our kitchen by our chefs, who are on hand to discuss any special dietary requirements you may have.

On arrival why not relax in our lounge where you can browse through our menu and have pre-dinner drinks, and again relax in comfort with after dinner coffees and liqueurs.

We are centrally located and are within 45 minutes of both Edinburgh and Glasgow and less than five miles from the city of Stirling with its Historic Castle and many attractions and varied nightlife.

We have many local golf courses and outdoor activities aplenty. We are nestled at the base of the Ochil Hills and can offer varied walks should you decide to walk off your indulgences from the night before!

Picture of Broomhall Castle, Stirling  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally relaxing and very enjoyable.
This hotel was situated on a hillside which gave is great views. Our room was spacious with a large en-suite, all was nicely decorated and very clean. The staff were there willing and helpful but not encroaching on you. Will definitely be back, wonderful place!!

Reviewed by
C MacTaggart

From Port Ellen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something different
I found the staff second to none, nothing was to much trouble. Don't want to sound to sickly but this place does deserve it's first Class.

Reviewed by
david gordon

From brechin, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great last minute getaway
We booked late and whilst had some initial issues with our booking, the hotel dealt with this professionally.
Place is stunning and arriving in the dark showed it off fabulously as lit up in the distance.
Room was good, but let down by door that meant my expectations of the room fell through the floor. I loved the turret space and bathroom that were full of character
Fairly clean except for a few cobwebs (it is a castle!).
Food was good, especially breakfast and staff relaxed and helpful.
Restaurant was a bit lacking in character - basics are there, but needs some wall hangings/ pictures and large tables made our romantic dinner not feel very intimate.
We got great value for money and were pleased with our stay. Place is good, but has potential to be fabulous with a few tweaks here and there.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service and location
Amazing service with very polite and friendly staff. Stunning accommodation outside and in. Great food with reasonable choice. This stunning castle is situated in a fantastic place for historic day trips and city shopping with other great bars and resteraunts nearby. The rooms are amazing and luxurious and we enjoyed our stay very much. If I had to say one negative it would be that the floors are very creaky and you can hear the other guests walking about . This did not alter our enjoyment and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
D Fotheringham

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Broomhall Castle,an amazing experience.
Right from the minute we saw the castle to the morning we left was a truly wonderful experience. The room was amazing,very large,clean and well furnished. The en-suite bathroom was very spacious and was of a high standard. In the mornings we went down to breakfast and was met by lovely smiling staff for whom nothing was too much trouble,and as for the breakfast it was delicious and very filling.
Overall we had a wonderful two night stay and will definitely be back again sometime in the near future.

Reviewed by
Craig Thomson

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What an excellent choice I made !!
I needed to be in the Stirling area on business. Normally, i go for the local HIE... but decided to give Broomhall Castle a go.
Really pleased I did.
Broomhall stand at the end of the road, lit up and standing out, most impressive.
The staff are great. Not overly formal, but easy to deal with and with a ready smile. The room was great. Huge.......... and the bed and fitments were totally in keeping with what I'd expect from such a venerable establishment. I tend to shower rather than use a bath... but the deep roll top bath enticed me, and was relaxing!!
I had dinner... food was very reasonably priced indeed and of first class quality, fresh produce and plenty of it!
Breakfast is a casual affair, but again the staff were attentive without being overbearing.
In summary................. Goodbye HIE and Hello Broomhall castle. It'll be my stay of choice from now on when I'm in the area.
Thanks to the owners and staff for a relaxing and very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
M Chenery-Robson

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great food
Room was a bit dated, but clean.Could have done with some more heating for the time of year.
Bed was very comfortable and sleep was easy. The staff were very helpful and cheerful.
The evening meal was first class, loveley menu and reasonable priced. Breakfast was plentiful and loads of choice. We would stay there again, ideal for touring the area.

Reviewed by
D England

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scottish welcome
Only stayed overnight but extremely welcoming and accommodating. Lovely people.

Reviewed by
B Harrison

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay.
Wonderful place the staff were fantastic and we will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Ritchie C

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great food, hole in ceiling above bed, cold room
This is a lovely very old building. I booked a room for me and my twins. The food at dinner and breakfast was very good quality with good service and flexible menu for the children but we had a bad nights sleep. In the room when we arrived. There were only cups for two people and one was very dirty. The hotel staff sorted this out and apologized. My bed had a small Velux window in the sloping roof right over the pillows. The blind did not fit properly and I was in a draught all night with something banging above our heads in the wind. The room became very cold overnight. In the light of the morning I noticed a 3inch x 1/2inch long hole in the plaster next to the window frame with wind blowing straight through and the flashing badly damaged and loose. The children's bed seemed like a temporary double camp bed with no headboard or mattress protector under the sheet. They slept in the super king size bed with me which was a very comfortable bed, but not ideal for 3. There were no chairs in the room at all to sit and watch the tv, just had to sit on the camp bed and lean our backs on the partition wall which was damaged and dirty with dents in the plaster. You couldn't watch tv from my bed due to the partition. I mentioned the hole in the ceiling by the velux to a member of staff who said he would sort it and that no one else had reported it. I ended up with a cold in one eye. The bathroom was very nice but would benefit from a safety mat due to floor tiles slippery when wet.

Reviewed by
j lees

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next