Reviews - The Dover

2

44 Belgrave Road Victoria, London, SW1V 1RG

Price From 112.72 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Liz G

  • December 2015

great location, good quality accommodation at low cost

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay as we were catching an early train from Victoria the next morning.

Searching for accommodation in the area, The Dover came up as one of the lower priced hotels and I made the booking thinking that the quality might not be great but fine for just a one night stay. We were very pleasantly surprised on arrival - the hotel was very easy to find, only 4 mins walk from Victoria station and the rooms clean and tidy with everything you needed. Breakfast was pretty basic - tea/coffee/fruit juice, cereal, toast and yogurts but it it was enough to start the day and the staff were friendly.

  • Margaret D

  • November 2015

Handy location

Friendly staff.

Mini room, but clean.

Response from hotel

Many thanks for your comments and am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have just finished refurbishing the hotel and our guests can now enjoy our new clean rooms, excellent location, reasonable prices, friendly staff and free Wi-Fi.

  • Chris D

  • October 2015

For the area at this price, worth a look

I have stayed here and at other hotels in the area, and for the price, above average.

Breakfast is basic, but unless you pay a lot, not much between them. Very clean, accommodating staff; left a huge suitcase at reception hours before and hours after check in/out; no quibbles!!

Response from hotel

We thank you for taking the time to post a response and for highlighting our strong points.

As part of our friendly service, we offer a free luggage storage facilities for all our guests.

  • r casey

  • October 2015

Adequate

Room was adequate for 1 night stay, very clean and tidy.

bed comfatable. Tv not working but not a problem for us as we where out anyway and time for bed when we got back. We where on the top floor, lots of steps and quite steep. breakfast was simple. cereals toast coffee tea and juice. Breakfast was very busy but didn't have to wait too long for a table. Very satisfactory experience.

Response from hotel

Many thanks for taking the time to write a response. We have repaired the TV and are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • R Cann

  • September 2015

Nice hotel near Victoria Station

Booked this hotel on the date of arrival as emergency accommodation.

My friend and I arrived about an hour after booking.

The hotel was very easy to find and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was ready when we got there despite short notice. Breakfast was what I expect from a London hotel of toast and cereal along with yoghurt. I liked that there was a member of staff serving toast instead of a large machine to make it that takes up extra space. The only downside to this hotel is that the stairs were quite narrow so I struggled to lift my suitcase up easily.

  • Elaine C

  • September 2015

Very good value - I would book again

This was a very last minute booking, I was coming from the Isle of Wight for a music concert in which a friend was a finalist.

Having been told a room at the Union Jack Club (Waterloo) was £132 I looked at the Late Rooms site.

I needed a single ensuite close to the Guards Chapel on Birdcage Walk. This hotel offered what I needed, breakfast included (but I didn't partake so can't comment on that) for only £55. Most reviews were good, so I booked it. Upon arrival I thought I might have made a mistake - the stairways and corridors to my room looked a bit tired and shabby, so I was very relieved once inside to find the room was absolutely spotlessly clean. Although small, it had all I needed. The bed was actually a small double, with a nice firm mattress. There were the usual items - kettle, TV, hairdryer. In the morning, the TV wouldn't come on and the battery cover to the remote was missing, but I wasn't worried as whizzing straight back to,work. The shower wasn't very powerful, but the water was hot and again, everything was immaculately clean. The towel was very large. No toiletries as such, just bar soap, unwrapped. The location is very close to Victoria Station and there are plenty of taxis to be flagged down if needed. All in all, very good - I'll see about customer service (getting the TV sorted) and the standard of the breakfast if I stay again.

Response from hotel

We thank you for your review and also highlighting our strong points.

We have requested our handyman and chambermaids to check the TV remote more regularly.

As far as the stairs and landing decorations is concerned, I am pleased to inform you that all our buildings works will be completed in a weeks time and the stairs and landing carpets will be changed during the course of the following week.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Roberta N

  • June 2015

London break

Small single room but very clean.

Breakfast basic but a good enough start to the day. Convenient for Victoria Station but quiet at night.

  • Margaret McMahon

  • May 2015

Overnight stay in London

Booked room for 3 adults.

Clean and just what we needed. Enough space and everything you would expect ready clean towels etc. would have liked mini shower gel as well as soap but not absolutely essential considering space. Brekfast simple, toast, cereal, yoghurt but again good value and parking very easy at weekends. Perfect location to access anywhere in London. Tube close by but also only 20-30 minute pleasant walking distance to Sloane square, Knightsbridge, St James Park ect although would recommend buses, tubes for museums and anything a bit further.

  • elizabeth g

  • April 2015

Great Hotel

Ideal for busy Sightseeing London Trip.fabulous Location ,10 mins to buckingham palace!great value for money.comfortable bed,tea/coffee,tv and wifi in room helps after a busy day.bsthroom slightly strange ,like in a plane,but clean.very basic breakfast.would recommend!

  • A Hartshorn

  • April 2015

Ideal hotel if you don't have a very high budget and have to be in the area for the passport office

Internet could be better and they could have removed masking tape after painting and decorating

But that being said it was comfortable and clean

Response from hotel

Many thanks for your comments and am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay.

We will definitely remove the masking tape once the bottom half of staircase has been painted. We are also looking for a new supplier for our Internet.